We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ambassador Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ambassador Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ambassador Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,149: English reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Rooms and Bathrooms need complete overhaul and redevelopment, TV was old fashioned Box TV, view out of window was back gardens, Shower mixer on bath gave boiling hot or freezing cold and no in between. No hot breakfast available Sunday 29th as food had run out, Long Up hill trek from town centre. Extortionate drinks prices in lounge, no mini...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Derek D
AmbassadorOpsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Derek D, As you have not directly spoke to me or our team while you stayed with us or on check out I cant look into your booking to find out what room you stayed in so will not be able comment on anything to do with your accommodation at this moment in time. Our hot breakfast was out...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

On arriving we couldn't work out where reception was (silly us, we should have known to go through the side entrance) so we went to the car to ask staff member who described where reception was. We went right round to be served by has on the other side of the bar. Service was good and efficient. Managed to find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
AmbassadorOpsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am pleased you found our service good and efficient. There is no right or wrong entrance to the hotel we just have 2 doors so which ever guests find easier. We have one corridor on each floor so i am sorry that you was confused , although we do have 2 stairs cases each end of each...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Great hotel with really helpful staff. Booked a 6 night stay in a sea view family roomed had a couple of probs with the room a dripping shower and a TV that wouldn't work. Both were sorted out quickly. The decor in the room was a little tired but the size of the room made up for that. Great food,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phillip H
AmbassadorOpsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Phillip H, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to hear you had a problem with your shower , and a problem with your TV but pleased these were rectified quickly for you. I am pleased you loved the food, pool and spa...

Bridlington
Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

Booked at very short notice (30 mins) after walking out of the "Grand Hotel". Room 105 was lovely, clean, nicely decorated, side sea view and comfy bed. Staff on reception (Joanna) was really helpful. Went for a wedding evening do so only ate buffet and breakfast but they were lovely too. Didn't use the spa facilities so cannot rate them....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lou_SteveBridlington
AmbassadorOpsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lou_stevebridlington, Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. I am pleased you found our room 105 lovely and clean. I will pass your lovely comments on to Joanna , these are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Kind Regards

Huddersfield, UK
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for our anniversary and we reallyenjoyed the break. Fortunately we had great weather which was good as the hotel is a fair walk from the main town. We used the cliff lifts (left along the front) and were through the spa and at the town in perhaps a good 10 mins. If you were to walk without...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank XRAY_Bobsy
AmbassadorOpsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear XRAY_Bobsey. Thank you for your lovely extensive review of the hotel and spa. We appreciate your in depth review on the hotel and its facilities. Thank you for your lovely comments on how the bar and spa areas are well kept. I am pleased you found the staff friendly and will pass on your lovely comments to them. We...

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2015

The Ambassador Spa Hotel overlooks a panoramic view of the Bay, the accommodation downstairs is modern and clean, the upstairs bedrooms are small and hot, our room had a leaky kettle, and cracked sink, the continental breakfast lacked choice. However the spa was amazing and the fact that customers could you the facilities of pool and relaxation room were great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvonne o
AmbassadorOpsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Yvonne O, Thank you for taking the time to place your review. I am pleased you found our communal guest areas modern and clean and sorry to hear you found your accommodation small, in the future our premier deluxe rooms have high floor to ceiling windows and separating seating areas which may suit your needs better if you are...

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Location of the hotel fine . The food was very poor . I complained twice about it ventualky we decided to eat out . We booked a family room with sea view at a cost of £155 per night including breakfast . The room was small . Windows couldn't be opened and sea view was possible through a small window...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carole B
AmbassadorOpsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carole B, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. As you can understand it is hard to rectify any situation once a guest leaves and i have tried my best to check your booking but cant do so as I only have your first name. I can confirm however that all our "sea view rooms"...

Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

Great hotel. Great view. Free breakfast and parking, and an added bonus, the superstars we were going to see were staying in the hotel, definitely be booking again. Location was good, the staff were really helpful, no draught beer but plenty of selection in the bar

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan P
AmbassadorOpsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan P, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed meeting the guests we had in over the weekend ! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and who knows who you will bump in to next time! Kind Regards

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

My husband and I visit Scarborough on a regular basis and often stay at this hotel. Its in a great location but is looking tired and some of the bedrooms are quite small.We stayed for one night last night (9th August). I booked a sea view double at £115. The room was at the end of a long corridor on...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Christineclerey
AmbassadorOpsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear christineclerey, Thank you for your feedback , I am sorry you found your stay uncomfortable with us. I am sorry you found your room exceedingly warm , we do keep fans on hand for all guests if we have hot weather, the hotels heating has not been on through out summer, we did have other rooms available on Saturday...

Reviewed 10 August 2015

My wife has used the spa / treatment facilities at this hotel on a few occasions and for her birthday she went for a day spa visit which included treatments which she said were very nice. She invited me to join her later in the day for afternoon tea.The afternoon tea was a terrible disappointment advertised to 'indulge in a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Westview50
AmbassadorOpsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Westview50, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your spa and afternoon tea. Firstly I am pleased your wife enjoyed her spa day and treatments and will pass this on to our therapists. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment I your afternoon tea and would personally like to speak to you regarding your...

427 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (400)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (88)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Other (183)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,499 reviews
2.3 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
782 reviews
0.2 km away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
598 reviews
0.9 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
560 reviews
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $77 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the top floor but no problem there is a lift.”
 of 5 bubbles chris-elliott30, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea views are best but back rooms are very good price”
 of 5 bubbles FRanGib, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pick a "Seaview Room" - they are bigger and the view is good.”
 of 5 bubbles CJW_51, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“request a newly refurbished room and not in the basement!!!”
 of 5 bubbles samanthas545, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for what you arelooking fof”
 of 5 bubbles ivorw383, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5