We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge Newbury London Road

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travelodge Newbury London Road
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 151: English reviews
Mossley, UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a night whilst visiting friends. Can't fault the hotel for the money; good location, friendly staff and spotless rooms. Car park would be nice but the shopping centre car park is just round the corner and only a couple of quid for overnight stays. Skip the overpriced Travelodge breakfast - there are loads of options in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola_and_Ben
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Newbury London Road, responded to this review

It's reassuring that our Newbury London Road Travelodge provided a great experience. We're pleased to learn your stay was great value and your room was clean. We aim to provide a comfortable stay for our guests, so we're happy to hear this has been achieved. Please rest assured we will pass your feedback to the hotel team, thank you for...

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As a regular on business in Newbury I stayed for one night. I waited for 15 minutes for a receptionist to appear to check in. On check I was informed there was a £10 surcharge to check in before 15.00, it was 13.50, 1 hour 10 before the allocated time. The rude and dismissive receptionist inferred there weren't any rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liverchick
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Newbury London Road, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing our Newbury London Road Travelodge and taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with your recent stay with us. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you...

West Berkshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here to have a night out with friends. Very friendly welcome, clean and well decorated throughout. Pull out bed made up as requested. Quiet peaceful night sleep in good location. Receptionist pointed us in the direction of a local car park that the payment barriers were broken, so we got free parking too!! Room price for the night was...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glen S
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Newbury London Road, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Newbury London Road Travelodge. We are so pleased to learn that our hotel team were friendly and cheerful and your room was clean and of great value. We aim to offer great value stays with a high level of service to all who pass through our doors and we are thrilled to...

Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Receptionist was excellent, room was functional, clean and fresh and the shower was great. Location in Newbury is fantastic for town centre. Only issue is that the hotel has no parking, so you have to use a public pay and display; if you had to pay for your car to stay every 24 hours that you do, it'd almost double...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Newbury London Road, responded to this review

Many thanks for submitting your review. We are delighted to hear that you found your stay at Newbury London Road to have a great location. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with parking. Thank you so much for your kind comments, we will be sure to pass on your comments to the hotel team and we hope you...

Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Beware of ten pound charge for early check-in and no car park. Nearest car parks are very expensive making the stay more expensive than hotels with car park. Staff were friendly enough but could not do anything about the parking problem.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Newbury London Road, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about our team members at Newbury London Road, we will make sure to pass this on to the hotel for you. We aim to provide an enjoyable stay for all of our guests and we are delighted to see this has been achieved, however we are sorry that you were unhappy with the parking arrangements...

Paddock Wood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Standard Travelodge that does the job room wise. However, there is no parking associated with this Travelodge - this is the last thing you need after a long journey. The room may be cheap but the associated parking charges in the town centre are not. Along with that you have to have change ready or spend 10 minutes setting up...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank suepV5257MY
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Reception staff were very friendly and accommodating. Shower pressure wasn't the best and the temperature kept going from hot to cold. Would of been better if the hair dryer was in the room because I didn't realise that they were at reception only when I looked on the website.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauradora92
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

I realise saying book ahead for best prices is stating the obvious, but having spent 9 months staying 3 nights a week in Christchurch Travelodge and, so far, around 2 months doing the same in Newbury I have noticed a much more significant variation in prices here (possibly because there are more business travellers). So far I have found the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pbarkley
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Friendly staff, clean and well presented room and easy check in / out. Also very quiet despite my room being in front of the doorway too the stairs. Wi-fi was very fast and easy enough to sign up for. Although the room is already expensive for what it is, it really should be free in my opinion.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon-Isobelle
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Had a two night stay in Newbury TL as visiting friend for a specail celebration. Good location, public carpark very close, safe, secure and reasonably priced. Room well presented, very comfortable bed and great Freeview TV!. Shower was good, only problem nowhere in the shower to stand shampoo bottle etc or hang flannel. Reception staff on arrival welcoming and friendly.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tiggy_harper

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
1.7 km away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 15 in Newbury
561 reviews
1.8 km away
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
0.2 km away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#10 of 15 in Newbury
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
1.9 km away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
5.1 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge Newbury London Road

Address: 49 London Road, Newbury RG14 1JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Price Range: $62 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Travelodge Newbury London Road 1*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Newbury London Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Newbury London Road staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Newbury London Road staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“accessibility to rooms is by lift or stairs”
 of 5 bubbles knox04, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the ground floor in the summer”
 of 5 bubbles philp96, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Nice clean rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles NicoVDM, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
“look and ask for discounted rates.”
 of 5 bubbles caplano, 30 Sep 2015 | Read review
“For cooler room I would imagine the lower floors”
 of 5 bubbles antzinpanz, 24 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay