Buxted Park Hotel

Buxted Park Hotel

Traveller (982)
Room & Suite (130)
Dining (127)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 4 hotels in Uckfield
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
In the heart of Sussex, this magnificent Georgian Palladian mansion is set in 312 acres of superb parkland yet conveniently located only 24 miles from Gatwick Airport and 60 miles from Heathrow, with easy access to the M25 and London. The parkland features three lakes and is a site of Special Scientific Interest, a real feature for walkers and orienteers with walking maps available from reception.All of the guest bedrooms are finished to the highest standard with flat screen TV, DVD player and complimentary high speed internet. Feature rooms and suites have been carefully designed to blend Georgian styling with today's more contemporary comforts. A small fitness room is located in the hotel and in addition, guests are able to workout in the comfort and privacy of their hotel bedrooms with gym and yoga bags.The Dining Room has become a food destination accredited with 2 AA rosettes recognising the high standards of cuisine and offering the finest in regional produce and seasonal flavours. Regular special culinary events are held each month featuring gourmet, tribute and interactive experiences such as Cookery School. Enjoy nearby places of interest such as Brighton and Eastbourne only 20 miles away, Tunbridge Wells, Haywards Heath, East Grinstead and Lewes all on the hotel’s doorstep. Local attractions include Battle Abbey, Penshurst Place & Gardens, Seven Sisters, Sheffield Park Gardens and Bluebell Railway.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Game room
Fishing
Books, DVDs, music for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Electric vehicle charging station
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Board games / puzzles
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles2,144 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled amidst beautiful grounds, Buxted Park Hotel emerges as a top choice for its warm and lively atmosphere, complemented by elegant music and decor. Attentive and friendly staff deliver exceptional service, amplifying the charm of this elegant retreat. Immaculate cleanliness is a standout feature, with travelers often noting the sparkling facilities. With amenities such as sumptuous afternoon teas and spacious rooms that offer stunning views, guests believe they receive great value. The excellent food and wine further enhance the hotel's reputation for providing a memorable and comfortable stay.
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Outstanding

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
2,144Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,598
  • 346
  • 123
  • 53
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Pam S wrote a review Sep 2020
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After the disappointment of having to cancel our Golden Wedding celebrations in May at Buxted Park we finally got the opportunity to return to this beautiful hotel where the welcome is always so warm and the staff go the extra mile to make sure your stay is exceptional for a small celebration.
Upon arrival our temperature was taken and we were advised of the hotels policy on safety precautions, everything was spotlessly clean and and the staff continued to sanitise and clean in every area of the hotel which was very reassuring our rooms was serviced daily with the extra touches Like toiletries wrapped for our safety.

We are are always struck by how well the staff work together their efficiency does them credit , and they take the time to chat to guests making them feel special and very much at home .
Marc Desseaux is charming and goes the extra mile to make sure your stay is special and we thank him and his colleagues for the exceptional standard of the hospitality we received, there was nothing left undone .
Our evening meals were excellent and the choice even though it was a reduced menu was superb.
Buxted Park is our happy place and we always feel like we have returned home when we walk through the door , this is not only due to the beautiful setting , grounds and hotel , it’s about the friendly warm welcome everyone receives .
Thank you once again our Buxted Park family we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The garden rooms are lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Catherine Benford, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel
Responded Sep 7, 2020
Dear Sam, I am thrilled to read that you had such a lovely stay at the hotel for your belated anniversary stay and that the team looked after you so well. The team have taken the safety of our guests and the team seriously and ensure that every precaution is taken. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Catherine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
arthur@familyroberts.org.uk wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went for a well deserved break & weren't disappointed . we were made so welcome on arrival ( Thanks Andrea) ; room was up to usual standard ( very comfortable) and evening dining was a pleasure ( Thanks Jean & rest of restaurant staff) as was breakfast the next day . We also indulged ourselves with an afternoon cream tea , which was well printed and very good value .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: rooms overlooking garden are quieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CatherineBenford, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel
Responded Feb 7, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Buxted Park. I am delighted that your stay was worthy of praise in all aspects and I have shared these very positive ratings with all of the team here. May I thank you once again for your time and trouble. I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Buxted Park very soon. Warm regards, Catherine Catherine Benford Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
harrfin wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From arrival to departure everything was faultless. The hotel and grounds are stunning. Plenty of space in the car park when we arrived, easy check-in and up to our room. We had booked through a promotion with complimentary room upgrade. We were delighted with our immaculate and spacious room with a view and full bathroom including a separate shower and free standing bath.
The room was perfectly quiet, the mattress and linen were superb and the thick, luxurious curtains ensured it was dark. We had a perfect night's sleep.
We enjoyed a 5 course meal in the restaurant and a delicious breakfast with plenty of choices in the morning. The staff were amazing. Not too formal but friendly and respectful throughout our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CatherineBenford, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel
Responded Feb 7, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Buxted Park. I am delighted that your stay was worthy of praise in all aspects and I have shared these very positive reviews with all of the team here. May I thank you once again for your time and trouble. I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Buxted Park very soon. Warm regards, Catherine Catherine Benford Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jax057 wrote a review Feb 2020
Plumpton Green, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently had a post funeral buffet lunch for about 40 people here. At £25 per head we would have expected a lot more attention to detail and most certainly better quality food. There was a pile of pork pies (no mustard or chutneys offered), large unappetising looking sandwiches, slices of cold pizza and a platter of sausage rolls. The sausage rolls were clearly bought in, probably a budget line, and served straight from the packet, clearly no-one could be bothered to heat them. There were no labels on any of the plates of sandwiches or pizza to indicate whether or not they were suitable for vegetarians.
there was a complete lack of finesse with food more suited to a building site than a light lunch in a hotel. The wine, charged separately and a mid-priced red, was poor. Maybe we were just unlucky but we felt very let down.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Catherine Benford, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel
Responded Feb 26, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. We have tried to investigate your event at the hotel and cannot work out when your event was, please can I ask you to contact me directly on cbenford@handpicked.co.uk so that we can discuss the event further as we never want guests to leave unhappy. Kind regards, Catherine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
michie40 wrote a review Jan 2020
london
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed on the Winter 30% off deal which presented amazing value of bed, breakfast and 5 course dinner. As I'd booked during a promo there was special extra complimentary serving of a cream tea and an option to pair wines with the dinner at an additional promo cost.

This all presented incredible value and the service I received was first class at all levels.

All the staff were super friendly and the right level of being attentive.. I was a solo traveller on a pre birthday break and the added touch of written cards in my room and at my dinner table was lovely. A beautifully written happy birthday with truffles came at the end of the dinner which was very thoughtful.

Special mentions to Emma, Tom, Rob and Marc - thank you! I hope to return and I highly recommend this beautiful house with an interesting history.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: I had an Executive room on an amazing promo deal which presented excellent value for money....
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CatherineBenford, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel
Responded Feb 7, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Buxted Park. I am delighted that your birthday stay was worthy of praise in all aspects and I have shared these very positive comments with all of the team here. May I thank you once again for your time and trouble. I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Buxted Park very soon. Warm regards, Catherine Catherine Benford Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Catherine D wrote a review Nov 2020
Watford, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent two nights at Buxted Park to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary, we stayed in the Winston Churchill Suite which was an amazing room and huge beautiful bathroom, we paid for the Romantic package which included a tasting meal with pairing wines on the first night and a champagne afternoon tea the following day.
From the time we arrived at the hotel to the time we left you couldn’t fault the service, food or ambiance. Even with this difficult time with COVID restrictions we felt save and well looked after. All the staff where so friendly and attentive even with the news while we where there of a further closure of this lovely hotel. We hope to return one day and wish them all the best for the re-opening in December as it isn’t often you find such a lovely place and staff.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Catherine Benford, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel
Responded Nov 5, 2020
Congratulations on your wedding anniversary. Thank you for your amazing review, we were delighted to look after you. We look forward to welcoming you back once we re-open in December. Stay safe Catherine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Meg H wrote a review Nov 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the best service me and my family have ever experienced.

We arrived on a whim for a Sunday lunch booking, with afternoon tea where we were welcomed and booked in by the friendly staff. Then personally looked after by Marc the food and beverage manager and Sergi the Mixologist.

We were blown away today. Marc’s customer service is the best we’ve ever experienced, he personally interacted with our daughter, kept her included in the conversation while spoiling her with treats and goodies. Everyone in the room was having such a great time, he was so entertaining and friendly!

After our meal Marc took the time to show us around the hotel, he even gave us a guided tour of the premium suites, One of which has a Narnia style wardrobe leading to the bathroom (amazing!!!). We were also lucky enough to get a glimpse of the cinema room and the Christmas room which was an added bonus!

Sergi is an excellent mixologist, with his own unique style, he made us a cocktail after our dinner which was like Christmas in a glass. Delicious!

We are currently planning our next trip to stay, have some more of Sergi’s cocktails and a cosy cinema evening. Can’t wait!

A huge thank you to Marc and Sergi for giving us an unforgettable day at Buxted Park, looking forward to seeing you all again very soon!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Catherine Benford, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel
Responded Nov 5, 2020
Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to read how well the team looked after you and your family during your recent Sunday lunch visit. Marc and Serg do have unique styles in looking after guests and making them feel special. I hope we can welcome you all back soon. Kind regards, Catherine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pam S wrote a review Apr 2022
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from a three day stay at Buxted Park , a jewel of a hotel set in acres of beautiful parkland in Sussex , and although the weather was very cold with flurry’s of snow we are always assured of a warm welcome on our arrival by the efficient receptionist staff who showed us to our room which overlooked the beautiful gardens , very well appointed and spotlessly clean .
We are always struck by the efficacy and friendliness of the team at Buxted who have a real heart for hospitality and making their guests feel very much at home .
Rob made us some excellent cocktails during our stay and the champagne afternoon tea was served in front of a roaring log fire by the most personable Marc Desseaux who knows how important it is to make guests feel valued .
The evening meals were fabulous I chose the soufflé and venison and the fusion of flavors were put together so well by the chef and served to us by Paul .
Thank you to the Buxted family for looking after us so well , it truly is our pleasure to have been back with you again and we look forward already to our next visit .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Garden rooms are lovely .
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Catherine Benford, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel
Responded Apr 6, 2022
Dear Pam S, Thank you for taking the time for writing your review on your recent stay at Buxted Park Hotel. The team always try to create memorable experiences for our guests and I am delighted to read that the team did this during your stay. I hope that we can welcome you back very soon. Kind regards, Catherine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrea B wrote a review Jan 2020
Brighton, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this hotel as part of a Sunday night special offer. Cream tea , a contribution towards dinner , bed and breakfast.
Our room was lovely and spacious, the cream tea was delicious with a good choice of teas to choose from. At dinner we were informed that they are changing the menu tomorrow so we could order above our allocated £35 each for no extra charge. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. I was presented with an extra treat for my birthday . Breakfast had plenty of choices and again the customer service was excellent. I like to give a special shout out to Liam and his timely arrival of a glass of water.
Overall we really felt looked after and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CatherineBenford, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel
Responded Jan 8, 2020
Dear 513AndreaB513, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Buxted Park. I am delighted that your stay was worthy of praise in all aspects and I have shared these very positive ratings with all of the team here. May I thank you once again for your time and trouble. I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Buxted Park very soon. Warm regards, Catherine Catherine Benford Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hicksterg wrote a review Sep 2021
Crowborough, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I accompanied by friends spent an Italian themed opera evening at Buxted Park Hotel last night.

The Orangery was chosen as the location which looked splendid as did the long table which had been professionally laid and decorated. The menu for the evening was superb as was the wine produced by Villa Saletta which accompanied each course. Anthony Flaum a relatively local opera singer provided the entertainment for the evening,
an exceptionally talented lyric tenor.

Marc Desseaux, Jean Francois, and the Buxted Park team ensured the evening was enjoyed by all with their efficiency
and friendly humour, My Wife and I are regulars at Buxted Park we can thoroughly recommend the hotel to others without hesitation
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joyce B asked a question Aug 2020
Heathfield, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
what is the price of afternoon tea for a party of around 10 ?
Answer from Catherine Benford
1 helpful vote
Afternoon tea is charged at £24.50 per person.
Derek T asked a question Nov 2019
Grazeley, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi. Is there a gym on site?
Answer from Russell T
Preston, United Kingdom43 contributions19 helpful votes
Not to my knowledge - not even a swimming pool. However the walks in the surrounding parlkand kept me adequately exercised.
Answer from Andrew_Oxby
Fawkham, United Kingdom
HI, the hotel does have z-beds (foldaway beds) and also sofa beds available in some of the rooms. Please do call the hotel direct who can assist further.
Answer from Andrew_Oxby
Fawkham, United Kingdom
Many thanks for your question. The Fitness room at the hotel includes a running machine, bike, rowing machine and bench presser. The grounds also have some fantastic running and jogging routes. Should you have any further queries please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Answer from Ada552014
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom89 contributions41 helpful votes
No, they did away with the pol some time ago.
clappers34 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Ashford, United Kingdom69 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel even provide wellie boots for walks around the estate"
Read full review
hende1 wrote a tip Nov 2023
Canterbury, United Kingdom75 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure this is on your list to visit you will not be disappointed "
Read full review
Stephen J wrote a tip Nov 2023
Crawley, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't hesitate, a first class hotel in a beautiful setting"
Read full review
Pam Sterry wrote a tip Oct 2023
4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This hotel has so many positives it’s hard to,choose one ."
Read full review
Wanderer633408 wrote a tip Oct 2023
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lovely cocktails to try out too"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Uckfield area.
PRICE RANGE
C$285 - C$380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
buxted park hotel, hotel buxted park, buxted park uckfield, buxted country house park, buxted hotel park uckfield, buxted park country house
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast SussexUckfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Buxted Park Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Buxted Park Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Buxted Park Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Sheffield Park And Garden (6.7 km), Wilderness Wood (5.1 km), and Northall Clay Pigeon Club (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Buxted Park Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Buxted Park Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Buxted Park Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Buxted Park Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Buxted Park Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Amira's Kitchen, The Buxted Inn, and The Foresters Arms Fairwarp.
Are any cleaning services offered at Buxted Park Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Buxted Park Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Buxted Park Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Buxted Park Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Southover Grange Gardens (14.8 km), Standen (15.9 km), and Michelham Priory House & Gardens (15.3 km).
Does Buxted Park Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
All Uckfield HotelsUckfield Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in UckfieldHotels near Buxted Park Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars