We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

651 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 641: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was excellent, spacious and very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the girl on reception. A very comfortable stay. The only downside was the food, which I'd describe as over priced school dinners, eat elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Markandkai
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I am disappointed to read your comments regarding the food and will discuss this with the chef when we next review our menu's. I am pleased however that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and I hope you will consider staying at the hotel again in the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed there over the weekend, everything was well presented however the heating in our room was broken and permanently switched to max. Made several complaints, but nothing could be done then at 1130pm they offer to move us across the road. We didn't move as already unpacked! Had a terrible night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sv3rma
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for the issues that you encountered. I hope that if you are in the area again you would consider staying with us again to allow us the opportunity to show you a superior experience than your previous one.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my family used the function room for a family party in the evening. We stayed over for one night the room was clean and welcoming. The room can be noisy in the morning hearing people walking above, the walls are quite thin other than that it was a lovely stay. Breakfast was lovely and hot enjoyed the food....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phylicia B
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast in particular. Please accept my apologies for the leisure facilities, these are issues that we are currently working to address. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good location for access. Friendly service on arrival but no offer to take luggage up to room and as our room was up several flights of stairs this proved disappointing. Room decor dated. Shower appaling, choice of a luke warm dribble or a freezing shower. No double glazing and next to very busy main road so lots of traffic noise....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave reviews. Please accept my apologies that you were not offered assistance with your luggage, this is a standard that should be offered to all guests, I have spoken to all of the reception team regarding this standard. I have asked the maintenance team to look at the shower and see if improvements...

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff were very friendly & helpful. We had a lovely quiet room. We met up with family & made good use of the heated indoor pool. Hotel in need of some TLC & updating but could not fault the service or the food.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pkholl1whist
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review, I am pleased that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I will pass on your comments to all of the team and I hope that you will return to the hotel again in the future.

Kingston-upon-Hull, England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is nice. There is no lift. We stayed for one night and the staff were lovely even helping us the following morning with our breakfast as my husband couldn't walk very well. Bathroom nice towel rail was heated so a nice bonus. They have signs in the car park near the reception entrance for lady drivers to park...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie1111111
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am please that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be helpful. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So much to agree with other reviewers on the small points. Yes, heating hit and miss, TV reception in room poor (Doris blamed!), wi-fi poor, tired in some respects, much being of 60s/70s origin. However, spotlessly clean, staff really keen to help, comfortable with a good breakfast. Has a pool and leisure facility which looked OK although we didn't find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm F
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel and found the staff to be helpful. I hope that if you are in Wolverhampton again in the future you would choose to stay her at the hotel again.

Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although the staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel is looking very tiered inside. My hand basin was cracked, the floor tiles were cracked and the bath had lost its enamel in places. The room cost me £55 B&B so good value but was in a rabbit warren and would imagine anyone that suffers from claustrophobia would struggle. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve-Karen-Bunyan
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful along with good value for money. We replace items such as cracked basins as quickly as possible, please accept my apologies that the one in your room has not yet been replaced. I hope that we will be able to welcome you...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Mercure Goldthorn Hotel for one night. On arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome by reception, check in was quick and easy. Our room was lovely, very clean and comfortable. We did have a problem with the television, however, this was rectified within minutes. We cant comment on the food at this hotel as we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnanMatt
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel, we do prefer guests to raise any issues with us during their stay so that we have the opportunity to fix them or offer an alternative, I am pleased that we were able to resolve the issue with...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights as working in the area. Arrived to find plenty of free parking which is a good start. Lovely polite people on reception sorted my room details very efficiently, after spending my first night in the main hotel i was moved to the business annex as the noise from the restaurant extraction system was pretty bad from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephen j
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel and found the staff to be polite and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wolverhampton hotels
1.5 km away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#7 of 20 in Wolverhampton
837 reviews
1.6 km away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#5 of 20 in Wolverhampton
851 reviews
3.6 km away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 20 in Wolverhampton
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
A Park View Hotel
A Park View Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wolverhampton
320 reviews
0.8 km away
Barons Court Hotel
Barons Court Hotel
#2 of 20 in Wolverhampton
423 reviews
1.5 km away
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
#15 of 20 in Wolverhampton
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Within easy reach of M6/M54/M5 and NEC, the Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel offers some pleasant surprises. With original features throughout the bar area and a contemporary restaurant, the hotel provides an excellent setting from which to base your visit to the Midlands. There is also the opportunity to upgrade to one of six, four poster rooms, besides the other 76 well appointed en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

Address: 126 Penn Road, Wolverhampton WV3 0ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Price Range: $72 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goldthorn Hotel Leisure
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Langport, United Kingdom
6 months ago
over a year ago
Birmingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have mobility difficulties stay elsewhere, as there are no lifts and the corridors are narrow.”
 of 5 bubbles Markandkai, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at back are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles pkholl1whist, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in Business Centre quiet but located away from main block across car park”
 of 5 bubbles malcolmf15, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Ourpetunia, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“room 76 on rear corner, duel aspect and no road noise. Others did comment that road could be heard from front rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles mumma-hobbs, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5