We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Coachman Inn

Orbitz.comUS$129*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$129*
US$128*
US$128*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Coachman Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Coachman Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 97: English reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a golf package deal with Snainton Golf Club. Two rooms, a double for my wife and myself and a twin for teenage son and daughter. Rooms were very spacious, beds comfortable, everything very clean and all mod cons supplied including free wifi. (Fabulous big bath for soaking aching muscles after golf sessions -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JGB1974
UK
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Don't go near the place The comfortable lounge is stripped to make extra tables. The restaurant is soulless. Pack 'em in!!!!! None of the service, thoughtful menu or attention to detail that made the coachman worth travelling over 100 miles for is here. Awful. We will never go again!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ScalliwagToo
AnnaC1911, Owner at Coachman Inn, responded to this review

We were sorry to read your review and that you weren't happy with your dining experience. We have taken on some changes since taking over the inn and that has included changing the dining rooms. We certainly understand that if you enjoy things a certain way, any change can be unsettling, but we hope that if you are in the...

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a 17th century grade 2 listed building and is given a 4star by the AA. However the star rating on my opinion is for the quality of the food only which I have to say is outstanding cooked and presented to perfection. The rooms are in need of an uplift. We were in the top room in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I booked here for 15 friends to celebrate a friends wedding! Anna couldn't have been more helpful. We pre ordered our food which was lovely! The staff were friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend to friends and family alike. It's nice to have a great place on the doorstep!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bexw1980
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Changed hands since our last visit but need not have worried. New owners are hands on and very personable. Excellent location for the coast and North Yorks towns. Food was exceptional, real value for money. Rooms are spacious and comfortable with all expected amenities. Will be back.. .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andrew d
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Lovely traditional inn set in a quiet location in the village of Snainton. Rooms traditionally decorated in keeping with the age of the property. Bar food and main restaurant food are excellent. Popular with locals. The only reasons I didn't give top marks was because the mattress in our room (Postillion) was far too firm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Ate here twice while on a week holiday in the area. Although it was lunchtime and the menu was normally only sandwiches and chips,the chef/owner? said we could order anything from the menu. I say 'only' sandwiches.These are not your normal fare and are a really first class. Excellent food in nice surroundings and keenly priced too. We will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We came across the coachman in on our way back to leeds from dalby forest. So pleased we stopped here. The staff were so attentive and the food was beautiful. I can't wait for an excuse to go back again! The braised pork was so tender and fragrant, I really wish we had opted for a dessert as well, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheekychizzle
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We arrived at midnight because we had been working late and they were still very accomidating offering us a beer before going to bed! The rooms were exceptional and the breakfast in the morning even better. We were only sorry we didn't get there earlier to enjoy the full night experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy051187
AnnaC1911, Owner at Coachman Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments. Glad you enjoyed the stay. Let us know next time you are working in the area and we will be sure to give you a great stay again. Many thanks Kev and Anna Cooper.

Pickering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our Walking Diners Group of 13 members enjoyed an evening at The Coachman in Snainton in January 2014. After a short pre-prandial drink in the bar we retired to a very spacious dining room which we had almost to ourselves. Meals were ordered and some chose from the 2 main for £15 menu while others opted for the standard menu....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yorkshirewalking

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
8.2 km away
East Ayton Lodge
East Ayton Lodge
#1 of 1 in East Ayton
270 reviews
11.6 km away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
9.2 km away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
No photo provided
North End Farm Country Guest Hou...
#126 of 183 in Scarborough
17 reviews
15.2 km away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
157 reviews
5.1 km away
Downe Arms Hotel
Downe Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wykeham
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Coachman Inn Snainton, is a destination restaurant and bar with rooms beautifully located on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors between Pickering & Scarborough. You will feel relaxed and at home in this historic Grade II listed Georgian Inn, steeped in coaching heritage. Built in 1776 and now sympathetically incorporating modern comforts, The Coachman Inn is the perfect retreat; the ideal base for exploring the North York Moors National Park the historic City of York and the stunning Yorkshire Coast and towns of Whitby and Scarborough. We take great pride in sourcing the best of the marvelous local produce from the surrounding areas and creating food that we are sure you will enjoy, our Executive chef David Spencer has a lifetime of experience and has previously held two rosettes from the AA for 25 years works very closely with Head Chef Peter Gibson and the owner of the Coachman Inn Ian Rae who is also a Chef with many years of cooking under his belt to constantly create and innovate for your pleasure, whilst Carol Rae takes charge of the front of house team to ensure you are given the best possible service the moment you step through our front door. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Address: Coachman Inn Pickering Road West | Snainton, Scarborough YO13 9PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $142 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coachman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and LateRooms so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Coachman Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All 3 rooms used by our party were lovely”
dizzywizzy, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Don't choose a room facing to the front due to howling hounds at 6-30am”
DonnyDave30, 10 Oct 2015 | Read review
“the Whippletree room is a nice room but the floor is definitely not level (quaint) due to the age of the building”
A8150AKdavidb, 20 May 2015 | Read review
“All 4 rooms are good, Dasher has double aspect and is larger than the other 3”
DanT247, 25 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Do not stay in the eves!”
AG250, 22 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$129* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$128
TripAdvisorUS$128
Booking.comUS$129
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates