We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa

Save
Share
Sketchley Lane, Hinckley LE10 3HU England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$80
View deal
Booking.comUS$81
Hotels.comUS$80
TripadvisorUS$80
eDreams
TravelocityUS$80
HurbUS$88
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (787)
360
Panoramas (39)
Room & Suite (379)

About

#3 of 3 hotels in Hinckley
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sketchley Grange is the perfect location to connect with colleagues, family and friends: Situated on the borders of Leicestershire and Warwickshire Minutes away from M69 Less than 10 miles to Leicester and Coventry Less than 30 minutes to Birmingham NEC, Birmingham Airport, East Midlands Airport, Warwick and Stratford.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
1827Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 523
  • 459
  • 348
  • 274
  • 223
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Katie G wrote a review Feb. 3
London, United Kingdom71 contributions112 helpful votes
Stayed here for a few nights for work, had to leave early so missed breakfast, first receptionist said they could provide a take away breakfast which was disappointing. However during a meal in the bar the bar manager was extremely helpful & accommodating & organised a take away breakfast for the following morning! Thank you we were so grateful, the 2 guys on reception were also very helpful & gave us a takeaway coffee. The room was warm, nice shower in bathroom (no bath) & bed comfy. The hotel has character & it relaxing. I would stay again & thank you again to the lovely lady who is bar manager for sorting out the breakfast situation
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
GSDerby wrote a review Jan. 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Even with 2 firelarms going off we had a relaxing weekend escape. Room 81 is an accessible room with plenty of space. Food was very tasty be it breakfast in the room, steak, burgers, pork belly, or sandwiches. Used the gym which was quiet. All staff friendly apart from one member needing convincing that we shouldn’t wait 90 mins for Sunday room service for breakfast but the chef or someone else made sure we got served in half an hour. We could have pre booked breakfast for the room if we knew it could be a problem. We will be back later in the year.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Loughrey, General Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
Responded 6 days ago
Good morning, Thank you for your review. I'm happy to see you enjoyed your time with us, despite the fire alarms - you were indeed unlucky to have experienced two in your time at the hotel! We look forward to welcoming you back later this year! Best regards, Matt Loughrey, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
luna-jasper wrote a review Jan. 2023
Horsham, United Kingdom33 contributions31 helpful votes
One night stay using wowcher, excellent value. large, modern very clean room with comfortable bed. Our package included evening meal ( excellent choice 2 courses) breakfast very nice. Pool clean, sauna and steam room well maintained, pool area very nice and good changing rooms, only complaint lots of noisy children in the pool during the evening with parents who made no attempt to control them. Early morning swim much more pleasant. Recommend this hotel, staff all very pleasant and helpful
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Loughrey, General Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Good evening, Thank you for your review. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend our hotel! I will share your feedback with the team, who I know will be happy! Best regards, Matt Loughrey, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachel L wrote a review Jan. 2023
6 contributions4 helpful votes
The whole hotel is COLD, but particularly the bedroom and corridors. We were in room 233. We called around 10pm to say how cold it was. They told us our heating wasn't on- we said we know as its only blowing out cold air. They manually reset it and said it should work now, however it made no difference, still cold air. We then called back around 20 mins later and reception said someone would come up with a portable heater, however no one ever came. After reading TripAdvisor reviews it is clear to see we are not the first to complain about this. The tap in the room was so stiff you could hardly lift it up and down. There was mould around the bottom of the shower door, a silverfish in the bath and a light out in the bathroom. We used the spa at around 4pm yesterday. There were 5 teenagers in there jumping in the pool, screaming and shouting, filming videos of themselves. Not really the ideal spa experience. We also used the gym which is very dated for a 4 star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Loughrey, General Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good morning, Thank you for your review. You have provided us with some really valuable feedback which I can explore with our team. Our heating is often controlled from a panel in our Reception office, and the panel we use had indicated rooms to be in full working order. Investigations following recent feedback have identified a system issue, for which we have now contacted specialists and hope to have resolved today. I apologise this impacted your stay, but please trust that we have taken your feedback onboard. I have also shared your feedback with our Spa Manager as that is not the experience we want any hotel guests to have. Again, please accept my apologies. I hope we can welcome you back at some stage in the future. Best regards, Matt Loughrey, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thea Whyte wrote a review Jan. 2023
Louth83 contributions32 helpful votes
Many elemenets that are good but some are poor and advanced warning for some important things weren't made clear in advance. If you want a bathrobe - pre book and pay for it! (in a 4* hotel?) Meal on evening of arrival -prebook to get the time you want. If you are there on a 'meal deal', don't go Wed -Saturday. The menu choice is a 1/3 of the menu during the rest of the week. If you book through an agent, you pay to use the spa. The spa is clean and well kept and a good size with 17m pool, whirl pool, steam room & sauna. Changing rooms were a good size with adequate seating and changing and shower facilities. Towels free and lockers ditto. Meals were good, staff in dining room lovely and portions a decent size. Rooms are large but have been neglected. Light fittings that don't work and aren't replaced. Bathroom towel rails, the only heating in there, doesn't work and not being repaired anytime soon. Ineffective room heating. We were cold. Desk staff were lovely, polite and long suffering. But unable to get anything repaired. In our 2nd room during a 3 night stay, the bar under the tea making facility was locked but could actually be opened. No bar, no fridge, just collected rubbish! This was not the 'lateluxury' we booked and wouldn't get its 4 * rating now. Beware.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: a higher room facing south
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Loughrey, General Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good morning, Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. While I am happy to see our team were friendly throughout, it is of course a shame to see you experienced some issues with our product during your time with us. For this, I hope you accept my sincere apologies and trust that we are working as a team to rectify those issues you have raised. As a team we are certainly working towards improvements as we push into 2023. To this note, I do hope you will consider the hotel for a future stay if you are in the area. Best regards, Matt Loughrey, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenny K wrote a review Jan. 2023
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Had a wonderful stay & couldn’t ask for more for the price-rooms were clean, staff at restaurant and spa were A* - Spa facilities were basic but just the job for a relaxing break away for a good price
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Loughrey, General Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good afternoon, Thank you for your review! My team and I are thrilled to see you had an enjoyable time with us and we hope it won't be long until we can look after you again. Best regards, Matt Loughrey, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GoPlaces44239370405 wrote a review Jan. 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
The hotel and spa staff were friendly and helpful. There was an issue with the room that one of our party was allocated, and they were moved to another room promptly. We were given a free bottle of wine with our evening meal as compensation. The spa facilities were clean and not too crowded. My massage was very relaxing and professional. Our accommodation was a spacious room with comfortable beds. The bathroom was clean and housed a bath and a shower. The latter took a bit of managing as it was very fierce and would not stay in its housing. The breakfast included in the deal was fine with an array of items to suit most tastes. The dinner menu was uninspiring and generally poorly cooked; chewy prawns in the cocktail and dry burger and chicken. The restaurant itself felt more like a canteen; harsh overhead lighting, and formica table tops We enjoyed our stay, especially the spa but felt that the hotel needs to up its game
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Loughrey, General Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good afternoon, Thank you for taking time to review your time with us here at the hotel. I am glad to see you enjoyed our Spa - it is fantastic. I will share your feedback with our department heads for improvement in other areas, though I hope you will trust we can indeed improve, and to that not I hope we can welcome you back soon. Best regards, Matt Loughrey General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WalesLois wrote a review Dec. 2022
Newport, United Kingdom14 contributions24 helpful votes
I’d booked two junior suites as Xmas presents for friends. The rooms were lovely and the spa staff were friendly and helpful. However, I’d booked the 2-course set dinner option and it was so disappointing. We had to send back our starter of prawn cocktail as the prawns were obviously frozen and seemed to have freezer burn they were so chewy. One friend ordered the Aubergine Tiane - poor doesn’t begin to describe it with just a stack of dry uninspiring vegetables. To top it off, the hotel’s ice machine was broken so no ice to be had at all. I ordered a rose Prosecco which at £35 was very average and the bar didn’t stock cassis or anything to take the acidity out of it. Spa treatments pleasant enough but much shorter than the time charged for.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: There are lots of packages
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Elena Vasileva, Guest Services / Front Office at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good afternoon, Thank you for your review. I will share your feedback with our Head Chef, who I know will want to improve as we go into this year. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best regards, Matt Loughrey, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
joanneaReading wrote a review Dec. 2022
reading52 contributions10 helpful votes
Horrendous! Music loud , someone tried to get into our room at 1:30am, room so cold we had to warm it up with a hairdryer as reception couldn’t help, toilet flush broken, sink wouldn’t drain, an alarm going off all night , staff rude in most areas (some did try) , totally disorganised in the bar and restaurant… no leadership, spa I had a block of wood attached to a key for the locker , spa very dated and not well stocked with water available or food wise. Please don’t waste your money and go here ! I’ve never done a negative review before so believe me when I say don’t go !
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t arrived before 3pm as they refuse to even have you in the hotel. They won’t check you in...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Elena Vasileva, Guest Services / Front Office at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good afternoon, Thank you for your review, which has highlighted some real areas we can focus on into this year. Please accept my apologies on this occasion, and I do hope we can welcome you back at some point in the future. Best regards, Matt Loughrey, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
happydays1012 wrote a review Dec. 2022
London, United Kingdom188 contributions218 helpful votes
I would have given five stars if I was only reviewing the spa as that part of our stay was amazing. The hotel and restaurant would score one star. Therefore I’ve left a two star review overall. As other reviewers have said it is best to use the postcode rather than name of the hotel otherwise you will end up in a residential area. There’s plenty of parking which is great but there was nobody at reception and no bell to ring. You’re lucky if a member of staff decides to make an appearance. We went to the spa first which was the best part of our stay. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The pool area and facilities were clean and the right amount of people were using the facilities at the time we went on a Friday morning. It did get busier with all the loungers being occupied and people were waiting around to secure these when people left. We got a hot drink with our package which was lovely. The changing rooms were clean with large lockers. The 50 minute massage was amazing and the lounge area was a nice place to relax. We went back to reception at 3pm to see a huge queue with only one member of staff. We had to wait about 15 mins to get checked in, as they won’t check people in earlier and don’t seem to have enough staff on reception to deal with the number of guests checking in at the same time which is poor. We got to the front and were advised that our booking was for the following weekend, we got worried but found our email confirmation which had the right date. This was surprising as the spa seemed to know our booking was for the day we arrived as did the restaurant. Anyway only after we showed the email booking did they confirm they have a room for us, with no apology offered for their mistake and confusion caused. As other reviewers have said the place is a maze, with stairs here and there but we got to our room which was large and clean with a not so appealing view of the carpark. The TV is tiny for the size of the room and doesn’t swivel round. The bathroom was also large however there’s mould on the sealant which requires attention. There’s a few mini toiletries. The room above had loose floor boards and somebody walking around so we didn’t sleep well. The lighting in the room is ambient and not particularly bright. The Wi-Fi connection is a bit patchy and keeps dropping off however there are USB ports next to the bed. Dinner was a bit of a joke, the whole experience was poor. When arriving the menu was very limited especially for vegetarians - one option for starters and one for mains. I advised the waiter that I’m allergic to one of the ingredients so is there anything they can do. They advised they can take that particular ingredient off but didn’t mention they would replace with anything else. It would basically leave the dish with tomatoes and asparagus. After pushing a bit further they advised they can add another vegetable to the dish - not sure if this restaurant knows but vegetarians don’t just eat vegetables, do your research! When the food arrived it looked good but tasted basic, no flavour and I left hungry. My friend’s dish was a piece of dry chicken with a sorry looking piece of lettuce and tomato in a dry burger bun, no seasoning or relish. We could have got a better meal at McDonald’s. Ordered wine at the start which arrived just before our mains so no drinks up to that point. The restaurant wasn’t fully occupied so I can’t understand why their service was so poor. Breakfast was ok, a bit chaotic at the time we went but the options offered were ok and the staff kept the hot food topped up. I wouldn’t return to stay or dine at the hotel however the spa facilities were great. This is definitely not a 4* hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Elena Vasileva, Guest Services / Front Office at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
Responded Dec. 29, 2022
Dear Happydays, Thank you for your comprehensive review and your positive comments about the spa. We would like to apologise for any delay in checking into the hotel, normally one receptionist for the number of guests arriving would have been sufficient however we cannot always foresee an influx of guests arriving simultaneously, equally we cannot always check guest in early as we do not always have the rooms readily available due to the previous occupants. With regards to your bedroom, may I point out for future guests, the hotel has 102 bedrooms over three floors and has signage to direct you accordingly, as your review suggests the hotel is like a maze which maybe seen as a negative comment. I do believe that most hotels will have a view from their bedroom of the car park, however if this presents a problem for anyone then we can upon request and subject to availability offer guests a room which faces our beautiful and extensive gardens. The Wi-fi allows 4 hours of use and then you are asked to log back in after this time - our wi-fi is complimentary. Our apologies if the sealant in the bathroom requires attention and as such we have notified the maintenance manager for his immediate attention. In terms of your restaurant experience we would like to apologise for any shortfalls in the level of service experienced albeit at this time of the year our menus are a little smaller than usual, which we notify our guests about on all our booking channels and we have noted more attention is required for vegetarians and we would like to thank your for your feedback on this matter. We were please to read your comments about the busy breakfast period and that team were replenishing the buffet throughout. We very much valued your feedback and custom, which we would like to retain. Whilst we understand your closing comments in your review we would relish the opportunity to show you that we can get things right and therefore if you have a change of heart do contact us direct and highlight your concerns and we will do our utmost to appease the situation. Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$88 - US$134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sketchley grange hotel hinckley, sketchley grange hotel and spa, best western hinckley, sketchley grange hinckley
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLeicestershireHinckley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
95
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa - UPDATED 2023 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Hinckley, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Virtual Flight Experience (3.3 km), Concordia Theatre (2.1 km), and Burbage Common and Woods (4.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Chase, Miller and Carter, and Everest Dine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Mary's Guildhall (15.6 km), Coventry Cathedral (15.6 km), and Arbury Hall (9.3 km).
Is Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.