We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lismore Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lismore Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Lismore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 120: English reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

My room was absolutely filthy, stains on toilet, dirty shower and tiles behind the sink, the bathroom floor was dirty and my single bed was uncomfortable with a blanket with stains on. There was a sign on the wall to dial 0 for reception but no phone! The kettle was on the floor. The windowsills had dirt and mould on...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sarah C
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

I was booked here for 6 nights for business and wanted to cancel the remainder of my stay after the first 2 nights. I called to ask if I could cancel from the following day as I appreciated that it was too short notice to cancel my stay that evening. I spoke to an extremely rude man called Paul who...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Hannah S
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

I can understand you being upset and saying i was rude because you didn't get your way. We have a cancellation policy as all hotels do as we have to fill our rooms. If had said to you on your first night sorry i have sold your room for more money and a longer duration that would not be acceptable....

Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Recently received an email confirmation of my stay, which we had cancelled before our trip. Spoke to the owner who was very unhelpful when phoned to question this!!! Customer service was non existent. If hotel is like the owner glad I'm not staying!!!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tom R
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

We cannot cancel the rooms as you came through a agent that is what i told you and all i told you, if you don't cancel through your booker you will be charged its all in your confirmation.What's unhelpful about that i would say sound advice maybe not what you want to hear but you made the booking not us.

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Unhygienic. Carpets so old, they stink of the years of tobacco smoke. Junk in the hallway. Furniture and fittings from 70's/80's or older, and broken. The geezer who runs the place was rude when the room door slammed which shows bad maintenance since he should've adjust the door spring to close gently in the first place! And he charged £90...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank durianwool2
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

i have been waiting for this the fire place is over a 100 years old bit like you the carpet is a new carpet fitted 4 weeks ago the room was full decorated 6 weeks ago, I advised your mate not to stay in hotels like mine go to a travel lodge and he said we normally stay at travel...

Reviewed 12 July 2016

i was met by rude and blunt receptionist, only interested in getting payment for room at £70 excluding breakfast. Room very small, shower broken, light from out side flashing in room. Would not stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ShazR50
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

The LED lights at the front of the hotel are only on untill 10.30 latest we do not include bfast in our internet price sorry if we didnt tickle your tummy on arrival, We take the payment on arrival as so many cards do not autherise but unlike the bigger hotel who charge you when you book and do not...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

I've read some really bad reviews for this hotel but, bearing in mind the price, it is good value. The man who checked us in was welcoming. Our room was enormous and though the 4 poster bed creaked, it was beautifully made up, the linen smelled really fresh and everything was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was tired agreed but there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsC62
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Allocated a teensy tiny room on the front with a tiny window and no ensuite. Freezing cold. I found it quite expensive. Didn't bother me that its not in the town centre. Only stayed here because Im not familiar with Banbury hotels and remembered a friend had lived at the hotel back in 1995 (yes moons ago!) and only after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Romagirl327
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

think you must be short sighted all our room are en-suite and the town centre is only 300 yards at the most away so not sure where you stayed not in my hotel that's for sure

Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

There's a few things I could say about this place but here's the one you need to know, me and a work mate stayed here through our company thank god I wasn't paying anyway I the night before we were checking out I noticed a few marks on my stomach thought it was something I had done at work but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brendan L
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Chalet 49, the front door step was loose / wobbley. The shower / toilet room extractor fan didn't work and the bedding was damp and the towels. Parking on site was very good but the walk in to the rear door via a passage way littered with cigarette butts and rubbish that seemed to of been over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bob1557
Wareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Ramp into disabled access room but could not move the wheelchair round the room. Plus you need to be able to walk up two steps to get to breakfast. Breakfast was ok but had to ask for more coffee. Send No notification of booking. So had to ring up to check my booking. Sorry I can't recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tracey C

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.6 km away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.0 km away
Easington House
Easington House
#9 of 10 in Banbury
229 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
2.3 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.8 km away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are undergoing a full and total refurbishment of all Bedrooms and bathrooms, Restaurant and bar. The project should be finished by early new year we will still be open with no disruption to guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lismore Hotel

Address: 61 Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range: $115 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lismore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lismore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lismore Hotel Banbury
The Lismore Hotel Banbury, UK - England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lismore Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Lismore Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No tips to give but will not book again.”
leeboyw, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back overlooking the car park are very quiet.”
609brendap, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere, anywhere else!!”
philippakaye2016, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not sure there are any good rooms”
K4714QOlindam, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Move one - sleep in your car is better than paying for this piece of run-down relic.”
durianwool2, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5