We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa

Save
Share
Sketchley Lane, Hinckley LE10 3HU England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Trip.com
US$93
View deal
Travelocity
Booking.com
eDreamsUS$106
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (701)
360
Panoramas (39)
Room & Suite (336)

About

#3 of 3 hotels in Hinckley
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sketchley Grange is the perfect location to connect with colleagues, family and friends: Situated on the borders of Leicestershire and Warwickshire Minutes away from M69 Less than 10 miles to Leicester and Coventry Less than 30 minutes to Birmingham NEC, Birmingham Airport, East Midlands Airport, Warwick and Stratford. Please be advised during the month of December the hotel will be hosting festive parties and also food service and leisure times will be restricted from the 24th December 2017 until 2nd January 2018, please call our team for more details on this.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
1694Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 498
  • 442
  • 319
  • 245
  • 190
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Clo333 wrote a review Jan. 24
25 contributions25 helpful votes
I have given more than enough time for Paul Noble, the general manager, to respond to my complaint (sent complaint on 28th Dec) so I am left with no choice but to voice my experience on here. We arrived for our dinner at 1:30pm & were seated, no one acknowledged our table until I called someone over at 2:10pm when I asked if we could get some bread as we were the only table not eating. The girl returned with one bread roll for myself, when I told her I meant for our entire table she rolled her eyes and went off to get more bread. A different girl then came over to our table and asked what we would like to eat?! I explained we had already pre ordered our food as we have done for the previous 2 years having Christmas dinner at Sketchley Grange, she looked confused and said ‘that’s strange’ So then I had to find the email I sent with everyone’s choices and read them out to her. She then came back to tell me there was no fruit for the children as a starter (as Natalie had told me the children could have fruit) so the children went without a starter whilst everyone else was eating. The mains came out (baring in mind we were already 1 person down as X didn’t attend) everyone except X were served their food, I got the attention of one of the staff after 5 minutes of waiting to explain we were still waiting for a Turkey dinner, to which he replied ‘sorry, we’ve ran out of Turkey’. I’m not sure at what point they were going to come over and tell us this, or were they just hoping we’d let someone sit without a dinner whilst everyone else tucked in! On Christmas Day, a meal we pre ordered & pre paid for, one of my party had no Christmas dinner. I went to find the manager on duty - Craig, he was no where to be seen, no staff could find him. I went back to the table to see what else could be offered to my dad - beef or salmon, neither of which he likes, hence why he chose Turkey. Someone brought over a beef dinner for him which looked like an old shoe if I’m honest. At £80pp I am disgusted at how the day went. I had planned to ask for X meal to be plated up so we could take it round for her but as there wasn’t enough Turkey to go round for the people who were actually there, let alone the person not there - who we had still paid for. One of our party paid for the entire day which makes this worse as it isn’t just a case of one person paid £80 and ruined their day. One person paid £800 & this ruined the day for everyone because of the atmosphere this situation created. To add insult to injury, within 10 minutes of being told there was no Turkey left, the table behind were served their Turkey dinners?! I questioned this but again no one could answer and they could only assume our pre order wasn’t passed onto the chef/relevant staff. The last 2 times we have had Christmas dinner at Sketchley it has been fantastic & really professional with all staff in black trousers, blazers and white shirts, this year I couldn’t tell who was staff and who wasn’t! In fact, a lady at the bar thought I worked at the hotel! Usually you have the added extra of Santa with childrens presents from him (name tags and age appropriate) again, no where to be seen which I think was really disappointing. When Craig was eventually found, all he could do in an attempt to help on the day was take our drinks bill off (out of 9 people, 7 had soft drinks) and said I would need to speak to the general manager for a refund for the 2 meals we didn’t receive. The table in front of us came over to me as they could clearly see how upset I was & said their Turkey dinner was awful and my relative hadn’t missed out - we explained to them that this isn’t usual for Christmas dinner at Sketchley but they said they wouldn’t be returning. I appreciate Covid means restaurants are running on less staff & in tougher conditions but running out of Turkey on Christmas Day, for a dinner we pre ordered, booked & paid for in advance, is inexcusable. Surely the whole point of pre ordering is to allocate the food to x amount of people? Happy to take the money, not provide the service ( or food at bare minimum) that was expected but not happy to resolve the issue. Disgusting.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Cary T wrote a review Jan. 22
Harrogate, United Kingdom54 contributions30 helpful votes
We stayed on 15/16 January. There were 9 adults and 9 children in our 75th birthday party celebration staying overnight with a private room for the evening. First the good points: the food was excellent and served promptly by polite and efficient staff. The bad points: we had booked a junior suite with breakfast and charged £138 on check in even though on the hotels website the price was £109. We were not provided with a suite however only a standard room; there were no towels in the bathroom; the Tv in our room didn’t work; there was only one receptionist even though it was peak check in time with a long queue; there was only one staff in the bar and she was clearly overworked and disgruntled. The hotel was fully booked yet the following morning the restaurant was staffed by one young guy and one young woman checking peoples room numbers. There was only one guy on the buffet and so there were frequent items of food needing replenishment; there was only one machine dispensing hot water and coffee and this continually broke. Other members of our party found their room hadn’t been cleaned, air conditioning broken, no towels etc. It was totally disorganised and not a manager in sight. The only lift was broken.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Noble, General Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Dear caryt888 I am pleased you and your party enjoyed the recent birthday celebration at our hotel. You comments will be passed onto the kitchen brigade and restaurant staff. It is always a pleasure to receive such good feedback. I would be interested to know if you raised the issue of the room allocation and the unprepared room to a member of staff.... I would be happy to discuss if you wished to contact me. We do, as with a lot of hospitality venues, have a staff shortage. As a hotel we lost a lot of experienced staff during the various lockdown periods, and although training is ongoing it takes time for confidence to build. I will ask maintenance to check on the hot drinks machine. There is a Duty Manager on site at all times in the hotel, and available to guests, if requested.
Read more
Eric K wrote a review Jan. 21
Ibstock, United Kingdom1 contribution
Staff are very friendly, the rooms and the food at the restaurant very good! However some things that were abit disappointing! So during our stay we had the food and spa! Last possible booking was 8.15 and the spa closing at 9 last entry 8 so basically deciding one or the other! Breaking 7 between 9 which is abit early when trying go on relaxing break! Having no body massage but facial was made no sense to me! Having spent 152 for just 3 hours of using the facility and eating and sleeping wasn't worth the price
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
imran wrote a review Jan. 17
Aylesbury, United Kingdom2 contributions
Had a surprise family get together for my sisters 40th birthday and although some slight issues, overall a really pleasant stay. The Chef arrange for a birthday plate to be sent to my sisters room and my room (230) was absolutely stunning. We went out both nights to eat so can’t comment on the restaurant but breakfast was lovely. A nice selection of fresh produce and the chef even made us some vegetarian sausages and a plate full of poached eggs for our family. Breakfast staff were friendly and attentive ensuring tables were cleared. Reception staff were friendly and happy to have a chat to make sure our stay was good. A good hotel, nice staff and definitely worth a visit!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Noble, General Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Voyager21258894330 I am delighted that your family enjoyed your stay at Sketchley Grange. I will pass on you kind comments to my team, which will be gratefully be received We hope you will choose us again in the future.
Read more
Robson wrote a review Jan. 16
1 contribution4 helpful votes
Stayed in the suite , room 234. Check in at 3 ( don't try and come early, they won't even talk to you or humour a earlier check in) long queue took an hour to check in, people's rooms still weren't ready but ours was. The suite. Very large area, looks impressive but some problems. The hand held shower was broken and dribbled. The bed dipped and was a hard mattress. Only 2 paper cups available for tea and coffee, so after one cup, you couldn't have another as it went mushy. Tried calling reception but it rang out, no one answered. We needed extra soap but couldn't get any. We then visited the spa. Sad and a let down. The jacuzzi was luke warm but the jets cold. The in pool Jacuzzi was cold. Had to go into sauna to warm up. Some stones or dirt was on the seats in the sauna so I didn't enjoy that experience. Lots of kids in the pool and it wasn't relaxing at all. Everyone we met was disappointed with facilities, all staff were miserable and unhelpful or unapologetic. We planned to have room service but the room service number was off the hook and you couldnt get through so we ordered takeaway instead( the best part of the trip) . We won't visit again. It used to be good but isn't any more.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Noble, General Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Good Afternoon RobinE1059 It would seem you were dissatisfied with your recent stay, and I apologise, but would like to address some of the points. Unfortunately, due to a shortage of house keepers, we have to be firm on the check in time. We do stipulate check in time on all correspondence as 3.00pm and whenever possible we will check in guests early, but that is dependent on staffing levels and the departure time of previous guests. Our welcome letters stipulate that any additional amenities are available from reception, soaps, cups, towels etc are all stocked up at front desk. The volume of calls received at reception, especially at the weekend, can be extreme and if the receptionist is on the phone, then the second caller does not hear an engaged tone. Also, if the reception is busy with other guests, the phone will ring, until they are free. There are checks on the pool, jacuzzi and facilities in generally, periodically. These checks include temperature checks and all are recorded. I have checked and there is nothing out of range for the past 10 days. however, anything brought to the attention of the team, such as the sauna not being clean, would have been rectified immediately or picked up on checks. Children's swim times are listed on all confirmations, the website and displayed on the reception desk. This gives everyone the choice of when they visit the health club. Please get in touch, so we can understand more about your visit. We are truly sorry that you left feeling the team showed no empathy for the situations that arose.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$58 - US$149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sketchley grange hotel hinckley, sketchley grange hotel and spa, best western hinckley, sketchley grange hinckley
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLeicestershireHinckley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
95
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Virtual Flight Experience (3.3 km), Concordia Theatre (2.1 km), and Burbage Common and Woods (4.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Miller and Carter, Everest Dine, and Anthony`s Cafe Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Mary's Guildhall (15.6 km), Coventry Cathedral (15.6 km), and Arbury Hall (9.3 km).
Is Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.