We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,079 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,077: English reviews
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We enjoyed a lovely spa day at the Mere resort.The facilities were very clean and modern and there were not too many people,meaning that we were able to use loungers and all other facilities without being crowded.The afternoon tea was of high quality and the individual treatment with a therapist was superb...thank you Heather for my facial.It was bliss!I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sproffitt00
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear sproffitt00, Thank you for your glowing review of your Spa day at The Mere Golf Resort & Spa. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed the health club and spa, the Spa has a prestigious 5 bubble rating from The Good Spa Guide and has been a finalist for 'Best Spa in The North' at their awards for...

Reviewed 1 August 2016

I booked the Mere for a business trip - was i disappointed? Absolutel not, from the minute i arrived the reception was quick informative and helpful.This was to be the standard throughout, the room was clean spacious and the bed incredibly comfortable. We dined in Browns Scallops followed by fillet steak, this was incredible, cooked to perfection and washed down...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon W
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Simon W, Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa. I am delighted that from the minute you had arrived you had a fantastic stay, our 'Mere Welcome' is something we are very proud of so thank you for recognising it. Browns has been recognised as one of the top 100 restaurants in the...

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We have been to three annual golf events at the Mere and every time we have a great time. The hotel and gold teams are great at managing the events and the rooms and facilities are great. The golf course is long and tough, but we alway have a fantastic time. We haven't used the spa facilities, so can't comment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Off_down_under
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Off_down_under, We really appreciate your time in reviewing The Mere Golf Resort & Spa. It is wonderful to see that you have become a regular guest of ours and it truly is a pleasure having you all stay with us! Maybe when you re-visit us next year I would recommend a visit to the Spa to relax after a...

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We needed to make a last minute trip to Knutsford for business so didn't have time to schedule a tee time so we didn't get on the course at all. The food was quite good and priced as you would expect. The decor/atmosphere of the hotel restaurants was a bit disappointing but the staff and service were great. They have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Angela H, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa. Thank you for your compliments regarding the Mere Team, I know they will be so pleased to hear that their passion for excellent customer service has not gone unnoticed. Maybe next time if you visit I would recommend a visit...

Cheshire
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Visited here for a friends wedding & stayed over. Views are lovely and despite it being on a main road, very set back with the lake & golf course. Staff seemed very attentive and helpful. The food at the wedding was lovely, very nicely cooked and a good portion size as opposed to what you may get elsewhere. Bar was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CheshireJenniferD
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear CheshireJenniferD, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa. I am more than delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! We believe that the views we have here are simply stunning, especially when the sun decides to visit us! I will pass on your...

Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

What a surprise to return to the old country club now having gone mega conversion to modern upmarket hotel golf club and spa They have kept the old facade but everything else has been demolished to make an ultra modern ( almost cubist ) hotel Very fashionable in the area and overrun by swarms of ( loud) wedding guests during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peter s
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

An excellent hotel. Staff are welcoming, friendly and efficient. The rooms are furnished to a high standard with all amenities.... The gym and spa are second to none. The bar and al la carte food is well prepared and presented and the restaurant manager is welcoming and very helpful. I'm not a golfer but if I lived closer to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CarolynHud7
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear CarolynHud7. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa. It is an absolute delight to read your comments, thank you for reviewing every aspect of our resort and we loved having you staying with us. I hope to welcome you back soon! Kindest regards, Gary Johnson

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Tricky review this one as the place is a golf resort ( looked ok but we're not fans), hotel ( nice rooms with high spec but pricey), a spa ( not really - it's a gym, noisy swimming pool, couple of steam rooms and jacuzzi. Treatments are in a different area thankfully and were very good). It's not Champneys by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BillMancs
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear BillMancs, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa. I am pleased you had a very good stay with us and managed to use our facilities on offer. We believe our rooms are simply stunning, I am so pleased to read that you were impressed by the style and amenities in the...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Unless you are a golf enthusiast, there's no particular reason why you would come to this hotel as opposed to any other reasonable quality hotel, but that said there's nothing outstanding or awful about The Mere. The setting is wonderful, with the golf course around, and the mere (lake) to look over. Rooms were good, and staff were noticeably friendly....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ordinarypunter2015
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear ordinarypunter2015, Thank you for reviewing The Mere Golf Resort and Spa. I am more than pleased to hear that you thought our setting is wonderful, we truly do believe we have a hidden gem here in Cheshire! Thank you also for mentioning our team here at The Mere, we do pride ourselves on our Mere welcome! We hope to...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Only one word to describe our stay -WOW!! From arrival to departure the staff were amazing. Our room (No.007) was fabulous with patio doors leading to a small private seating area and steps up to the golf course. Free tea, coffee, biscuits and water were available together with a small bottle of fresh milk in the mini bar - so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen F

297 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (273)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
1.6 km away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
902 reviews
26.4 km away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
2.1 km away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 km away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,394 reviews
35.3 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,973 reviews
32.5 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mere Golf Resort & Spa in Knutsford, Cheshire is the perfect destination for business or pleasure, with expansive conference facilities, golf and spa, set in the heart of the Cheshire countryside. The team are passionate about providing a unique retreat, exceptional service and a luxury experience, at an affordable price. Unlock your passion in one of our 81 individually designed guest bedrooms, including 10 suites where you will find contemporary interiors, elegant finishing touches and modern amenities. Indulge your passion in our award-winning luxury spa with beauty treatments from Carita and Aromatherapy Associates, plus a 20 metre indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool and thermal zone. Or try out the state-of-the-art fitness club with over 50 studio classes to choose from. Consume your passion in one of our 3 restaurants and bars, from the contemporary Browns restaurant to the Club Lounge & Bar which offers panoramic views over The Mere Lake. Drive your passion on the 18 hole championship golf course and practice your skills on the North West's only floating driving range. Present your passion by choosing from flexible 6 event suites, the largest catering for up to 700 delegates. Unveil your passion and make it a wedding or civil partnership to remember, with a range of bespoke celebration and special occasion packages guaranteed to leave a lasting memory. Once you drive through the grand arch into the grounds of the hotel, you enter a haven of good company, fine food, relaxation and world class golf. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Address: Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Price Range: $185 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mere Golf Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Mere Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
#1 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#2 Family Hotel in Knutsford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mere Golf Resort and Spa staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Warington
Stafford, United Kingdom
7 months ago
over a year ago
Cookstown, United Kingdom
2 months ago
5 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Mere Golf Resort and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room overlooking the lake”
 of 5 bubbles 887paul, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back overlooking the Mere recommended”
 of 5 bubbles BossPrestonUK, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms were quiet facing the spa”
 of 5 bubbles Becs182, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with a Lake View are lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles kirkc999, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the golf course”
 of 5 bubbles alr837, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5