We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dunkeld House Hotel

Save
Share
Blairgowrie Road, Dunkeld PH8 0HX Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$184
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-06-02
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$184
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-06-02
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
Booking.comUS$184
ZenHotels.com
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1109)
Room & Suite (183)
Dining (77)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 3 hotels in Dunkeld
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Dunkeld House Hotel is set in its own secluded 280-acre woodland estate, on the banks of the River Tay in the beautiful Perthshire countryside. There is lots to do both within the resort and the local area, making this a memorable getaway. The newly refurbished hotel has 98 guest rooms, Health Club with 17m indoor pool and spa. On the Estate, try your hand at clay pigeon shooting, quad biking or enjoy one of the many tranquil woodland walks.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Tennis court
Fishing
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English
3,054Reviews39Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,036
  • 1,002
  • 558
  • 300
  • 158
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
caroline m wrote a review Mar. 2021
1 contribution
Was due to stay here in December, but due to Covid, we couldn't - we had booked thru 5pm. We were told by the hotel to contact them when they reopen to rebook our stay (bed, breakfast fizz) as the hotel is not answering the phone, we sent an email to be told they were not honouring 5 pm vouchers beyond March 31st - not sure how that works as they do not reopen till April?? We have been told by 5tpm that as soon as the voucher is redeemed the hotel has the finds, so we must get a refund direct from them - however, this has so far not happened, nor have I had any reply to my last email;l - I wish I had read reviews before I booked in the first place. Dreadful sewrvice, and certainly no way to entice customers back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Service
Helpful
Share
Lisboeta56 wrote a review Jan. 2021
Edinburgh, United Kingdom205 contributions87 helpful votes
Belately - as I have only found my bill, we lunched here on 18 Dec. Fabulous waitress Flora and a wonderful mixed funghi as our shared starter. That is the end of the praise. The restaurant was being refurbed, as was the conservatory but we had not been advised at time of booking. We were shown to a draughty, corner table where we could barely see to read the menu. Asked for more light and it was turned up. Then a workman appeared and turned lights down. Requested more light - more light, then workman turned it off - at which point we moved tables into the main body of the bar. There was persistant movement all through our lunch as a small team moved tables and were sorting bar fixtures. A "manager" in a pink striped suit was sweating profusely lifting side tables and eventually took off his face covering, despite the fact he was adjactent to us and talking face to face with his staff. There was so much disruption it annoyed us. A waiter cleared our main course dishes and we requested the dessert menu. After 15 minutes he had not appeared and only when I caught his eye [he was also part of this working party] did he appear with the menu by which time we had had enough and asked for coffee and the bill. The coffees arrived - both spilt into the saucers, soaking the shortbread. with no apology. My husband paid the bill and then had to walk the guantlet through 9 workmen and staff - few of whom were wearing face coverings - to fetch our coats. As we stood up to leave, not one of the team spoke to us; we were just ignored. Never have I been so annoyed in any restaurant. We have used the Dunkeld House Hotel for 20 years and my husband uses the shooting school. But we can tell you now, we shall not return. There are a host of hotels and restaurants in Perthshire now that welcome their guests propery and adhere to COVID rules. This was a disgrace and a huge disappointment to us. I shall copy my comments to the Tourist Board as this needs to be flagged up.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from DHH HotelManager, Other at Dunkeld House Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
We appreciate the time taken to leave a review, we welcome all feedback. Thank you for your kind words about the wonderful food and of course about Flora being fabulous, she truly reflects the values we hold dear at the hotel. We do take our covid procedures very seriously and I believe many of our great guest reviews reflect that. As you have so kindly pointed out we have recently had and have now completed a stunning refurbishment in many areas of hotel, which refines our definition of luxury Scottish country living. It’s fantastic to hear you have enjoyed the last 20 years at Dunkeld House Hotel and we hope to one day welcome you back to enjoy a further 20 years.
Read more
lferr wrote a review Dec. 2020
Perth, United Kingdom270 contributions67 helpful votes
+1
Our last stay here left us a bit disappointed (nothing major just niggles) but the grounds and location are so amazing we thought we would try again so very pleased we did. The DBB package is definitely worth it and due to Covid we chose to eat in the room and nothing was too much trouble. The salmon tasting starter is fabulous. The room 405 is now our favourite dog friendly room and one we will ask for in future it has a view of the river and was spotlessly clean and spacious. The hotel itself had good covid measures in place all staff wearing masks (properly) and automatic hand sanitizer stations throughout. Felt very safe. It has been a crazy year and it was nice to unwind and support a local business. Top tips - try the Bramble cocktail and if you like tattie scone with your breakfast just ask as it is not on the menu but I got some both mornings. Thanks to all the staff who were cheery and helpful. We will be back
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from DHH HotelManager, Other at Dunkeld House Hotel
Responded Dec. 22, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review we appreciate your feedback. We are glad to hear you were not disappointed with your stay with us on this occasion. We are glad to hear you have found your new favorite room within our General Wades building,they are beautifully located with a view of the mountains and the river. We are glad to hear that our staff were cheery and helpful and I shall pass the feedback onto the head of departments. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Read more
Jess B wrote a review Dec. 2020
4 contributions
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Dunkeld House Hotel. The grounds of the hotel are extraordinary. I sat eating breakfast watching the River Tay run past, surrounded by beautiful trees. I would go as far as to say it feels magical as you drive in, passing all the deer and taking in the setting. The room was tastefully decorated, in keeping with the authenticity of the hotel. It was clean and warm throughout the hotel and I felt welcomed by the staff. The food was great and all felt extra special being able to relax and indulge amidst all the uncertainty we find ourselves in, in 2020. Dunkeld House Hotel is definitely worth a visit. I'll most certainly be back in 2021.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from DHH HotelManager, Other at Dunkeld House Hotel
Responded Dec. 22, 2020
Thank you Jess for taking the time to leave a review we appreciate your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Dunkeld House Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location of the hotel with the river Tay and the local deer. I shall relay your kind words to the chef about the food and he can pass it onto the team. We are look forward to welcoming you back in 2021.
Read more
Laurajc99 wrote a review Dec. 2020
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom333 contributions144 helpful votes
Even before covid we had planned to visit Scotland for the first time this year, and we are so thrilled we did. We were extremely lucky to stay at this hotel which we thoroughly loved, fantastic location right next to the river Tay, just a short walk along the river and then you are in the town/city of Dunkeld. We stayed here for two nights before moving to other areas of Scotland. During our two nights we had dinner here one night and it was fantastic especially the smoked Dunkeld salmon starter it was so fresh. We were located in the General Wade's building,which was lovely however we kept being woken up by the door in the main building entrance. Breakfast was brilliant both mornings. It's such a lovely setting and is extremely romantic for couples. We would love to come back..
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$122 - US$198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton dunkeld perthshire hotel dunkeld, hilton dunkeld hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandPerth and KinrossDunkeld
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dunkeld House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Dunkeld House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Hermitage Woodland Walk (3.2 km), Ossian's Hall (0.9 km), and Loch of the Lowes Visitor Centre and Wildlife Reserve (3.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Dunkeld House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness centre.
What food & drink options are available at Dunkeld House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Dunkeld House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dunkeld House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include ARAN Bakery, The Perth Arms, and Z’s AmaZing Brasserie.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dunkeld House Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Dunkeld House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Dunkeld House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ossian's Hall (0.9 km) and Dunkeld Bridge (1.6 km).
Does Dunkeld House Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Dunkeld House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.