We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Carnarvon Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Carnarvon Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Carnarvon Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 195: English reviews
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015

I'm not sure why pre-July 2015 reviews are still showing - the place has been extensively renovated and is under new management, and the difference from the previous place is dramatic. The place is now well run by a friendly and welcoming landlord; the food is better than it was under Marco Pierre White - and is significantly better priced;...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AandJBurghclere
DOXFORDS, Manager at The Carnarvon Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recommendation - please do come again soon Simon

Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2015

Welcoming friendly staff, but slow and disorganised service (no waiter for a while and then two coming one after the other for the same thing happened a couple of times). Food was variable, with some aspects poor, such as the chips. (Some were black/burnt) The restaurant used to be fabulous when Marco Pierre White ran it, so it is perhaps...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RosieW2S
DOXFORDS, Manager at The Carnarvon Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear your first visit with us wasn't brilliant. We did have a few initial teething issues but I'm glad to say these have now been ironed out. Hope you will give us another try. Simon

Cornwall
Reviewed 12 July 2015

My husband and I were visiting family in the area for the weekend and they suggested a meal on Friday evening at the Carnarvon Arms which had recently reopened. We had an excellent evening. The food was varied and delicious and the staff friendly and attentive. My only slight critisism was that service was a bit slow, there just didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JocelynCornwall
DOXFORDS, Manager at The Carnarvon Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review - do come again soon Simon

Kibworth Beauchamp, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2015

Booked this hotel for one night stay and we where not disappointed. Only wish we where not going somewhere else the next day so we could stop another night.The staff where just a little to laid back for my wife but I would say it added to the relax atmosphere so for me thy where just fantastic. The rooms where...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ago750
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2015

Good service from the nice young staff, plenty of good vegetarian choices and delicious desserts (well, we only had 2 puddings between us but both were fabulous). Would strongly recommend eating here.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank huanghuali607
DOXFORDS, Manager at The Carnarvon Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review (our very first since taking over the business) - do come again soon Simon

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury
8.5 km away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#1 of 16 in Newbury
579 reviews
8.9 km away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,573 reviews
9.3 km away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
7.4 km away
Esseborne Manor
Esseborne Manor
#1 of 1 in Hurstbourne Tarrant
587 reviews
10.2 km away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#3 of 16 in Newbury
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just a few miles from Newbury town centre, next door to Highclere Castle, on the route of The Wayfarers Walk and close to many other attractions such as Newbury Race Course and the beautiful North Wessex Downs, this cosy inn offers an ideal retreat for business travellers and leisure visitors alike. The Grade II listed building was built in the 1800s as a coaching inn providing a stop off for travellers to nearby Highclere Castle, home to the present Lord and Lady Carnarvon. It is now beautifully restored and renovated, offering a stunning dining room with a high vaulted ceiling, a thriving friendly bar and 19 stylish bedrooms. With the focus on high quality, locally sourced produce, our food menu offers a choice of modern British a la carte dishes, traditional pub classics and a mouth-watering array of bar snacks. The bedrooms offer home from home comforts such as comfy duvets, thick fluffy towels, luxury toiletries, flat screen TVs with Freeview and free wi-fi. Not to mention a hearty 1st class traditional English Breakfast. The inviting surroundings and great service provided by our very friendly team, make this the perfect choice for a romantic weekend away. The Carnarvon Arms is perfect for a glass of champagne with the girls, a pint at the bar or a relaxed yet impressive lunch or dinner. Its the perfect spot for a weekend break in the country, or for private dining, offers bespoke meals and accommodation for shoot parties, ideal wedding accommodation and simply the best Sunday roast for miles.. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Carnarvon Arms Hotel

Address: Winchester Road | Whitway, Newbury RG20 9LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Price Range: $105 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carnarvon Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Carnarvon Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnarvon Arms Hotel Newbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Carnarvon Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Carnarvon Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All are good.”
 of 5 bubbles seancurryhomec, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“112...all rooms named after race horses”
 of 5 bubbles downi, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bedrooms are close to main roads so if you are a light sleeper suggest have earplugs.”
 of 5 bubbles 136pamelaw, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Easier to leave the window open if your room isn't on the car park side.”
 of 5 bubbles seaotter76, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one NOT on the groundfloor as these are the ones with the poor bathroom layout”
 of 5 bubbles ThePhoenixEssex, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5