We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cromwell Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cromwell Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

521 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 518: English reviews
Start your review of Cromwell Lodge
 Click to rate
Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Me and my partner haven't been to the Cromwell for a while and thought we would give it ago for a change, Well how much did we regret that?! We had to wait to be seated even though it was empty. Everything was going well until our food came out I had chicken and it was dry and tasteless looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anon-dos
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has a lot going for it in that it's town centre location is convenient for buses, shops and other transport link and just minutes walk to the famous Banbury Cross. Nice rear walled garden which would be pleasant in good weather. However, the service on arrival was very poor there was no one on reception and three other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linda a
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was welcoming and at the front of the hotel but not at all noisy. As we checked in we were told there was a birthday party and disco on that would be noisy but finish at 11.30 pm and it did finish promptly. The room was a little tired around the edges really but good value. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna J
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Bed clean but downhill from there. Wallpaper hanging off and stained. Shower tiny and it leaked. No blind at the shower room window and the door so ill fitting you couldn't shut it. Two people but only one towel. Very noisy as room was near kitchen extractor fan and the windows didn't shut as most of the window catches were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret and Mi... S
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thank you for a very pleasant stay at Cromwell Lodge. The room was clean and comfortable with all the facilities we needed. The food was fantastic and the staff exceptionally friendly and efficient. The Hotel is in a perfect spot to explore the lovely old town of Banbury and we really enjoyed our stay. This was outstanding value for money...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank del316
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

4 of us stayed for the weekend, we had booked 'Superior' rooms as we knew what to expect as we stayed in an Old English Inn last year in Hungerford (The Bear, recommended!). Sadly, the Cromwell isn't in the same class as The Bear, the whole place is tired, we asked why our room was 'superior', as it didn't feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Firstly I'd stay here again! I knew the rooms were a little tired to say the least before I stayed and that reflected in the price but the beds were comfy and the shower itself was powerful and spot on. The food itself makes up for any of the negatives. The mixed grill for my evening meal was excellent and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
Beata S, General Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Your feedback back is very appreciated, I am glad you enjoyed the stay. Hope to see you here again soon!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Yes it's a bit tired, and yes it's more pub than it is Hotel, but if you are looking for a friendly place to stay that is really great value and you enjoy happy helpful staff then try this place. I have stayed here 3 times now on business and it has been a different crew each time but always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 11SemperViator
Beata S, General Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

I will pass your lovely comments onto the team, I am glad you continue to enjoy staying at the Cromwell. We will see you soon!

oxford
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Sunday Lunch I have never heard so many apologies from the staff to the customers Very late service forgotten courses and missing Yorkshire Puddings with no explanation! They had a deal on but that was no excuse for the unprofessional mess! Disappointed. Certainly won't be risking Mothers Day there!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisenken
Beata S, General Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Apologies that you had a bad experience here, I can assure you this is not our usual standards. If you wish to discuss this with us please do email 6434@greeneking.co.uk.

Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Myself and my partner went hear this evening and sampled the lovely valentines menu . Right from the of we was welcomed by a very polite lady who showed us to our table , the 2 servers we had during the evening were very polite, attentive and well mannered , Connie and Jenny couldn't we couldn't fault . The food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank isla W
Beata S, General Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments! I am glad you enjoyed your experience here at The Cromwell, I will pass your compliments on to Jenny & Connie. We look forward to seeing you here again soon.

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.1 km away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
3.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
5.4 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
417 reviews
9.0 km away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range: $100 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury
Cromwell Lodge Banbury, UK - England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cromwell Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Marlow, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Cromwell Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go somewhere else”
margaretandmikes, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Only saw our room!”
del316, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 3 - noise from generators/fans”
WLT83, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms available for those with mobility issues who cannot manage stairs.”
patw523, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the room over the function room or bar”
41lesg, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5