We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Imperial Crown Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Imperial Crown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

349 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Crown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 347: English reviews
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked 3 rooms for an overnight stay and found them spotless and the beds very comfortable.The staff were very friendly and helpful.We also had a lovely lunch and the breakfasts were also excellent,all cooked to order and hot. Great location

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 948smiley
Kelly W, General Manager at The Imperial Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 948smiley, Thank you for your wonderful 5* review following your recent stay with us. We are delighted with your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Warm regards Kelly Walker General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff , nice dinning area & bar . Rooms are in need of updating , mattresses are wafer thin & bathroom suites are vintage . Ok for a short stay , food took around 30 minutes to be served once ordered , this was when we where the only ones in the restaurant

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
Kelly W, General Manager at The Imperial Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrew S, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and for your positive comments. It is regretful that not all aspects of your stay met your expectations on this occasion. I will of course investigate your comments further with the relevant departments. Thank you Kelly Walker General Manager

Wallingford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I arrived at the hotel where I have enjoyed staying before. They explained that their computer booking system was down, so couldnt give me a room. I asked if they could find what room I was in some other way - they couldnt. I sat in reception for a little over 30 minutes waiting for the system to come back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank masonfamily2013
Kelly W, General Manager at The Imperial Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear masonfamily2013, Firstly thank you for providing your feedback and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I have also replied to you under separate cover and I hope to resolve the matter with you. Kind regards Kelly Walker General Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely little hotel in a quaint old building very close to the railway station, Eureka museum and various shops, pubs and bars. The interior is very pleasant with an old world setting that looks homely and adds to the ambiance of the place. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly and check in was a smooth experience. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martinmolloy72
Kelly W, General Manager at The Imperial Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear martinmolloy72, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and your positive feedback on the majority of your stay. I am sorry to learn that the service you received was slower than expected, the hotel does prepare everything fresh which can sometimes cause delay. I will however address your feedback with our Food & Beverage Manager...

Holmfirth
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Quaint, old town house next to Square Chapel and Piece Hall. Good location near train station and science museum "Eureka!". Room was cold, heating controls difficult to handle. Noisy external air-conditioning/ventilation from kitchen. Food was mediocre. No lift, no offer of help with case - 3 flights. But: it was quite cheap!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liamhughes2900
Kelly W, General Manager at The Imperial Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear liamhughes2900, Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay with us. I am sorry to learn that not all aspects of your stay met with your full expectations, on this occasion. Your comments have been shared with the relevant departmental Managers for further investigation and action. We do hope to welcome you again should you visit Halifax in...

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

lovely hotel, the breakfast staff and room was good. The downside was after a 5 hour drive was looking forward to a good nights sleep.Wrong the pipework in my bedroom started to rattle just after i went to bed so very little sleep.So avoid the top room.Did report the problem at check out and they did appoligise

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardth0rne
Kelly W, General Manager at The Imperial Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear richardth0rne, Thank you for providing feedback following your stay with us. I am however sorry to learn that you were disturbed during your stay, this matter has been passed to our maintenance department for any further action required. We do hope to welcome you again in the future. Kindest regards Kelly Walker General Manager

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

visited for the second time this year to visit relative in hospital, who is now moved to Hospice. the staff are understanding and sympathetic. the hotel itself is clean and welcoming, may not be the most modern of rooms but comfortable and well equipped. are back again soon , did not even bother to look/price up any alternative accommodation, for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiom2017
Kelly W, General Manager at The Imperial Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kiom2017, Thank you for providing such a lovely 5* review following your recent stay with us. Your feedback has been shared with the team, whom are equally pleased with your comments. Best regards Kelly Walker General Manager

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here overnight to attend an event at the local theatre and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is very near the station and also a short walk into the town centre (up hill). Parking is plentiful but note it is across the road from the actual hotel. The room was nicely appointed (if a little warm) and the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn K
Kelly W, General Manager at The Imperial Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carolyn K, Thank you for your delightful 5* feedback following your recent stay. Your comments have been shared with the staff and we hope to welcome you again soon. Warmest regards Kelly Walker General Manager

Pudsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Imperial Crown Hotel was very comfortable and clean - it is a very old building and the only thing I think that needs an update is the bathroom (in our room) otherwise it was very nice. The Restaurant and Bar area had obviously been updated and looked immaculate. The staff, well you could not ask for a better service,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
Kelly W, General Manager at The Imperial Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne S, Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kindest regards Kelly Walker General Manager

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was nice, staff was lovely and very friendly, rooms were ok very hot though, my sister was sleeping in the room next door and the matteress spring had come out and scrated her leg, first night the alarms went off at 4am had to leave the rooms as assumed fire alarm, carried on for atleast half hour after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
Kelly W, General Manager at The Imperial Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jack B, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we welcome all feedback from our guests. Firstly I am sorry to learn that your stay did not meet your full expectations on this occasion. Your feedback will of course be investigated further with the relevant departments. Thank you for your positive feedback with regards to our...

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.4 km away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
0.3 km away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
365 reviews
4.3 km away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Imperial Crown Hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Halifax. Situated opposite Halifax Railway Station and The Eureka Children's Museum. The Victoria Theatre, Square Chapel, Piece Hall; plus other local attractions are all in close proximity. Making us a great choice for both Business and Leisure stays. The hotel offers a range of 41 bedrooms spread over 5 floors. All rooms are en suite with tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, television with free view channels, direct dial telephone, FREE Wi-Fi, FREE parking and a 24-hour reception and bar service. The Imperial Crown Bar & Restaurant offers Breakfast plus a wide range of meals, snacks and refreshments all available throughout the day, to both residents and non-residents. Our menu incorporates some truly mouth-watering British classics, all fresh and cooked to order. The iconic Archives Suite provides an excellent choice for Weddings, Private Functions and Conferences. Directions: Join the M62, and exit at J24. Take the A629 to Halifax, and follow the signs for Eureka Children's Museum and the railway station. The hotel is opposite the railway station. Our car park is located on the opposite side of the road, a permit will need to be displayed in your vehicle; which can be collected from our reception. Leeds Bradford International Airport is about 38 km away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Imperial Crown Hotel

Address: The Imperial Crown Hotel 42-46 Horton Street, Halifax HX1 1QE, England (Formerly Imperial Crown Corus Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Price Range: $64 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Crown Corus Halifax
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#7 Business Hotel in Halifax
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Imperial Crown Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
6 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Imperial Crown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a road view rather than inner courtyard for a quieter sleep and wider view”
LouiseClaytonVance, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are no lifts so if you have little mobility at time of booking ask how many flights is the room.”
509varshav, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quite room”
emerald36, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There's no lift, so if you struggle with stairs, request a room on the first floor.”
Floss_9, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had room number 208 and it was on the street side but not too bad”
M6077QLannes, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5