We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,057 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,055: English reviews
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016

we arrived at reception without a reservation and pleased that we were able to get booked in. Our room overlooked the golf course and had all the things that one would expect from a place such as this. The booked a table in Browns restaurant at 8.00pm and had cocktails before sitting down to a fabulous meal, afterwards we walked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pfc302
Management response:

Hello paulfcolton Thank you so much for your 5 star review, we really appreciate your comments. It is so pleasing to read that you had such a great time with us and that you would love to come back to see us again. Thank you again for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again soon Kindest regards...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We had a spa experience for 2 people last Saturday. Initial welcome was ok and changing rooms and pool area good (if not in need of a tidy up -lots of wet towels and old glasses around the pool). We had a rasul mud which was good but the massage I had was very poor, We were collected by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
Management response:

Hello Helen D Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback here on TripAdvisor. Although I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, I am grateful that you have made me aware of your experience whilst visiting us. It is only with honest and open feedback that we can continue...

Hale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Perfect location and facilities. Enjoyed dinner at Browns last Friday night, and would like to say that I loved Richard the pianist who played during our dinner. Richard - you are fab! X Will definitely be back 😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank finolaa2016
Management response:

Hello finolaa2016 WOW! thank you for your 5 star review, how kind of you! Your kind words will be passed onto the team, who will be elated, in particular Richard the Pianist and the team at Browns. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Mere Kindest regards Gary Johnson

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Stayed as a treat, with bed and breakfast and spa day. Beautiful hotel, with stunning rooms. Breakfast was excellent. Spa was very good with lovely treatments. Had a wonderful meal in the Golf Club lounge, with fantastic service from the very entertaining and lovely Lina.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guys1982
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guys1982, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa. I was so pleased to read of your relaxing and pleasant stay and we thank you for sharing your guest experience with us. I will be sure to pass on your praise to Lina who will be thrilled to read your...

Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Comfortable, modern hotel, there room are as good as it gets for this price. Service was excellent at all times. Food was lovely in Browns and the Lounge Bar. The golf course is great, the greens are first class, the bunkers are a little inconsistent. The course was busy, but that is hardly surprising given the quality and value this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 49Lock
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear 49Lock, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your recent Golf break at The Mere Golf Resort & Spa. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, I will personally pass on your feedback to the team here at The Mere who will be delighted to read your comments! Thank you...

Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Visited with 6 other couples for a "Sunday Driver" golf break. Hotel rooms very good quality and roomy enough and the whole setting was of luxury elegance with Range Rovers and Bentleys abounding. Only complaints are regarding the usual resort failings of staff at times giving the impression that they are more important than the guest. Having to pre book...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dick H
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

We came for a golf break on a damp summers day in June and the hotel was pretty good. The room is large and recently decorated, with a king size bed and large TV. The bathroom is modern and very well finished with a large tub, and good toiletries. There are tea/coffee makings with biscuits! The bed is comfortable with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian14_11
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ian14_11, Thank you very much for your review of The Mere Golf Resort & Spa. We believe our rooms are simply stunning, I am so pleased to read that you were impressed by the style and amenities in the room, it is our belief that these small touches, together with our passion for excellent customer service and quality of...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016

The resort is set very close to the main road and motorway however from the moment you enter the gates you could be in the middle of the country. It was peaceful and relaxing until the party finished and some very noisy guests returned to their rooms. We will definitely return but next time spend more time in the Spa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 7Stephanie
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear 7Stephanie, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future whether it be for a round of Golf or for a relaxing and tranquil experience...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2016

My Wife and I celebrated our Joint 70th and Golden Wedding anniversary (50) here on the 4th June 2016, people make Parties!! And the staff here made sure we had a an evening ( and morning 3.30am!!) to remember !!. Nothing was too much trouble the attention to detail was fantastic , ( a special thank you to Kimberley !!)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pawnese
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Pawnese, Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa. I am delighted that you chose our venue for such a special occasion and that you had a fantastic evening with us. I know that the whole team here at The Mere will be so pleased to read that their hard work and attention to...

Benllech, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

The mere was lovely, clean and all the staff were really polite. Myself and my wife were made to feel very special all weekend. I honestly can't really fault it. The food was great, if I had to put any fault in it would be that the bar was maybe a little expensive. Thank you guys

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chuckieeee
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Chuckieeee, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your recent stay at The Mere and thank you for taking the time to leave us such wonderful comments. I will personally pass on your kind words to the team here at The...

291 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (267)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (117)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
1.6 km away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
886 reviews
2.1 km away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
26.4 km away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 km away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,364 reviews
32.5 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
27.4 km away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mere Golf Resort & Spa in Knutsford, Cheshire is the perfect destination for business or pleasure, with expansive conference facilities, golf and spa, set in the heart of the Cheshire countryside. The team are passionate about providing a unique retreat, exceptional service and a luxury experience, at an affordable price. Unlock your passion in one of our 81 individually designed guest bedrooms, including 10 suites where you will find contemporary interiors, elegant finishing touches and modern amenities. Indulge your passion in our award-winning luxury spa with beauty treatments from Carita and Aromatherapy Associates, plus a 20 metre indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool and thermal zone. Or try out the state-of-the-art fitness club with over 50 studio classes to choose from. Consume your passion in one of our 3 restaurants and bars, from the contemporary Browns restaurant to the Club Lounge & Bar which offers panoramic views over The Mere Lake. Drive your passion on the 18 hole championship golf course and practice your skills on the North West's only floating driving range. Present your passion by choosing from flexible 6 event suites, the largest catering for up to 700 delegates. Unveil your passion and make it a wedding or civil partnership to remember, with a range of bespoke celebration and special occasion packages guaranteed to leave a lasting memory. Once you drive through the grand arch into the grounds of the hotel, you enter a haven of good company, fine food, relaxation and world class golf. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Address: Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Price Range: $185 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mere Golf Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Mere Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
#1 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#2 Family Hotel in Knutsford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mere Golf Resort and Spa staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Warington
Stafford, United Kingdom
6 months ago
over a year ago
Cookstown, United Kingdom
1 month ago
4 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Mere Golf Resort and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back overlooking the Mere recommended”
 of 5 bubbles BossPrestonUK, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms were quiet facing the spa”
 of 5 bubbles Becs182, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with a Lake View are lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles kirkc999, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the golf course”
 of 5 bubbles alr837, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you don't get put in the basement i.e. the room doesn't start with 0”
 of 5 bubbles PhilG487, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5