We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Atholl Arms Hotel

Expedia.comUS$83*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Atholl Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

482 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Atholl Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 467: English reviews
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2015

We have just come back from a two night stay with friends and what a brilliant two days it was. Room 12 was up two flights of stairs which we found hard going. It was a basic clean big room. The staff were so friendly and helpful and carried our bags up to our room. The breakfast was piping hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wullie j
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments about our great staff has been shared with all the team and are very much appreciated. We do our best to try and make the Atholl like a second home to all our...

Wigan Lancashire
Reviewed 24 March 2015

We stayed in this hotel for two nights to attend a friends wedding and couldn't recommend it highly enough. The location was stunning, excellent facilities, food was great, the rooms were spotless and very comfortably furnished. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was lovely and included a very good cooked veggie selection. The most impressive were the staff and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melaniejaynev
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. Your kind words about the service and staff are shared by all and very much appreciated. We always have plenty on the breakfast menu as many guests are heading out for long walks for the day or in your case a long drive back...

Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2015

Love this hotel! Beautifully decorated. It's very traditional, but simply styled. The staff are really friendly and you can choose between informal dining in the newly refurbished Bistro or the more formal restaurant that overlooks the River Tay. They are Vegetarian Society approved and have a full menu for vegetarians and vegans. Great for families or couples. We are heading...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Jacqueline, It was so nice to meet you and your family. Your wonderful review has been shared with the Atholl team and is very much appreciated. Our head chef Ally and his team continue to create new and interesting dishes and we feel so lucky to have such a bountiful larder on our doorstep. Dunkeld is a brilliant base...

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2015

My daughter and I spent a night here recently using an Itison deal @ £49 for 2 people with breakfast & bottle of wine. Whilst the room was slightly dated this did not affect our stay in any way. The room was clean, well appointed and even though we were overlooking the main street we were not bothered by any...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liz F
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and your meals. All of our 17 rooms are quite different in size and style. I would be happy to show you around next time you visit. Our burgers are incredibly popular and we offer a half price burger...

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2015

I won a night stay in this lovely hotel through a local paper and after returning today I can say that I was not disappointed with my prize! The Atholl arms is a lovely hotel on the banks of the river Tay. There are views to the river from some rooms and from the main restaurant. We were in a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chooks69
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to Dunkeld. We try our best to make our guests feel at home, your kind words about the friendly staff are noted and shared. All of our dishes are made fresh to order using only the best produce...

Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2015

Stayed here on Saturday 14th Feb but not very impressed.I should say first of all that we did arrive early and they very kindly let us into our room straight away.The breakfast in the morning was also very nice and a nice lounge area with a fine fire to relax at.We thought it was a bit over priced for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ann S
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Ann from Lossiemouth, I treat all trip advisor responses with good clarity. I have looked into the reasons for your disappointing stay here in Dunkeld. You stayed in rooms 1 and 3. Not budget rooms as you would have preferred. Knowing we would be fully booked for Valentines day, we called all our guests 3 days prior to their...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2015

We stayed in this hotel on the 6th and 7th of February whilst the hotel was lovely and we given an upgrade as soon as we arrived and we were pleasantly surprised it was spotless and very comfortable .. The bar area has a lovely coal fire in it but it was very cold in there even though it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank June37
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review on Dunkeld. I am so sorry you were freezing in all the pubs, how unusual. Glad to hear that your room was nice and cozy. We do have the coal fire on in the bar, the gas fire on in the lounge and our new wood stove in...

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2015

We have just returned from a weekend break at the Atholl Arms and what a wonderful stay it has been. We arrived very late Friday night (almost midnight) but I had pre warned the hotel in advance and we were really grateful of them to stay up and wait for us! We had travelled almost 6 hours from the Midlands....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ella2308
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write such a brilliant review. It is so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's never any bother to be there if you are coming in late and thank you for calling to let us know this, it was quite a trip for you. It is our goal...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2015 via mobile

We used an itison.com voucher for a night here. We were given a spacious freshly decorated room (14). We had dinner in the lounge and it was really nice and we were told the burgers were home made in the hotel (you could tell, especially the veggie burger). Breakfast was nice too. Staff were very friendly and especially so to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dominothecat
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I agree that Dunkeld is a lovely village and it does get very busy especially in the summer months when folks can enjoy many walks and outside dining in our private garden. All of our food is made from scratch by our team of chefs. I...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights newly opened (January) after a refurbishment to outside (still scaffolding up of the street side but to be down very soon we were informed) newly renovated bar and several rooms have been upgraded, our room (newly refurbished) was at the front on the top floor (note. no lift ) with a beaultiful view over the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dundeetravellermrshc
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of what Dunkeld has to offer. The walks along the river are brilliant any time of year with the huge trees and the water. Your kind words have been shared with the staff...

170 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1.6 km away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,183 reviews
0.2 km away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
27.5 km away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,729 reviews
13.3 km away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
731 reviews
15.3 km away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Address: Tay Terrace, Dunkeld PH8 0AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Price Range: $133 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Arms Dunkeld
Hotel Atholl Arms
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Atholl Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Atholl Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Riverview rooms are really lovely”
AlexM432, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Upgrades are available if you want a bit more luxury but we were in a room facing the main road and didn't hear a thing.”
AlisonG42, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Facing the River Tay”
363ronnies, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the suite which was fantastic....and very large!”
658stevem, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 17 - Spacious, light and a lovely view of the river”
  • Room 17
elizabetha379, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$83* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$85
PricelineUS$85
Agoda.comUS$85
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates