We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old Court Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Old Court Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

420 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Old Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 418: English reviews
Barmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We stayed as a couple at The Old Court for three nights earlier this week. Our room was described as 'feature', for which we paid an additional £5 per night. The bathroom 'featured' a black ring around the bottom of the lavatory pan, mouldy grouting and broken sealant. There did not appear to be an extractor fan and the non-matching...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank daisy739
Victoria S, Owner at The Old Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review which I read and take on board. I agree that the room which you stayed in does have a dated bathroom. As a privately owned hotel we are in the middle of refurbishment of all our bathrooms. We have completed 10 and still have 9 to do. I am sorry that due to how dated...

Reviewed 2 October 2016

I've been back here over and over the service is great and the portions are massive. Never leave hungry. The hotel is beautiful in the summer out in the garden terrace or in winter with the open fires. Thanks for another great meal And time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank millieconstance
Lichfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We visited here twice for dinner as it was in walking distance of where we were staying and dog friendly. The first night our food was average, I had the chilli chicken noodles which at £11.50 I felt was over priced for a few noodles and chicken in a chilli sauce my partner had the home made steak pie, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
Victoria S, Owner at The Old Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you decided to try us again. I am sorry you weren't "wowed" by our food on your first visit but glad we managed to keep you happy second time around. I hope you will come back if you are ever in the area again.

Stockton on Tees
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Dogs allowed outside and in the conservatory. Extensive seating area outside. We were outside at first with our dog but moved inside before our food came. We had Sunday roast which was really very good, lovely thick gravy too, great selection of veg. We had two courses for £15. For dessert we both had Banffoffee pie which was a large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen-9999
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We have stopped here on two separate occasions this year with groups of 15 and 34 and on both occasions we have enjoyed a first class breakfast in suitably sized rooms that were charming. A lovely lady took our orders for breakfast complete with some quirky requests from our difficult diet types. All were accommodated effortlessly. The hotel is charming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeH66
Malltraeth
Reviewed 15 September 2016

The Old Court Hotel is a beautiful historic building in a wonderful setting with lovely gardens. There was a warm family feeling about the place and the staff could not have been more helpful. The room, although a little small was clean, recently decorated and more than ample for our two night stay. The en-suite was well-appointed and spotlessly clean....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gregjohnstonkeay
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We found this place quite quirky and with friendly staff but only had a drink. We were going to order lunch even though it looked a tad expensive. But we were put off by a couple of ladies who complained about their food being "old and off", which did put us off ordering to be honest. We didn't stay overnight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThisIsMyOpinion2
Victoria S, Owner at The Old Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the atmosphere. We have rectified the issue with the toilet seat. Due to having in excess of 15,000 visitors in the last 16 weeks (all probably using the loos) we do have to keep on top of the seats! It is also on our list of "things to do" - refurbish the...

Gloucestershire
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Called in while looking around the area, The Bar area was quaint, and the conservatory was well set out, The Gardens were amazing, Shame the weather was awful We had Steak and Ale pie which was locally sourced, along with the wonderful coffee,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne K
Saundersfoot, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We visited a couple of years ago and as we where in the area recently decided to pop in again. Had dinner Saturday night and Sunday roast . Very tasty food hot fresh vegetables, very friendly helpful staff and it was a very bank holiday weekend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We got married at the old court 2 years ago and have decided to go back for our anniversary each year. We arrived earlier than check in so we had a drink in the garden as the sun was out. The garden was full of visitors enjoying the well looked after garden and children's play area. We ordered lunch at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fayecoley

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
5.1 km away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
456 reviews
8.2 km away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
343 reviews
8.1 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
504 reviews
7.6 km away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#10 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
142 reviews
8.3 km away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Old Court Hotel

Address: Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $118 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Court Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Court Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Chepstow, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Court Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in oldest part of the hotel very quaint”
 of 5 bubbles PantoBabe, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are excellent and each one is different”
 of 5 bubbles mgpardoe, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A wonderful rare English pub with excellent food and very attentive staff. A little gem.”
 of 5 bubbles 421jennyn, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book direct and specify your needs”
 of 5 bubbles gregjohnstonkeay, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay in hotel”
 of 5 bubbles L6438ORchrisb, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay