We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Duke of Wellington

TripAdvisorUS$53*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$53*
US$53*
US$53*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Duke of Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

495 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 493: English reviews
Start your review of The Duke of Wellington
 Click to rate
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Another good wetherspoons pub, based in lovely Minehead town centre. Food was good quality, didn't have to wait long and plenty of tables suiting all ages groups. Good value and helpful staff.Had a fab breakfast on arrival and a couple of meals during our weekend break - all delicious!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Karen M, Thank you for your review, we are glad that you found us to be of good value with helpful staff along with quick service and a table to your liking. We look forward to your return visit. Stephen

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Family meal! Food was lovely and reasonably priced.... better than your average "wetherspoons" BT sports on the tvs showing the rugby an ideal place to visit whilst out and about. Staff were helpful and seemes quite happy and were good with our children.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank woody3004
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear woody3004, Thank you for your review, we are glad that you found the food to be lovely along with child friendly and helpful staff. Glad you enjoyed the Rugby. Stephen

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the duke of wellington on a Saturday, and were told about the onsite night club and accepted there would be some noise from the music. We were on the second floor and the ill-fitting sash windows did not filter out the noise from the people below the window in the outside smoking / drinking area who were obviously...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 247rayjk
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear 247rayjk, Thank you for your review, I am so sorry about the noise we do try to move the patrons on as soon as possible to keep the noise to a minimum, and on this occasion we seem to have failed. Please do come and visit us again maybe phone us first to see if we have a quitter...

Bristol
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a lovely room 108 adequate double bedroom and the bathroom was lovely and roomy. There was an iron and ironing board tea/coffee and a hairdryer available in the room too. Breakfast in the lounge downstairs and this was great but at an extra cost which was fine. There are a lot of stairs to the first floor but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrightsparkBristol
Duke of W, Receptionist at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear BrightsparkBristol It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & you will be returning again at a later date. You can always request Room 108 the next time you book, as we will always try to accommodate requests if possible. Kind regards

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a couple of days in Minehead for my youtube channel and stayed at the Duke of Wellington. The staff were brilliant and awesome, food was lovely and delicious, my room was clean and tidy. Thoroughly recommended and hopefully be back later this year :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
Duke of W, Receptionist at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Matt H We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us & we look forward to you visiting us again in the near future. Kind regards

Dorset
Reviewed 1 week ago

nicely decorated , great choice of beers , always well kept , food again you know what your getting for the price , so you cannot moan about it , there is pleanty of good seating , its well lit and welcoming

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steveblakesley
Duke of W, Receptionist at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear steveblakesley Thank you for your review & we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards

Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A quiet time in all respects. A quiet room well away from the nightclub as requested. The bar seemed less crowded than in the past and the staff were coping well and food orders arrived quickly. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. In all probability we will be back.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sludgemariner2015
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear sludgemariner2015, Thank you for your review, We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return. Stephen

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice Spoons. A short walk from the sea front. Pleasant surroundings with good friendly service. All meals were tasty. Loved the idea of ordering via an app, makes things a lot easier with kids in tow. Sadly couldn't get it to work on our phones. That didn't spoil things though. Worth a visit if you're visiting minehead.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tweezeandbubble
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Tweezeandbubble, Thank you for your review, we are glad you found a good friendly service in pleasant surroundings and indeed tasty meals. Shame the Order and Pay app did not work on your phones not sure why? Next time you pop into one of our pubs please ask one of the staff to make sure it is working (sometimes...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room far too small to be sold as a double. Bed jammed against a wall. Bathroom little bigger than a phone box. Shower only with such low water pressure it was like standing in a warm mist. However, room quiet and bed comfortable except for overly soft pillows. Good selection of value for money meals.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank olddozen
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear olddozen, Thank you for your review, we are indeed sorry that you found your room to be small. I am not sure what happened to the water pressure but it is normally very good I will have the shower checked. We are glad however that you found your bed to be comfortable and the room quiet along with a...

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Although busy tables kept clear and clean. Good menu to choose from. Burger deals tasty and reasonably priced. We had buttermilk chicken burger double and skinny but get. Lovely relaxed homely atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elsie S
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Elsie S, Thank you for your review, we are glad that you liked our menu, and that you found us to be homely and relaxed. Please do come back and visit us again soon. Stephen

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.7 km away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
258 reviews
0.5 km away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
209 reviews
38.2 km away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
251 reviews
0.5 km away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 37 in Minehead
55 reviews
0.8 km away
The Quay Inn
The Quay Inn
#14 of 37 in Minehead
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All 29 rooms in our hotel are en-suite and boast free wi-fi as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Towels, hair dryers, ironing board & iron and spare pillows are supplied in all rooms. Flat screen televisions in all rooms. Our 24 hour reception allows check in from 14:00. Meals start from 07:00 and run until 23:00 daily. Breakfast finishes at midday. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Duke of Wellington

Address: Wellington Square, Minehead TA24 5NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Price Range: $84 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Duke of Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Duke of Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Duke of Wellington staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Duke of Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay here on a weekend unless you are a young 20 something. You will not sleep.”
Staci446, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“didn't stay”
papaglowing2, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms near the A/C vents above the kitchen.”
alanb788, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in 112 but it was Sunday night so very quiet it faces the front”
Lynda207, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are good”
johnhM1937IJ, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$53* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$53
Booking.comUS$53
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates