We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bedford Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Bedford Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bedford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 284: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2016

A clean and friendly hotel with helpful staff and fantastic food with an excellent choice of menu.Would certainly stay again for its convenient position for transport, shops and promenade..Just could do with a larger car park.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank derreta
bedford321, General Manager at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review Derreta, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay & our fantastic chefs meals. We also wish we could have a larger car park, but when these buildings went up, there was hardly any call for car parking. We can however fit 20 cars & there's always some space on the road side free...

Burnley
Reviewed 19 May 2016

We have just returned from an absolutely fabulous weekend at The Bedford Hotel. The food was delicious, the chef uses local produce and makes his own bread, the facilities are excellent and the Hotel is spotless. The staff are genuinely pleased to help and are very, very friendly, nothing is too much trouble. We will definitely be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Peter B
bedford321, General Manager at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your fabulous review Peter B, we very much look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed 2 May 2016

We were on a dancing break and the staff couldn't do more for us. The food was mostly excellent; we had the fish most nights. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choices and fresh fruit available. The waiting staff were clearly well-trained. The drinks weren't too expensive. We upgraded to a 'club class' room, so we had plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon S
bedford321, General Manager at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us Simon S, Good to hear you enjoyed your stay & our food, the club rooms are our largest rooms and can only be booked direct, a few of the standard rooms may be smaller but they are beautifully furnished & all the newly refurbished rooms are delightful & vary in size, always book direct to...

Denbigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2016

a very nice hotel with friendly staff, and a good location, like anywhere else you need the weather unfortunately we went in November, I have to say you will go a long way to better the food at the Bedford, it was simply gorgeous food. the rooms are basic, but adequate, I found it to be an hotel with elderly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brenda l
bedford321, General Manager at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Brenda, thanks for the review, great to hear you enjoyed your meals at the Bedford & the staff were friendly. We have three grades of rooms from standard, superior to club class, most of our standard rooms have been refurbished completely, take a look at our web site for the latest room photos. Call us direct for best prices...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

We had a 5night break at this family run hotel were all the staff go out of there way to provide a fantastic service we had a smaller room than usual so we could have a walk in shower I would recommend the front room superior or club which are fantastic The food is amazing and all local sourced it's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard J
bedford321, General Manager at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review

Pleased to hear you enjoyed your 5 night break with us & that you found our service fantastic & the food amazing. We try to please on room requests, you just need to ask. Hope to see you again soon. Thanks for the review.

Reviewed 17 April 2016

We have enjoyed a lovely mid-week break at the warm and welcoming Bedford Hotel, St.Annes-on-Sea. the staff are kind and helpful and the food is fantastic. Special mention of Tinker the African Grey who is part of the experience and charm of this delightful hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Guy B
bedford321, General Manager at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review

We really appreciate your feedback so are delighted to hear you enjoyed your mid-week break at the Bedford. Thank you so much.

Stratford on Avon
Reviewed 12 April 2016

My Husband and I have just spent 4 lovely nights at this smashing hotel. Being family owned really shows, the cleanliness, the friendly and welcoming staff, the lovely food, goes into making this one of the best hotels we have stayed in for a long time. Location is perfect, the bedrooms are all just lovely, we are already planning our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LindseyD1712
bedford321, General Manager at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your four night stay & very much appreciate taking the time to review the hotel on tripadvisor. To hear we are one of the best hotels you have stayed in for a long time is good enough for us. See you soon we hope.

Oundle
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Stayed for 4 days on our anniversary at the very welcoming Bedford Hotel. We found all the staff both day and night to be very friendly and helpful. Food was superb. A very comfortable, relaxing stay. Great dance floor / function room.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mr/Mrs T
bedford321, General Manager at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Mr & Mrs T, we are all happy that your anniversary holiday was a good one, nice to hear the staff were all friendly day & night & that you enjoyed the restaurant meals enough to rate our food superb, we hope to see you again soon.

west yorkshire
Reviewed 11 April 2016

I try to be scrupulously fair and consistent in all my reviews, so although I've only given The Bedford a 4*, I should say straight away that what stood out for us was the friendliness and attentiveness of all the staff, who were clearly - and not in a patronising or "over the top" way - always looking after the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PeteWM
bedford321, General Manager at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such an in depth review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We usually find that minor niggles can be ironed out if we know about them at the time. Spring is always a month of varied temperatures & heating should be adjustable in all rooms, so given the opportunity we can usually correct it. It...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Just got back from our first visit to the Bedford Hotel.We went as a group of friends and all agree whata lovely hotel this is. We all had nice rooms decoration and furnishings were very nice and all areas clean.The food was excellent and staff very pleasant with good service throughout.Having stayed in several hotels in the area this was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sandy480
bedford321, General Manager at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review

We really appreciate your review & to know that you were all happy with your rooms and our fabulous chef's meals, we look forward to seeing you all again next year. Thank you.

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.2 km away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#3 of 18 in Lytham St Anne's
611 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
#5 of 18 in Lytham St Anne's
821 reviews
0.0 km away
Clifton Park Hotel
Clifton Park Hotel
#4 of 18 in Lytham St Anne's
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 18 in Lytham St Anne's
793 reviews
0.7 km away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 18 in Lytham St Anne's
336 reviews
0.4 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 18 in Lytham St Anne's
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A family-owned hotel in the heart of Lytham St Anne's with a country house feel. Featured in the AA's "Britain's Best Hotels" guide. Award winning restaurant and superb customer service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Address: 307-311 Clifton Drive South, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Price Range: $142 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bedford Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
Lancashire, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Bolton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Bedford Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms a great, the more superior rooms are larger”
 of 5 bubbles BenStratfordonAvon, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Various different types of rooms,we have stayed a few times and always been more than happy.”
 of 5 bubbles gordonm246, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Front facing rooms bright and airy but rather noisy from road traffic”
 of 5 bubbles 101stellab, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are individual, so ask for your preferences at the time of booking and they will do everything in their power to oblige.”
 of 5 bubbles Donnyjonny, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“This time we managed to book room 36 for my birthday/our anniversary. Reportedly the best one in the hotel! We weren't disappointed ...”
 of 5 bubbles Y2961LKsusanp, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay