We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bay New Southlands Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay New Southlands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

396 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay New Southlands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 396: English reviews
sheffield
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just returned from this lovely friendly hotel. We were on a 5 day Winter Break with Shearings and we cannot fault the service from boarding our coach on Monday to our departure on Friday. We never saw our luggage until we got to our room. We were given a free upgrade to a Superior room which was really...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sunseekersheffield
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review for us. It is great to see you enjoyed your stay with and I have passed your kind comments on to my staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

I Can't fault this hotel in any manner, room 106 leaving am, entertainment cleanliness friendliness excellent. Food outstanding service exceptional staff go the extra mile to help. No one is judgemental I'd like to thank the staff in every way possible. I will return with friends & party 🎉 💯! It's a big thumbs up. Restaurant staff couldn't do enough,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie S
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

What lovely comments you have left for us, thank you. I'm so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you both again soon.

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017

pretty average really. The food wasn't overwhelming, but for the price was ok. Why do these old hotels creak so much. The bathroom was very clean and neat, but had no shelf for products and no light over the mirror. We had paid for an upgrade too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback for us. I'm sorry to see there were some aspects of your stay you were unhappy with and I will look into the areas you have mentioned. I do hope they wouldn't put you off staying with us again in the future.

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Hi, our party of 4 arrived back from our weekend break yesterday evening. The whole weekend was a success, the journey was made as painless as possible, the hotel was well run, the rooms spacious and well appointed, the food was good with lots of choices and the service from the staff fantastic. All in all a great weekend -...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christine C
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

What lovely comments you have left for us, thank you. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your weekend break with us, and appreciate the kind feedback you have left for us. I will be sure to pass it on to my team. I hope you will come back and stay with us again if you ever return to...

Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017

My husband and I stopped for new year we were told when booking in that the boiler was not working to full capacity heaters were put in the bedroom it was lovely and warm. The manageress did a fabulous job it couldn't have been easy for her she told us from the start.she didn't pull any punches. we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tonet2414
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving such kind comments. I am so pleased to see that the problems we had didn't spoil your New Year. As I said to you all at the time - I believe in being honest and thank everybody involved for being on board with what we asked. We had another great New Year ( I...

Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Excellent food and service. The staff are wonderful. Hotel clean and warm but needs a little modernisation. We would go back and would recomend for couples or friends slightly expensive in the bar and an easy walk from the sea front via a cliff tram .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Micknjulie834
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

I'm glad to see you enjoyed your New Year break with us, and thank you for leaving your kind review. I am fortunate to have an excellent team here and they are always pleased to see that their hard work is appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017

My wife and I stayed at the new Southlands on a Shearings' five day break in December. The hotel is pleasantly located within easy reach of the South Bay and the town centre. The premises are spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. Rooms are ample, clean, warm and well appointed. All the staff without exception were welcoming, cheerful and helpful. An...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Giuseppe D
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind comments for us. I have a fantastic team here that all work hard, and they all really appreciate knowing that our guests have enjoyed their stay. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon.

Wallsend
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

The wife and me have just returned from our 2nd long awaited visit to the New Southland's Hotel. It was well worth the wait. Once again nothing was a problem to Ruth and all her staff. The meals, accommodation and entertainment we outstanding. This is still the most under rated hotel in Scarborough and all the surrounding areas. All the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KevinRButler
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

What lovely comments you have left for us. It was lovely to see you again and I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay. I hope you had a lovely Christmas and New Year and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Just been for a 5 day break 1st time at this hotel excellent food excellent staff very friendly entertainment brilliant couple of trips out was within waking distance to town centre definitley would visit again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John E
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again hopefully this year.

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2016

what a lovely hotel my friend was dairy free she was looked after so well by the staff our stay was wonderfull food great entertainment first rate every night would go again like a shot well done to all at the SOUTHLANDS BRAVO XXX

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertdog
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

I am so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. My chef's and staff will always go out of their way to ensure that everyone is catered for and appreciate the kind comments you have left regarding your friends dairy free requirements. Thank you and we hope to see you again if you come to stay in...

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,362 reviews
2.2 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
764 reviews
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,237 reviews
0.8 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
556 reviews
0.8 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The New Southlands Hotel is a handsome, intimate property perfectly situated on Scarborough’s South Cliff. From the hotel, the Esplanade, Italian Rose Gardens and South Bay are easily accessible. Scarborough itself retains much of the character of an elegant Victorian seaside town, with handsome architecture and walkways, as well as boasting more modern entertainments and attractions. Further inland, North Yorkshire is an oft overlooked gem of a County offering beautiful scenery and countless attractions both historic and modern. The hotel possesses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay New Southlands Hotel

Address: 15 West Street, Scarborough YO11 2QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $140 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay New Southlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay New Southlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Southlands Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay New Southlands Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Sunderland, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Littleborough, United Kingdom
10 months ago
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Southport, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Bay New Southlands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We can only speak of our room 119, large and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Elizabet2013, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Any, lift available to all floors”
 of 5 bubbles motorbike_8, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Very small lift. It's easier to walk to 2nd floor than wait for the lift”
 of 5 bubbles Janiemac24, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Superior were very nice”
 of 5 bubbles sunseekersheffield, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“When using these large old hotels we always upgrade, esp for a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles J9364OQlynns, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5