We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cromwell Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cromwell Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

521 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cromwell Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 518: English reviews
Purley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Stayed one night on business. Asked for quiet room but placed in one that fronted onto a busy main road, from which the noise most of the night kept me awake. Whilst room was reasonable size and bed comfortable, there was no shower only an inadequate handheld attachment to bath taps. In addition, there was absolutely no hot water. Logging...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 123Cliff
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at The Cromwell Lodge. Apologies that you were placed in a room not to your requirement, by all means you could have come and requested to move rooms which we would have happily done for you. We hope we can welcome you back in the future to possibly restore your...

Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2015

Friendly attentive staff. Nothing too much trouble. Only had breakfast but that was good. Excellent and genuine Thai restaurant over the road. Good parking, pleasant garden. If you are staying overnight in Banbury this is good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sussexchris123
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your visit with us at The Cromwell Lodge. We are pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast as this is something that we pride ourselves on. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Irvine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2015

great value £45 for b/b (booking .com) good location as we were travelling back to BONNY SCOTLAND from Portsmouth only 10 minutes from m40. it is an old building with squeaky floor boards and in need of some update but don't let put you off, nice clean room we ordered room service as we arrived late could not fault, very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john p
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us at The Cromwell Lodge. We are pleased your stay with us was an enjoyable one. Sorry about the squeaky floorboards, as we are an old building, we believe these add character to our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thatcham
Reviewed 22 June 2015

We have just returned from staying at this hotel for the weekend as we were attending a family wedding in Banbury. They made our stay very pleasurable, the room was lovely with views to the garden and very clean, lovely bathroom, great shower and large towels. We arrived on Friday afternoon to be greeted at reception by Beata the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marsdens39
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely and kind comments about your stay here at The Cromwell Lodge. Really pleased that we were able to make your stay pleasurable. We pride ourselves on our breakfasts so glad that you found this a nice treat! I shall pass on all your comments to the staff who will be over-joyed to hear that there...

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2015

I recently dined with my family at The Cromwell Lodge, other members of my family have previously stayed and have always had great comments to say about the place so we thought we'd try it out. I can now understand why they rave about it so much. The service was fantastic, every member of staff that we saw was friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments about your stay with us at The Cromwell Lodge. We are pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience and that you found our food gorgeous! I shall pass on your comments to the rest of the team. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015

I stayed over whilst visiting family in Banbury recently. Perfect location in town, hotel is dated but as it's an old English inn, this is to be expected and I find adds tons of character to the place. We had dinner in the restaurant and was served by lovely staff who were efficient and really friendly. Food was lovely and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryan S
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay with us here at The Cromwell. Pleased your whole experience with us was an enjoyable one. I shall pass on your comments to the rest of the team who will be glad there service is up to standard. We pride ourselves on our breakfasts so glad yours was lovely also. We...

Camberley
Reviewed 17 June 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night to attend a funeral. Not many hotels provide single rooms at single rates. This one does. The room was fine, although the en-suite showed signs of needing decorating. The basin plug didn't work. The service in the bar and restaurant was excellent and they made me feel really welcome. The burger was good with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us at The Cromwell. Apologies that the plug in your room didn't work, I shall pass the message on and get that looked at. Pleased your dining experience was a welcoming one, I will pass on your kind comments to the team who will be glad there service is up...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2015

I stayed here on a recent business trip, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was great and the bar had a good selection of gins, Unfortunately the room was poor, the street is very noisy, the window didn't shut properly and every time a person in an adjoining room went to the toilet or showered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our staff and Management team, we are very proud of them. We are so pleased you enjoyed your breakfasts, it is certainly one of the things we pride ourselves on. We apologise that you found the hotel noisy, as we are a town centre hotel, traffic noise is unavoidable. We really...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2015

For £50 a night this would be bearable. At £100, it's pretty dreadful value. All a bit tatty with a broken iron, damaged lampshade, kicked paintwork, windows - street side - that won't close properly. The list goes on. And then a shower that you can't stand up in (I'm tall, but not freakishly tall!). Small towels. No shampoo. It’s...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent visit to the Cromwell Lodge, all feedback is invaluable to us to ensure that we are always meeting the standards of you, the customer. We apologise for the experience you had and have taken your comments on board and will be addressing these to the kitchen. We hope...

Thisted, Denmark
Reviewed 4 June 2015

The place looked tacky stepping into the place. Polite service and a token for the parking. The room was a superior, but was very small, and the windows could not close. Had to use all the towels around the window to restrain the draught. £ 120 for a small tired room with windows that could not close! The food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Klavsen
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time and giving us your feedback. We are sorry you didn't find everything to your satisfaction. It is shame we did not have opportunity to resolve the issue at the time so you could have had a different experience with us.

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.1 km away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
3.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
5.4 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
418 reviews
9.0 km away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range: $100 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury
Cromwell Lodge Banbury, UK - England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cromwell Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Marlow, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Cromwell Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go somewhere else”
margaretandmikes, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Only saw our room!”
del316, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 3 - noise from generators/fans”
WLT83, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms available for those with mobility issues who cannot manage stairs.”
patw523, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the room over the function room or bar”
41lesg, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5