We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,037 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,035: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I recently stayed at the mere after an event and it was fantastic, they treated us perfectly and all the staff are so friendly and made it a wonderful time! I would highly recommend the mere to anyone and would happily go again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James H
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for one night just before Christmas passing through on a long journey. Really nice hotel with some great Christmas decorations! We were upgraded to a suite which was probably the biggest hotel room I have ever stayed in! The spa was really nice and well worth the trip across the car park. The only drawback was the only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2011london28
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We are seasoned travellers and have stayed in some of the finest hotels in the world, but I have to say that The Mere Resort and Spa is up there amongst the best of them. We were attending a function at The Mere and decided to treat ourselves and stay the night. All I can say is WOW!!! The quality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SalSimon
Nottingham
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Arrived at The Mere Saturday, my partner asked the very abrupt gentleman receptionist if there were any rooms with a nice view to which he snapped we are full this evening. His attitude very cold and not welcoming at all. Upon entering our room, my partner had booked a junior suite for us to enjoy some relaxation time as we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarahloubainbridge
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A recent visit was for 'afternoon tea with prosecco.' Although we arrived towards the end of service we were warmly greeted, and not rushed. Food was excellent and staff attentive. A very pleasant experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BRIAN H
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Brian, Thank you for taking the time to review the Mere Golf Resort and Spa. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea at the Mere and your kind comments re the food and service will certainly be passed on to my team! Hopefully you will join us again in the near future, but maybe you...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Brilliant spa facilities. 5 aroma therapy rooms from salt infusion to Turkish bath along with poop and spa pool. Kept immaculate, nice staff. Great facilities hard to beat, one of the best spas around. Great spacious room and super comfy queen bed. Good choice of breakfast real tasty full English. Excellent all round!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuartwilko86
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Stuart Wilkco, Thank you for taking the time to rate the Mere Golf Resort and Spa. It's always a pleasure to read such positive feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had such a memorable time at the Mere and hopefully next time you are in the UK, you will return and enjoy the experience all over again!...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Where to start... we arrived and had lunch in the spa - very poor! My Caesar salad had never seen a Caesar salad, I asked for no Parmesan and it came with Parmesan (good job I wasn't allergic). The pool was nice until a few children decided it was a holiday camp which wasn't very relaxing. We were supposed to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank charlie W
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Charlie W, I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay the Mere Golf Resort and Spa. I am of the understanding that you have been dealing with our Guest Services Manager direct, and she has now resolved all issues with you. Hopefully you will allow us the opportunity of welcoming you back to...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

As there was three of us, we booked a junior suite to have an extra bed for our sister. The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings and easily accessible from junc 19 of the M6. The function was attended by over 200 people and was a black tie for the majority. It started with a champagne reception with plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BossPrestonUK
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear BossPrestonUK, Thank you for taking the time to review the Mere Golf Resort and Spa. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. My team and I are very proud of the resort and take pride in the many wonderful experiences that are available to all of our guests. Hopefully you will allow...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked a spa day with afternoon tea for my mum for her Christmas present! The facilities were ok but I felt the pool area was to bright and wasn't very relaxing. The treatments were nothing special. The foot scrub and foot massages was rubbish. They didn't even scrub my feet and I left with dry toes. The relaxation room after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina A
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Christina A, Thank you for taking the time to review the Mere Golf Resort and Spa. I am disappointed to read that you felt let down during your recent time at our 5 Bubble Rated Spa Facility. As for your comments re the relaxation room being too light; we believe that another guest may have changed the lighting level,...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After spending 15 years going to the same place for Christmas with various family members we moved to the mere. We had a lovely time , the standard of service was excellent as was the food choice and portion size.The spa is excellent. We found the staff very lovely and helpful . There were a couple of little blips on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo A
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jo A, Thank you for taking the time to review the Mere Golf Resort and Spa. Guest feedback is very important to us here at the Mere, and please be assured that all comments are addressed with the relevant managers during our weekly team meeting. On behalf of the resort, I sincerely apologise for the unfortunate blips that occurred...

285 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (261)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (111)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
1.6 km away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
870 reviews
2.1 km away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
26.4 km away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 km away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,335 reviews
32.5 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
21.5 km away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mere Golf Resort & Spa in Knutsford, Cheshire is the perfect destination for business or pleasure, with expansive conference facilities, golf and spa, set in the heart of the Cheshire countryside. The team are passionate about providing a unique retreat, exceptional service and a luxury experience, at an affordable price. Unlock your passion in one of our 81 individually designed guest bedrooms, including 10 suites where you will find contemporary interiors, elegant finishing touches and modern amenities. Indulge your passion in our award-winning luxury spa with beauty treatments from Carita and Aromatherapy Associates, plus a 20 metre indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool and thermal zone. Or try out the state-of-the-art fitness club with over 50 studio classes to choose from. Consume your passion in one of our 3 restaurants and bars, from the contemporary Browns restaurant to the Club Lounge & Bar which offers panoramic views over The Mere Lake. Drive your passion on the 18 hole championship golf course and practice your skills on the North West's only floating driving range. Present your passion by choosing from flexible 6 event suites, the largest catering for up to 700 delegates. Unveil your passion and make it a wedding or civil partnership to remember, with a range of bespoke celebration and special occasion packages guaranteed to leave a lasting memory. Once you drive through the grand arch into the grounds of the hotel, you enter a haven of good company, fine food, relaxation and world class golf. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Address: Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Price Range: $184 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mere Golf Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Mere Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
#2 Family Hotel in Knutsford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mere Golf Resort and Spa staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Warington
Stafford, United Kingdom
4 months ago
over a year ago
3 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Mere Golf Resort and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back overlooking the Mere recommended”
 of 5 bubbles BossPrestonUK, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms were quiet facing the spa”
 of 5 bubbles Becs182, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with a Lake View are lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles kirkc999, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the golf course”
 of 5 bubbles alr837, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you don't get put in the basement i.e. the room doesn't start with 0”
 of 5 bubbles PhilG487, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay