We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The King's Head Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The King\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

336 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The King's Head Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 335: English reviews
Gwent
Reviewed 17 October 2015

room was very comfortable. not very disabled friendly, but it is a very old building. Restaurant was very good. a very high standard of food. 2 firsts for me, Cassoulet and Fondant potatoes. my wife had Haddock and it was beautiful. also pleased with the staff who were very helpful and fiendly. well worth a stay, good prices too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neil_ruth
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

This was a great find! We just wanted a small meal so ordered a couple of starters and wished we had ordered more! We ordered just as service was closing for lunch but the staff were more than happy to take our order. The chicken and mushroom risotto was amazing and my husband had a beautiful soup of the day....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Billie C
Leicester
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Another visit to this lovely old hotel, located slap bang in the middle of Ross. Great room, number 5. Wonderful dinner, cooked to perfection. We shared starter of smoked haddock and potato tureen with pea shoots and pickled cucumber...delicious flavour, especially the pea shoots which I will definitely be growing next year! My main was pan fried bream with masala...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClareandChris
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2015

What a lovely Hotel, we stayed for 2 nights and were amazed, lovely room on the second floor, stairs keep you fit! Superb restaurant with good choice of freshly prepared food and locally sourced as well. Good choice for breakfast as well. All staff were friendly, smiling & helpful. Good place to explore locally and for walking. The front does...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy B
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2015

We were returning from Wales on a Sunday and decided to stay at our favourite hotel in Ross on Wye. The Sunday night deal is fantastic value, the food is great and the rooms are lovely - we prefer Room 6, plenty of space, huge bed and modern bathroom. We were not disappointed, the food and service were excellent. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patdavidroberts
Reviewed 1 October 2015

We enjoyed 3 nights in room 16, a large comfortable bed and quiet, probably helped as it was at the back of the hotel. The hotel is well located and it was a good base to explore the area. The private parking for the hotel was good, so I had no worries about the car at night. Staff all very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William M
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Hotel is quaint, rooms are quirky because they follow the old building lines and floors. Beds and appointments very comfortable. Restaurant and bar and service great. We would stay there again, great value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EdEllis
lautrecs99, Owner at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are all delighted you enjoyed your short stay in the King's Head. We do try to other great value in both our rooms, our restaurant and bar. Presumably the average rating score you left, as it doesn't reflect the positive comments you made, was a mistake, which is a...

Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2015

Plenty of parking albeit a bit tight to get to if you have a big 4x4. The hotel was very clean. The young staff were excellent and were a pleasure. The hotel restaurant was also excellent and with the food standard being high. Also has a very nice lounge and a separate bar. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Doug W
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2015

We stayed at the KH for a three night break and were very pleased with the hotel and service received. Let me first say if you like newly built hotels this is not for you the building must be a few hundred years old but the interior has been well decorated without loosing character. There is no lift and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alan h
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2015

Fantastic hotel for a short break. Its a very old historic hotel that has been nicely modernised. The rooms are big and the beds comfy.the restaurant is excellent and the bar friendly. It is right in the middle town so convenient for everything

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garry G
lautrecs99, Owner at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such positive comments, we are really pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
983 reviews
3.9 km away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
446 reviews
1.0 km away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
538 reviews
0.7 km away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#10 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
141 reviews
1.2 km away
Orles Barn Hotel
Orles Barn Hotel
#8 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Kings Head Hotel Restaurant
Kings Head Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, European, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Historic hotel in the centre of the market town of Ross on Wye. Ideal location for Cardiff, Cheltenham or visiting the Wye Valley, Excellent restaurant using market fresh ingredients, local real ales, friendly popular bar. Free wi-fi, and free car park to residents. All rooms on first and second floor, a listed building with old oak beams and stone fireplaces. There is no elevator. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The King's Head Hotel

Address: 8 High Street | Herefordshire, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $122 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The King's Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The King's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The King's Head Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Gourdon, France
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The King's Head Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 3 had a nice modern bathroom with walk-in shower”
  • View from room 3
  • Room 3
  • Room 3
  • Room 3
  • Room 3
  • Room 3
  • Room 3
 of 5 bubbles Londontraveller008, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Be aware of steep and winding stairs”
 of 5 bubbles shropshiremarra, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for a standard room - they are on the second floor and away from any noise downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles ValtteriKnelstrom, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Lower floors if difficulty walking up stairs”
 of 5 bubbles VickieK598, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles jennyc347, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay