We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel

Hotels.comUS$65*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$88*
US$65*
US$75*
US$88*
US$65*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,059 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,052: English reviews
spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2015

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie P
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Reviewed 3 June 2015

Nice 'country' style hotel. Service was excellent, the rooms clean and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The floor boards creeked in my room and surrounding rooms but I guess that's to be expected in a old building.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Y9104MJ
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments here on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and I will pass on your comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future. Kindest Regards Rebecca Rose Operations Manager

Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2015

Stayed there for just one night whilst away on business. Beautiful room, very comfortable beds and very well appointed. Very fast free wifi. Just had a bar meal, Thai curry which was delicious and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was superb. Staff very friendly. Am thinking of booking again for a couple of nights with hubby for a relaxing couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elaine M
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments here on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and I will pass on your comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future. Kindest Regards Rebecca Rose Operations Manager

midlands
Reviewed 26 May 2015

At least our 4th visit, and the standards never seem to change except for the better. Staff excellent, food very good, accommodation excellent, price very reasonable for the standards provided. We would not stay in any other hotel in Buxton. We also continually recommend this hotel to our friends and they are of the same opinion. Suggest that a visit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MidlandsCritical
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You so much for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon. Kindest Regards Rebecca Rose Operations Manager

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Very comfortable rooms, little extras of biscuits and Buxton water in room, lovely meal one evening, elderly father's 2nd floor room right next to lift a big bonus, relaxed staff, no complaints at all.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank scs747
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon. Kindest Regards Rebecca Rose

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Location superb, reception staff superb, though unfortunately it ends there. An earlier comment that the hotel was stuck in a 'time warp' and like 'an old people's home' I am sorry to say, is only too true; we found it very dated indeed, and in desperate need of a refurb. The bedroom was very narrow, uncomfortable bed, (carpet looks like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rhonda C
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. Should you wish to discuss your concerns in more detail please do not hesitate to contact me on 01298 23002 or Rebecca@leewoodhotel.co.uk Kindest Regards Rebecca Rose Operations Manager

Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2015

We went in a party of ten for our annual cousins reunion. I have to say at this stage that the staff at the Lee Wood are the most obliging, helpful and attentive we have experienced for some time and UK hotels are mostly pretty good anyway. We needed a bit of extra attention for one of the party and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Terry L
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You so much for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon. Kindest Regards Rebecca Rose Operations Manager

West Malling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2015

This is a great location for exploring the Peak District; but the main reason for the 5 rating was the really helpful attitude of all of the staff - all were more than happy to help. The hotel was traditionally comfortable, with everything needed for a relaxing break. Sorry that I've left it so late to review.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dave U
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You so much for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon. Kindest Regards Rebecca Rose Operations Manager

Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2015

Four of us went here as part of birthday celebrations. We were really looking for a carvery, which they no longer do, but the AA rosette status of the kitchen meant we stayed. It was a very good job that we did. The food was very good with equally good service. This restaurant continues to be really good and well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NorthernRoyal
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us. We hope that you choose to return again very soon. Kindest Regards Rebecca Rose

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2015

I was very disappointed with this hotel. Its in a good location and the bedrooms are of a good size and decorated as you would expect for a country hotel but the hotel itself is full of very old fashoned furniture (not country house or antique) which looks cheap and nasty. The carpet is paterned, the type you would have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicola H
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you were disappointed with some of the aspects during your stay. We are a traditional property and take pride in the history and atmosphere the building provides. Taking this into account when we had a new carpet fitted in 2014 to the public areas...

315 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Deluxe Double (22)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin or Double (18)
Viewed
Executive (19)
Viewed
Executive Double (11)
Viewed
Family Room (14)
Viewed
Front Facing Double (13)
Viewed
Junior Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.5 km away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
994 reviews
0.4 km away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,418 reviews
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
24.7 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
17.0 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lee Wood Hotel is set in its own grounds with mature gardens and is just 200metres from the Buxton Opera House. All 38 rooms are individually furnished and offer all the amenities that you would expect. There is complimentary internet access in all bedrooms and public areas and there is no charge for car parking within the hotel grounds and its vicinity. The hotel offers extensive conference and meeting facilities and is Buxton's leading venue for weddings and other celebrations being able to host from 5 to 225 guests. The Lee Wood is also well known for the quality of its Elements Restaurant which is situated in the conservatory and where an extensive choice of dishes are on offer. We look forward to welcoming you to our country house style hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel

Address: The Park, Buxton SK17 6TQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Price Range: $123 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, SpeedyBooker.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buxton
Buxton Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
20 days ago
Roseville, California
9 months ago
Grand Prairie, Texas
10 months ago
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very pleasant bar and lounge. Wifi is ok.”
 of 5 bubbles olgatheaudi, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms to the front have better views and are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 962ianp962, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Telephone the Hotel direct re terms. They will save you a disabled parking space if informed.”
 of 5 bubbles ABLIlkeston, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Close to town centre but uphill. Rooms overlooking the park are recommended There is a lift.”
 of 5 bubbles slidewinder, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“front rooms have a pleasant outlook - but if there is a function during your visit the second floor will be quieter!”
 of 5 bubbles MrsAholidaymaker, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$65* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$75
Orbitz.comUS$65
HotelQuicklyUS$88
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates