We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Duke of Wellington

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Duke of Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

485 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Duke of Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 483: English reviews
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Stayed here for one night only in a single room. I was very pleased with it in all respects. The room itself was much larger than I was expecting and all was as it should be. The staff were all very good and I would have no problem recommending . I used it as a base to walk a couple...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil O
Duke of W, Night Shift Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Neil O, Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff to be good. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Lovely building and outside seating. Staff helpful and attentive. Cooked breakfast was plentiful and cooked perfect. The building it self is enormous Overall one of the best weatherspoon I've frequented.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lkweston
Duke of W, Night Shift Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Lkweston, Thank you for your review, we are glad that you found the staff to be helpful and attentive and that your breakfast was cooked perfect. We look forward to your next visit Stephen

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2016

The room had everything necessary for our one night stay. The sofa bed was a bit hard for the children but the surrounding area was quiet so all had a good nights sleep. The price is excellent value and this is the 2nd time we have used this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 386stephen12
Duke of W, Night Shift Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear 386stephen12, Thank you for your review, We are glad that you found that your room had everything you needed for your short stay with us and found us to be excellent value. We look forward to your 3rd visit Regards Stephen

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Unfortunately it is more of a local drinking hole/ nightclub than a proper hotel....wish it was a little quieter. Spent allot of money on a double room which was like staying in the roadhouse...a couple had a domestic outside..not good

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1975lb
Duke of W, Duty Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we apologise your stay was not as good as you expected. We do however have a nightclub on the property which is stated on all of our literature and unfortunately we cannot always keep the general public from making some noise outside of our premises. Kind regards.

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Excellent organisation of booking by carol. Rooms generally good or very good apart from one which was very small. We stayed one night for dinner which was poor-7 of menu not on including curry dishes and fish.scampi/chips so some of us went out elsewhere. Breakfasts were good in variety and taste but along wait to order-three quarters of an hour...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank norman2125
Duke of W, Duty Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry that some of the menu items were not available to you on that night but hope this doesn't deter you from visiting us again. Kind Regards.

Buntingford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Went to Minehead for the day by coach and visited The Duke of Wellington Pub. A very large pub with lots of seating, out door space and also a hotel. The only downside was the walk from the coach car park as the pub was a long way up the High Street, but apart from that the food and drinks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
Duke of W, Night Shift Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Sandra L, Thank you for your review were so glad you decided to walk up the high street to find us and found the food and drinks to be of good value. We do hope that you will come and see us again soon. Stephen

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2016

We stayed here last Sunday in room 207. The location is perfect to go to the Regal Theatre and shopping. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. and it is lovely to have a kettle in the room to make tea / coffee. The complimentary bottled water and biscuits are nice touch. The only thing that surprised us was there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Mysef & my 5yr old grandson had the pleasure of staying here for 4 nights, room was good & comfortable, food was excellent. All the staff we came across were friendly & helpful, an extra mention to the manager who was always chatty to my grandson & a star of a man.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deefan54
Duke of W, Night Shift Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Deefan54, Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff friendly and helpful I have passed your comment on the Manager to the Management team in the hope that it will get to the right one. We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Stephen

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Do not live far away just over an hour but wanted to get away for 24 hours to the coast. Spur of the moment thing. Picked Minehead. We were not disappointed. The Wetherspoons being and old place had biggish clean and comfortable bedrooms. Being on the second floor it was quiet could hear no noise from the pub downstairs even...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thecuckoo
Duke of W, Night Shift Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear thecuckoo, Thank you for your review, So glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and that Samuel was able to resolve your queries, and that you enjoyed the food on offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Stephen

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016

This was not the first time that we have visited the Duke. Comfy rooms, excellent staff and great service. Can be loud at a weekend but that is flagged up. Wetherspoons, better than you expect. Try it

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank whosborne17
Duke of W, Night Shift Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear whosborne17, Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us better than you expected. Indeed our Lloyds No1 bar is not just open at a weekend when it can get a little louder but open in the week as well to enjoy your sports on our projection screen. We look...

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.7 km away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
247 reviews
0.5 km away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
202 reviews
38.2 km away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 38 in Minehead
243 reviews
0.5 km away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 38 in Minehead
52 reviews
0.8 km away
The Quay Inn
The Quay Inn
#14 of 38 in Minehead
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All 29 rooms in our hotel are en-suite and boast free wi-fi as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Towels, hair dryers, ironing board & iron and spare pillows are supplied in all rooms. Flat screen televisions in all rooms. Our 24 hour reception allows check in from 14:00. Meals start from 07:00 and run until 23:00 daily. Breakfast finishes at midday. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Duke of Wellington

Address: Wellington Square, Minehead TA24 5NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Price Range: $81 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Duke of Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Duke of Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Duke of Wellington staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Duke of Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay here on a weekend unless you are a young 20 something. You will not sleep.”
Staci446, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“didn't stay”
papaglowing2, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms near the A/C vents above the kitchen.”
alanb788, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in 112 but it was Sunday night so very quiet it faces the front”
Lynda207, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are good”
johnhM1937IJ, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5