We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Chase Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Chase Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

437 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Chase Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 436: English reviews
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Old fashioned hotel which needs a bit of TLC in the decor department. Its very clean and tidy but except in the restaurant it is very 1950's. In fact some of the furniture belongs in a care home. The bedrooms are huge, warm and the bathrooms well fitted so the hotels is really a game of two different halves. The...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank David L
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write both of your reviews. I must say when I first read your review I thought you must have the wrong hotel! We often get so much praise (including numerous comments here on Tripadvisor) for our wonderful staff. It is great however to hear you found your bedroom “huge and warm, with a...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2015

the room was good comfortable and very clean. I thought that evening menu was fairly limited and as is usual these days fairly expensive compared to good restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast would have been ok if it had arrived within 30 minutes of us sitting down in the restaurant.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevecot
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is pleasing to hear you found your bedroom ‘good, comfortable and clean’ – Housekeeping work hard and I’m sure will be pleased to read your feedback. I was somewhat surprised to read that you found the menu fairly limited. We have 20 different main courses to choose from and often daily specials adding to...

North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

Pleasant location, room clean but a bit dated really for the money, especially the bathroom. Noisy at the back of the hotel. Could have been the fans from the kitchen I think. Meal very good and plenty of choice for breakfast. Very busy and bustling hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DilB66
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I’m glad you enjoyed your meals in Harrys Restaurant. Some of our standard rooms do overlook the kitchen fans which may well be what you had heard. I hope that they didn’t disturb you too much – we try to turn them off as early as possible in the evening...

Kidderminster
Reviewed 1 November 2015

Great location, just a few hundred yards from the centre of Ross on Wye. Perfect for ease of enjoying the shops, restaurants and pubs but due to the grounds of the hotel it is perfectly quiet. A beautiful building with welcoming staff and comfortable rooms but the jewel in its crown is Harry's restaurant on site. Quite simply the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsc266
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review on our Tripadvisor page. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal in Harry’s restaurant and I’m sure the food and beverage team will be thrilled too. We think the recent bad weather may have affected the TV signals and the WiFi is all up and running again. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your...

Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Chase on the 24th of October and I was delighted with the service and attitude of staff. The room was lovely and overlooked the hotels grounds.comfortable bed. I asked for flowers to be put in the room and when we arrived they were fresh and vibrant. We ate in Harry's restaurant and being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank a m
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us such an excellent review. I know working in the hospitality industry means you have high standards and I’m pleased we exceeded your expectations. I’m sure the Kitchen team will be particularly pleased to read your review. Its pleasing to hear you would recommend us and I hope we can welcome you...

Blaina
Reviewed 24 October 2015

We stayed here for one night for a function. On arrival there is a large car park and pleasant grounds. A large entrance hall with very helpful reception staff who made booking in very easy. The rooms are located on the first and second floor, but we didn't notice any lift but a large sweeping staircase. The bar and lounge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 243Peter_H
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Our bars stock both local ales and local ciders and I’m glad you find our prices reasonable. We have good powerful showers in all our bedrooms and I’m pleased you liked them. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will see you again at the...

Thornbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2015

A party of 19 of us stayed at The Chase last weekend. The staff were friendly ,attentive and professional. Homemade biscuits with coffee on arrival. The rooms allocated were lovely, well decorated and comfortable. We all ate together on 2 tables and the food was superb. It was a great weekend appreciated by all and we would certainly return. Ross...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank muenchener1950
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a wonderful review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our homemade shortbread is made fresh everyday and quite popular. I’m glad you enjoyed it. It is gratifying to hear you would return and I’m sure the whole team would be happy to have you back. Kind regards

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2015

We had a Team Celebration of 17 people who stayed DBB. The reports back have all been positive. The meals were very good and all served piping hot which is a feat in itself with 17 mouths to feed. The rooms were all good and very clean. Everyone has said they thoroughly enjoyed their overnight stay following a great afternoon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for contributing to our Tripadvisor page. It’s great to hear you all enjoyed your stay. The team will be pleased to hear your feedback. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Chase Hotel sometime soon. Kind regards

Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2015

The setting is very nice, we paid extra for the superior room (with a view) which was quite small but nice. The TV was also small and not wall mounted which made it hard to see from bed. Shower was awesome. Staff were very good and breakfast was very good also. It would have scored a good 4 however when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trollking
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It’s good to hear that for the most part you enjoyed your stay. We go to great lengths to try and contact each guest before they arrive to inform them of any functions that may be noisy. Unfortunately it would appear that on this occasion we were unable to...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Very pleased when we arrived - staff polite throughout and a beautiful entrance hall. The room was okay - clean and functional (lovely hot water in the bathroom and welcome biscuits with the tea tray though). The corridors are a bit gloomy; this made it feel more like a three star than a four star hotel. It reminded me of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allisonowenjones
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review. I'm pleased that for the most part you have enjoyed your stay. It’s nice that you think we are a Four star hotel however I should mention that The Chase Hotel is a Three star hotel. It’s good to hear the staff looked after you well in the Restaurant. Please accept my apologies if...

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Chase Hotel in Ross-on-Wye is a Georgian Country house hotel set in 11 acres of parkland surrounded by stunning countryside. The hotel has been refurbished to reflect an up to date feel which blends sympathetically and seamlessly with the period charm and features of the building, enabling guests to relax and enjoy their stay in comfort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Chase Hotel

Address: Gloucester Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $147 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Ross On Wye
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Chase Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Gloucester, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Mevagissey, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Mevagissey, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Chase Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the back”
AnnskyDoodle, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one big enough to swing a cat in.”
1KBob, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We chose room 5 executive suite”
Piusbaines, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“negotiate for a real Superior room”
763miket, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room with a 4 poster - big and comfortable”
colinallum, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5