We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Terrace Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Terrace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 36: English reviews
west midlands
Reviewed 25 November 2014 via mobile

Excellent establishment run by friendly couple. Near to shops rail and local bus network. Food and accommodation were first class and we enjoyed our short stay there. Wouldnt hesitate to stop there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geranium23
yorkshire-forever, Owner at The Terrace Hotel, responded to this review

Love to have nice people stay --- thank you for review and hope to see you again soon -- Chris

Reviewed 22 August 2014

Lovely owner..chris made us feel very welcome..great value.clean rooms.lovely cooked breakfast..we will call again next time we go to scarbourgh..good location for trains..buses and shops..andy and kian

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andyshel
yorkshire-forever, Owner at The Terrace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much -- see you again soon

Mexborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We couldn't fault this guest house, it was very clean and the breakfast was more than adequate. The owners Chris and sylvia could not do enough for you . we will definitely be paying them another visit! Totally enjoyed our few days away

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan R
yorkshire-forever, Owner at The Terrace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much - always nice to have nice people.. Chris

Rotherham
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Spent 5 days there in July. The room was comfortable. Breakfasts were nicely prepared and enjoyable though not as comprehensive as some but for £25.00 per night excellent value. Proprietors were also very friendly and obliging.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
yorkshire-forever, Owner at The Terrace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding how clean- comfortable- and wifi tv facilities were as expected -- cannot understand problem with breakfast (not as comprehensive as some) - you had a choice of over 12 different cereals - a full cooked breakfast of egg /bacon/sausage/tomato/hash brown/fried bread/ beans- then toast - and tea or coffee - a room with a...

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at the terrace hotel on 28th June for 1 night and we was very impressed it was clean and comfortable and our breakfast was really enjoyable Chris and his wife made us really welcome thanks Kath Alan and Rachel and Richard.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katherine F
yorkshire-forever, Owner at The Terrace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review -- hope you and your nice family will stay again - thankfully in these hard times we have lots of people that book every year - we will continue to give good accommodation and food as long as we are able --- now 23 yrs - know i cant last for ever but...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the terrace hotel it was a fab , we had a warm welcome from chris and his wife the breakfast was lovely a good stay was had by all we will defiantly stay again our room was clean and the beds were very comfy our friends stayed to and enjoyed it I would recommend this b&b it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rachel s
yorkshire-forever, Owner at The Terrace Hotel, responded to this review

Just to say thankyou --- i don't ask people to write to trip advisor - never have -- so its nice to have a review like yours --- thanks rachel -- hope to see you again soon -- best wishes chris

sheffield
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of days at the terrace..the breakfasts were second to none..the rooms spotless..and chris and his wife made us welcome from day one.its close to all amenities. We will definitely be going again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mickSheffield
yorkshire-forever, Owner at The Terrace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much -- all we want is nice people staying -- and all people staying want is somewhere that is clean - friendly - and gives a good breakfast -- see you again soon ------ Chris

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Me my two kids and mam and dad have been coming to this guest house for 15 years last year was the only year we didn't come as my mam died. We returned this year without her it was very hard but my kids are 18 and 21 now got me through it. We can honestly say there hospitality is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shelley777191274
yorkshire-forever, Owner at The Terrace Hotel, responded to this review

You know how i feel about you and your family -- thankyou for the review -- life's far more than just this --- its about loving people - and being sad when their gone -- i miss her as well

Stamford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2013

we had an excellent time there, very friendly people and welcome to the place the room was very clean and tidy breakfast we had no faults with the food always ask if you wish more which was good, we will go back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jock M
yorkshire-forever, Owner at The Terrace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you -- always nice to have nice people stay with us -- it works both ways -- you want somewhere nice and we want nice people ---- look forward to you staying again -- thank you for the review. Chris

Wakefield
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We came in August 2012 and had one of the worst stays we've ever had. The rooms were filthy, dead flies were inside the duvet, causing a restless night for myself and my husband. We booked for Sat & Sun, sat in the chair in the bedroom until 5am, then went for a walk. Also, on arrival we were welcomed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Troy P
yorkshire-forever, Owner at The Terrace Hotel, responded to this review

These are (obviously) barefaced lies - being published as some attempt at retribution for being refused a refund. We're a family run guest house and simply can't afford to refund every guest with an overactive imagination. They sent me a somewhat threatening email which explained their restless night was down to being bitten by 'flees' [sic], presumably they altered this...

2 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.6 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,616 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.4 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Raincliffe Hotel
Raincliffe Hotel
#13 of 182 in Scarborough
367 reviews
0.2 km away
The Cair Paravel Hotel
The Cair Paravel Hotel
#157 of 182 in Scarborough
14 reviews
0.1 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#165 of 182 in Scarborough
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small family run guest house - same owners 20yrs - Private car park - Standard and ensuite rooms - Tv with Freeview / coffee / tea / facilities all rooms. Free WiFi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Terrace Hotel

Address: 69 Westborough, Scarborough YO11 1TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: $35 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Terrace Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Terrace Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cleanliness, comfort wifi and tv facilities maybe.”
P3413OJdavidr, 21 Jul 2014 | Read review
“The back rooms are quieter.”
MalcolmW15, 2 Jun 2012 | Read review
“opt for a room at the back of the building less noise from traffic”
bluerince, 4 Aug 2011 | Read review
3 of 3