We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Expedia.comUS$57*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

398 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
See the most recent reviews
Showing 394: English reviews
Vevey, Switzerland
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Room at the back so view of a wall - but that doesn't matter. Room clean and modern, mismatched furniture which gives away the transition the hotel is in. New bathroom, nicely done, and piping hot and powerful shower - always nice. Corridors narrow and and with many steps reflecting the age of the hotel. Wifi, quick to connect, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
Colin L, Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your 4* review. I'm glad you found the rooms to be clean and modern, and are glad you noticed that we are indeed going through a programme of refurbishment, since our new owners took over. I'm glad you found the breakfast to be excellent and found that you had great service from staff....

Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Recently stayed here for a full weekend for a friend's 30th. Upon arrival I was greeted by a very friendly woman on reception. All the staff were extremely helpful and the service was second to none. Breakfast was very filling and plenty on offer. Ideally situated for quick access to everything Halifax has to offer. Would highly recommend to anyone...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrMitchell87
Colin L, Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear Mr Mitchell, Thank you very much for submitting this review. We hope you had a safe journey home and look forward to seeing you again, when you get chance to come back to Halifax. I'm glad you found the staff to be friendly and enjoyed the breakfast choice. It's fantastic to hear you would recommend us and to know...

Thirsk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Stayed here for one night in early June to attend a funeral. Easily found, safe parking, old building which was clean and tidy and staff who were very helpful and cheerful. I would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank XJRT
Colin L, Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for submitting feedback via Trip Advisor. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, given the circumstances. I'm glad you found the rooms to be clean and tidy and the staff to be helpful. It is wonderful to hear you would stay with us again.

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2016

My wife, myself and 21 year son stayed in the hotel for 3 weeks, and found it to be excellent, rooms very spacious and very clean. The staff were "exceptional" very pleasant and nothing was to much trouble. The breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice! and a lovely Italian restaurant down stairs. I would recommend this hotel for either...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seanbergin
Colin L, Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate you doing this, given you've probably had a busy few weeks. It was lovely to meet you and your family, and it was a pleasure to have you with us. We're glad you like the room and found the staff and breakfast to be...

haslingden
Reviewed 1 June 2016

. This is an extremely well-run small central hotel. Reception staff were most helpful and the breakfast just as it should be, with all hot food cooked to order. The hotel has been beautifully restored to its Victorian glory, bedrooms/bathrooms carefully refurbished with contemporary fittings, but it is the attitude of and service from the staff that really make the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank keith c
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your extremely kind review and your 5* rating. I'm delighted you found the staff to be welcoming and enjoyed the breakfast and hotel's décor. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Halifax. Thank you again.

Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. The room size was ok. The shower knob was not working and when we informed the receptionist, we were asked to use another room only for shower. The gentleman at the reception was extremely rude. We would not opt to go back to this hotel. However, the location of the hotel was good. Right in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bhavi P
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you liked the location of the hotel. I am sorry the bath to shower converter broke during your stay. Unfortunately the maintenance team were not on duty on Sunday morning when this happened, so we did offer you the option to move to a different room, which you didn't take. As...

Goole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

I cannot fault this hotel the room was lovely and the staff couldn't do enough to help. The hotel itself is beautiful. It is centrally situated for everything. There is secure parking for £7 a day but also on street parking .

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mandy L
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely 5* review. As we pride ourselves on our customer service I am delighted to hear we did not disappoint. We are pleased to hear you found the architecture of the building to be beautiful and we hope to see you again in the future.

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2016

The Airbnb advert showed a fantastic room and offered free parking. In fact, it is time limited on street parking or £7 to park in their small garage. The room I was given was small, dated and 'aromatic'.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fionah99
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Please accept my apologies that you were disappointed with your stay. I hope the free bedroom upgrade and free parking helped ease the misunderstanding. We have since reiterated to AirBnB about the parking situation and cost so that they can correct the description. Thank you for your feedback.

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Good sized room, very comfortable bed and excellent location adjacent to the old market. Bathroom / shower stall could use a little more storage/shelf space - not much in the bathroom, although plenty in the bedroom itself. Stayed for 2 nights. Wide choice for breakfast including cooked-to-order piping hot food. Service prompt, friendly and welcoming. Excellent value for money. We...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LC52
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely 5* review. It's always great to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay. I will pass on your kind words to the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.

UK
Reviewed 9 May 2016

I spent 2 nights at the hotel at the beginning of May. The hotel does have a an old-fashioned look about it but perhaps this gives it some character. The key details were that my room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the hotel was generally really excellent value. Breakfast offered a good buffet spread, and I have to mention...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jomberwood
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are extremely grateful of the 4* rating. I'm glad you found the hotel to be characterful. It's also great to hear you found the rooms to be clean and comfortable and the hotel good value for money. Thank you for your comments regarding Stacey and...

157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (18)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
0.4 km away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
3.9 km away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#7 of 10 in Halifax
327 reviews
2.1 km away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
365 reviews
4.3 km away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality is situated in the heart of Halifax. We offer free Wi-Fi, limited parking, a fitness suite and we are 5 minutes walk from the Lloyds office, and less than a 10 minute walk from the railway station. All bedrooms are bright and airy. They are individually decorated, and each has ensuite facilities, tea/coffee making facilities, a hairdryer and flat screen televisions with satellite channels and Freeview. The Superior and Executive rooms also have modern bathrooms. Guests can enjoy a traditional Full English breakfast each morning, with lighter options also available. There is an authentic Italian restaurant. It offers fresh pastas, pizzas and steaks, and there is also a cosy lounge bar. The White Swan is within a 20 minute drive of the Calderdale Pennines and Bradford is just 10 miles away ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Address: Princess Street, Halifax HX1 1TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Price Range: $74 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#5 Family Hotel in Halifax
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we had a room at the front of the hotel and heard no noise from the street at all”
26margaretd, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“At the back, top floor, best at present!”
Hamptonbeaver, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 106 has a huge bathroom and separate living area plus does not overlook the road.”
SteveJ540, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room away from from of hotel.”
Hamptonbeaver, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“They will also accept dogs.”
399maureenw, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$57* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$57
Hotels.comUS$57
Booking.comUS$57
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates