We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Wye Valley

14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
YHA Wye Valley
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 51: English reviews
Start your review of YHA Wye Valley
 Click to rate
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hostel located 2mi from Goodrich Castle on Welsh Bicknor. The staff are very friendly. The rooms and facilties and clean and well maintained. Dinner and breakfast are excellent, and they can prepare packed lunch too. There's camping area near the river too.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sw8511
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Absolutely outstanding. The staff could not have been more helpful and approachable; the children loved all their activities and the adventure of staying at the hostel; and the location is beautiful, especially with Goodrich Castle within walking distance. Fab!

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
Stuart C, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this review

Hi Jane, Thank you so much for your review. It's great to receive feedback on our residentials and activity packages. As you know there's lots to do at the hostel and in the surrounding area, we do our best to ensure your residential experience creates lasting memories. It was a pleasure having you all and we look forward to welcoming...

Lighwater
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

This is a great youth hostel, very clean and tidy, beautiful location in the valley. We stayed two nights with our Scout group and they could not be more helpful. Suzanne was an amazing host and nothing was too much trouble. The road down is a little hairy in a minibus but this is a minor detail. I would recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott E
Stuart C, General Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this review

Hi Scott, thank you so much for your review of YHA Wye Valley. We are glad you all enjoyed your stay. Suzanne said it was a pleasure having you all and we hope we can welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards YHA Wye Valley Team

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We stayed there for a night. The road leading to the hotel is bumpy and narrow. We stayed in Maple which was a 8-bed room. It was nice and clean. The pillows and blankets were good too. We had full breakfast in the hostel. We also did a trek to the nearby river. The hostel is in lovely location and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ranjan-MyTravelogue
Stuart C, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this review

Dear Ranjan, Thank you for your review of YHA Wye Valley. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. There is lots to explore around the hostel and in the wider area. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards YHA Wye Valley Team

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Clean, comfortable and great value. Long bumpy drive down to the hostel, and we were greeted by the cheery reception staff. Large communal areas for groups. Good location for local activities. We had the breakfast at the hotel, which was basic, but again good value. Small plate of cooked breakfast, plus unlimited toast, yogurts, cereals, croissants etc

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luke H
Stuart C, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this review

Hi Luke, Thank you for your review of YHA Wye Valley. We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay. We agree the driveway is a little uneven in places but the views once your here are well worth the trip. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind aregards YHA Wye Valley Team

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Clean and very welcoming. Excellent self catering kitchen facilities which we used for our evening meal and a great YHA breakfast served by a fantastically cheerful and helpful young woman- sorry didn't get her name but she deserves a special mention.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pvgard
Stuart C, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review of YHA Wye Valley. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the facilities. I'll be sure to pass on your thanks to the team. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards YHA Wye Valley Team

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Nice building, lovely setting on the Wye Valley Walk. It was really easy to get nice food and beers at short notice and the member of staff on duty couldn't do enough to help. Good facilities for drying dirty and wet gear.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank henrymclaughlin2000
Stuart C, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this review

Dear Henry, Thank you for your review of YHA Wye Valley. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind Regards YHA Wye Valley Team

Reviewed 25 September 2016

We stayed for 2 nights, after canoeing down the canal. Lovely little hostel, apart from the road leading down to it is tiny and horrible. All the staff were really nice and very happy to help us with anything. Didn't have any food from the hostel so can't comment. Did use the self catering kitchen and (although you had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph O
Stuart C, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this review

Hi Joseph, Thank you for your review of YHA Wye Valley. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, arriving by canoe is a great way to see the scenery and travel to us. I am glad the facilities were to your satisfaction, we've had a lot of work done over the summer to Improve the kitchen, dining room and other...

Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Another great trip to the Wye Valley YHA. The children had a great time with so much to do around the area. Stayed on a B & B basis with a good breakfast setting us all up for the day. The staff were friendly and helpful as always. The accommodation was ideal for our needs and the breakout areas very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
Stuart C, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this review

Hi Philip, Thank you for your review of YHA Wye Valley. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back next year. Kind Regards YHA Wye Valley Team

-
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Nice location in the countryside, but poor room facilities: Broken sink (therefore no water in the room) and a odd smell in the room (not really nice). WIFI access did work but many tries were needed to get it running

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank my_name_norbert_k
Stuart C, Manager at YHA Wye Valley, responded to this review

Hi Norbert, Thank you for your review of YHA Wye Valley. I apologise again for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay for the broken sink in your room. As we explained at check in it had only just happened over the bank holiday weekend and we were in the process of getting it replaced which we now have....

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ross-on-Wye
6.5 km away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
548 reviews
3.6 km away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
792 reviews
0.0 km away
YHA Eastbourne
YHA Eastbourne
#2 of 10 in Eastbourne
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
321.7 km away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#1 of 51 in Whitby
252 reviews
3.5 km away
The Saracens Head Inn
The Saracens Head Inn
#1 of 6 in Symonds Yat
537 reviews
3.7 km away
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
#1 of 4 in Symonds Yat
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about YHA Wye Valley

Address: | Goodrich village, Ross-on-Wye, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $41 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — YHA Wye Valley 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Wye Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from YHA Wye Valley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family rooms are cheaper than the others, same room.”
868josepho, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The bell tents are specious, well furnished and great value”
carah961, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“BYO tent, teepee's on site, There are dorms.”
rickyryan99, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“My room was on ground floor and was very quiet.”
Daphila, 10 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Ground floor of the annexe in the 8-bed was very nice.”
Wyche, 18 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Travelocity
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates