We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell at Boxford

Save
Traveller (40)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (9)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good32%
  • Average12%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“the pub”(40 reviews)
“sea bass”(3 reviews)
“an evening meal”(4 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
92
82
30
22
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
92
82
30
22
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsea bassan evening mealwould stay againstayed for two nightsfull englishcomfy bedhopsmenucountrysidechefwinevenue
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 251 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Good value and warm welcome from friendly , helpful staff. Situated on edge of pretty village with nice tranquil setting. An ideal location for us and a good breakfast was included. We are vegetarians and the chef made an effort to give us a choice...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ivansmith62
Innkeeper's Favourite Review
Reviewed 14 October 2017

This is a 17th century pub & coaching inne now a rustic pub with rooms. Freehouse, so local flavourful beers on tap. Friendly & helpful staff and customers (including well behaved dogs). If you are looking for charm & value for money it is ideal....More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen T
Response from bobbymWeston, Owner at The Bell at BoxfordResponded 20 October 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review us at the Bell. Im really pleased that you have enjoyed yourselves at the Inn and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future Kind regards Paul

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Made a booking via booking.com, received a confirmation email, only to get a call an hour or so later saying it was a pricing mistake and my booking would be cancelled. Will avoid this place in future.More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Response from Paul L, Owner at The Bell at BoxfordResponded 3 days ago

What a silly comment ! do you really expect to stay at an Inn for £5 including breakfast ????? Its such an obvoiuos error that Im amazed you took Bookins.com up on it without contacting them !!! When I discussed this with them I even...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

There is no doubt the Bell is well situated - in easy reach of Newbury and in lovely countryside. We were also pleased to fiind that it was dog friendly. We went for an evening meal and, by and large, had a perfectly satisfactory time...More

Thank Bruce M
Response from Paul L, Owner at The Bell at BoxfordResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments with us.The next time you visit please ask for your food to be served on a more traditional plates as we are here to please Kind regards Paul

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've been here a few times first time on way back from the airport. As always very warm welcome. I had the Rib eye steak and it was cooked to my perfection, rare, it melted in my mouth. My husband had a Cumberland sausage rolled...More

Thank HermanandSandra
Response from Paul L, Owner at The Bell at BoxfordResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for you lovely comments! We look forward to being able to welvcome you back soon Kind regards Paul and the Team

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$80 - US$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$80 - US$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (40)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (9)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Bell at Boxford staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Clean and decorate"
Read review
"We stayed on the ground floor , and the room was easily accessible"
Read review
"Mattress a bit soft"
Read review
"There are cleaner places around, I am sure!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing