We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Glenmorag Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Glenmorag Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

423 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 423: English reviews
Fife, Scotland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just back today from another successful trip to this hotel with a David Urquhart coach trip, no complaints about the quality or quantity of food, the staff were on the ball as far as service was concerned. Prices in the bar were really good, (better than our local), While I realise this is an old and busy hotel I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank myallmar
Frank J, Manager at Glenmorag Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for review. Your comments have been noted, upgrading of tvs etc is in progress but not as fast as we would like as we have to keep coach trips competitive and prices low. Please to welcome you back in the future. Regards Frank Joubert Manager

dunoon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Brilliant hotel, food very good and always hot and plentiful, staff good and work hard. Rooms clean and tidy and fresh towels when needed. A nice walk along the prom into town but not much there, mostly chemists, 2nd hand shops and hairdressers or barber's.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davekerswell
Frank J, Manager at Glenmorag Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments . Will pass your compliments to chef and staff. Hope you will visit us again. Frank Joubert Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On a David Urquhart trip. From the minute we got on the bus we were on holiday. Arthur the driver was excellent. Arrived at hotel and were very quickly given our room keys and all relevant data about meals etc. Our room had 2 single beds, side cabinets, wardrobe and vanity unit. Also had bathroom with shower over the bath....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer S
Durham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Posative food was fine. Staff. Very good and helpful. Negative. Beds were uncomfortable with no padding felt the springs when lying down Carpet was thread bare in places and badly stained. Bathroom wasn't clean (we moved to a different room after 1st night) No hairdryer, only a small bar of soap. No phone in case of emergency. At one time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iemunro55
Frank J, Manager at Glenmorag Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your comments have been noted, The hotel is in process of updating the rooms but not as fast as we like as it allows the price of your trips to be kept as reasonable as possible. Hairdryers are available at reception. Hope you enjoyed some of your stay and could visit again in the future....

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had another great New Year at the GLENMORAG on arrival in the room was bottle of wine orange juice, bottles water, crisps and a plate of goodies ,room warm and clean bed spotless and comfortable,Bathroom warm and good towels, the staff go out there way to help they are a credit to Frank and David the managers Entertainment every night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mary h
Frank J, Manager at Glenmorag Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass your compliments to the staff. Will be a pleasure to have you return for another visit. Kind Regards Frank Joubert

Knaresborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went on a David Urquhart coach trip for the first time and were not expecting much after reading negative reviews but were very pleasantly surprised. Yes the hotel is very tired and shabby in parts but SPOTLESSLY clean and the staff are excellent - nothing is too much trouble if you only mention any issues to them. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandra B
Frank J, Manager at Glenmorag Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review it is very much appreciated. I'm sure it will be of help to future guests. I will pass your compliments to the chef and the rest of the staff. Hope you will visit us again in the future. Regards Frank Joubert Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Would never return to this hotel nothing positive about it filthy dated arrogant manager freezing no heating on for us arriving staff unhelpful bedroom window wouldn't close properly nightporter ignoreing quests

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lavinia H
Frank J, Manager at Glenmorag Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am puzzled as to when your stay was as Burns night is the end of January. I feel your comments are unjust in relation to the staff, we pride ourselves on customer care and as previous reviews will testify this to be, our staff are some of the best in any hotel I have...

yorkshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely location overlooking the Clyde. Clean & tidy with courteous and helpful staff. Room facilities good; comfortable bed, excellent shower. Sea view for extra £2 per night. Evening entertainment very good and quality inexpensive wine and shorts/mixers at the bar. No cask hand pulled ale unfortunately but keg beer ok. Food good for the price paid though could be improved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xtraddy
Frank J, Manager at Glenmorag Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I will pass on your comment about plates to the kitchen. Pleased you had a good break with us and would like to welcome you back in the future. Regards Frank Joubert Manager

Cupar, Fife
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travelled with David Urquhart Travel. 27/12/16 to 30/12/16. Twixmas. Arrived 15:30 but weren't allowed to go to the hotel until 16:30 despite the efforts of our driver, Graham. Felt very regimented when bring allocated room and getting key. Room not the best. Furniture dated, bed not very comfortable with no support. Toilet facilities needed a good clean. Shower OK. Carpet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulHarryman
Frank J, Manager at Glenmorag Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Arrival time is 4.30 as the drivers are advised of this, as we have 74 rooms to get ready from previous coaches. I am sorry you felt it was regimented but when you have 135 guests waiting for keys who want to their rooms as quickly as possible this can happen. Reception would have more...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from a five day Urquhart coach holiday at the Christmas period,the meals were very good in fact there was too much to eat every one must have put on weight,the entertainment although not brilliant was passable . They advertise a £1-50 bar which it is if you're not a beer or lager drinker as it is £1-50 per...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank george348
Frank J, Manager at Glenmorag Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments will pass your compliment to the Kitchen staff. The bar prices are out of our control but will pass this to Head Office for an answer. Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Frank Joubert Manager

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.7 km away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
170 reviews
1.2 km away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
911 reviews
0.2 km away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
626 reviews
3.7 km away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
207 reviews
0.2 km away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Glenmorag Hotel

Address: 3 Kilbride Road, Dunoon PA23 7QH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Price Range: $71 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenmorag Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glenmorag Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmorag Hotel Dunoon, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glenmorag Hotel staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Glenmorag Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view worth the extra”
 of 5 bubbles 483maryh, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Any even number has a River Clyde view”
  • View from front of hotel
 of 5 bubbles L8510NUsandrab, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Worth requesting sea view for small extra charge.”
 of 5 bubbles xtraddy, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“View is better from the front (South) of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles PaulHarryman, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“probably loch view but as it was winter and dark I don't think it really mattered to us.”
 of 5 bubbles 549gillians, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay