We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Duke of Wellington

TripAdvisorUS$53*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$53*
US$53*
US$53*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Duke of Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

495 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Duke of Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 493: English reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016

A Wetherspoons hotel - generally very good. The food is standard Spoons, excellent breakfast, and the bar is standard Spoons drinks and prices. The hotel part of it is very good although I was unlucky enough to have a room above the adjoining nightclub - on a Saturday night ! Very noisy into the early hours especially as there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MattJames69
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear MattJames69, Thank you for your review, we are glad that you would stay here again, but sorry for the noise we do move patrons on as soon as possible. Please if we have a quieter room next time you book. Stephen

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

It was very good with polite efficient service. The room was large and clean and nicely decorated, with a large television and good wifi. Overall the hotel was clean, secure and safe. I did have to ring the service manager from my room after closing time to go and request that some noisy customers at the front of the hotel...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gmjwoodcarving
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear gmjwoodcarving, Thank you for your review, we are glad that you found everything to your liking and that you felt safe and secure. We look forward to your return Stephen

Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed over on a Saturday night at the Welly, which is a Wetherspoons Hotel. Overall it was fine for the price we paid however there is one thing everybody should be aware of in the small print. There is a club within the hotel complex which is open each Friday and Saturday night until 2.30am. The noise and racket...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel133
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Nigel133, Thank you for your review, It does say on all the websites that we have a Lloyds No1 bar and that at weekends some noise is possible. We are glad that you found the staff to be pleasant and helpful and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Stephen

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

I found the the staff in this hotel very friendly and polite however, the rooms were not very clean and especially the bathroom. We were spread over 3 different rooms and every bathroom was not cleaned to a good standard. In all bathrooms, the baths were either chipped, rusty or had some defect. I feel the whole place could do...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scoffer112
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Scoffer112, Thank you for your review so glad that you found the staff to be friendly and polite. But we are sorry that on this occasion we were not up to our usual standard , for this I can only apologise. Please do come back and visit us again soon. Stephen

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Excellent hotel right in the heart of Minehead food and drink excellent rooms nice and big great to have a bath as well as a shower everything you needed was in the room ie tea coffee water etc could not fault anything thank you duke of wellington.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank simondoyle13
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear simondoyle13, Thank you for your review we are glad that you found us to be an excellent hotel, and could not fault anything. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Stephen

Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Visited on a Tuesday ' Steak night'. Food and drinks great value and so much better than you'd think possible at the price. Staff were polite. Don't expect anything other than great value decent food and you won't be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Paul A, Ahh the steak night very popular on a Tuesday, Glad you found the staff to be polite. and you found we serve great value food. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your return. Stephen

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Having had a nice day out we came here for a coffee before heading home. Lovely lady of arms amazingly spacious. The coffee was excellent and we enjoyed good service and a quiet location before the final part of our journey. Well worth a visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear David W, Thank you for your review, glad you found the coffee to be excellent and that you enjoyed good service with a quiet location in which to enjoy. We look forward to your next visit Stephen

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We have just returned from a holiday in Watchet Somerset and visited the Duke of wellington on two occasions, we were recommended by a friend to try the food there and we were not disappointed, we had the 10oz gammon with drinks included the first time then 8oz sirloin steaks also with drinks the 2nd time, both meals were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malcolm w
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear malcolm w, Thank you for your review we are so glad that you enjoyed your food not once but twice. We look forward to your next visit. Regards Stephen

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Stayed over here as was touring around the south west coast, wasn't really expecting much as the price was very reasonable. How wrong was I, the room was excellent and lots of space. It felt like being in a Victorian House, with lots of character. As normal the staff were trained to very high standards, all food was excellent, including...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vexpez13
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear vexpez13, Thank you for your review, we are glad that you found the food to be excellent. The building is grade 2 listed so does indeed have lots of character with lots of space. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Stephen

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here yesterday as we were attending a wedding locally. We had excellent service from the receptionist Claire, who was very attentive and helpful, and I would commend her attitude having to deal with a hotel that is sub standard. The score I place is for two facts, one that this hotel is right next door to Llyods Nightclub....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona W
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Fiona W, Thank you for your review, we do indeed have our Lloyds No1 bar which is open on a weekend till late, we do try to keep the noise down and move people on as soon as possible but some noise is indeed possible and is mentioned. We do pride ourselves on our cleanliness and it seems that...

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.7 km away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
258 reviews
0.5 km away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
206 reviews
38.2 km away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
251 reviews
0.5 km away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 37 in Minehead
55 reviews
0.8 km away
The Quay Inn
The Quay Inn
#14 of 37 in Minehead
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All 29 rooms in our hotel are en-suite and boast free wi-fi as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Towels, hair dryers, ironing board & iron and spare pillows are supplied in all rooms. Flat screen televisions in all rooms. Our 24 hour reception allows check in from 14:00. Meals start from 07:00 and run until 23:00 daily. Breakfast finishes at midday. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Duke of Wellington

Address: Wellington Square, Minehead TA24 5NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Price Range: $84 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Duke of Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Duke of Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Duke of Wellington staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Duke of Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay here on a weekend unless you are a young 20 something. You will not sleep.”
Staci446, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“didn't stay”
papaglowing2, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms near the A/C vents above the kitchen.”
alanb788, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in 112 but it was Sunday night so very quiet it faces the front”
Lynda207, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are good”
johnhM1937IJ, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$53* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$53
PricelineUS$53
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates