We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Craiglynne Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Craiglynne Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

598 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Craiglynne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 564: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed weekend and asked for room at front of hotel as advised. Room 131 was tiny and the window had a long streak of bird mess in addition to a broken seal meaning the glass was constantly obscured by condensation. This was a pity as view would otherwise have been good. The sink was cracked and the radiator had seen... More 

Helpful?
Thank DHC53
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Firstly please accept my apologies that the room wasn’t to our usual standards, we have had our maintenance team look at the window and it does in fact need a new frame, I completely understand this is no consolation to yourself but I must thank... More 

Bonnybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had a fantastic weekend at the Craiglynne Hotel. Staff were great, in particular the head waiter (restaurant manager) Ian. There was a party of French tourists who complained about everything, they were at the table next to us and they had nothing to complain about. Food was superb. We requested 3 rooms together and we were allocated 206,207 &... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank carolmcalpine
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards Gemah More 

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The room was quite dated and small. There was no air conditioning but there was a window that opened and due to the time of year, this kept the room cool enough. There was free wireless but Internet was slow. The bed was OK. The bathroom was very basic. There is a bar with a decent selection of beer and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Seafoodtraveler
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us, I must apologise that the room was not to your liking, should you re-book with us please do not hesitate to give us a call and we can organise an upgrade free of charge. Many... More 

Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had made reservations at this hotel and on arrival found 3 coaches arriving at the same time. This was the second Crerar hotel in as many nights - the other being the Ben Wyvis in Strathpeffer. After an awful experience at the Ben Wyvis we hoped this one would be better. What a difference a day makes. No complaints... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank George D
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and we hope we can welcome you back to the Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards Gemah More 

fort-william
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have stayed at the craiglynne in grantown a lot of times over the years and happened to be looking to go away for my friends birthday last month when I seen they were having the Rod Stewart tribute night on we booked for two night (2couples) we can really say we had a brilliant night the dinner before the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank gran210
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and the entertainment we had organised, I have pass your kind comments on to the team here at the hotel. Please keep in touch with us direct to find out about our up... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights over the whisky festival. Had dinner on the 1st night, really nice and staff very attentive. Breakfast good. Only problem I had was because I had my dog with me obviously only select rooms, the room I got was so small I had to put the chair in the wardrobe to make room for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frances C
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we welcome all feedback from our guests and hope to work upon it to improve our standards and service. I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us and all the staff here are very appreciative of your kind comments regarding the service. I must apologise that the room... More 

Balfron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Having stayed in several Crerar Hotels I found this one above average. Fairly large hotel with imposing frontage set back from the main road with gardens and private road providing limited car parking but no real problem as a lot of users are bus parties. Rooms seem to vary but we were lucky and had no problems. The large dining... More 

Helpful?
Thank RHB711
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards Gemah More 

Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed a three night dinner bed and breakfast break in April. The room was quite large with a lovely big bathroom, all very clean and presentable. The food was of a very high standard, in particular my husband enjoyed the Finnan Haddie at breakfast. There was a good choice at dinner and breakfast and was... More 

Helpful?
Thank janette s
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their feedback. We were extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your break with us, and I have passed on your kind comments to the staff here at the hotel, and the chef was delighted... More 

1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in room 216, which was a single in area with a large double bed in it! Toilet very, very small no extracter so room ran with condensation! Toilet door did not close. Dinner below average, breakfast good.ø

Helpful?
Thank Derek_Glasgow01
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Firstly I must apologise that you were unhappy with your choice of room, I can confirm that room 216 is a standard sized rooms which hold a king sized bed, unfortunately you did not mention anything at the time, as we would have been more... More 

Travellers are raving about these Grantown-on-Spey hotels

Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
355 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was our first stay at the Craiglynne Hotel in Grantown-on-Spey though we have passed the hotel many, many times and always noted we were keen to stay there in the wonderful area it is situated in. Circumstances meant it was a truly last-minute booking – the night before we went for a two night stay. I booked through easy-breaks,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Larsonsmummy
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their reviews, for it is vital to our business to take the feedback and work on it to improve our standards and service. Firstly let me apologise you were not happy with your choice... More 

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
40.1 km away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
33.6 km away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
437 reviews
12.0 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,176 reviews
20.4 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: $103 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Craiglynne Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Craiglynne Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at front of hotel 107 and 108”
 of 5 bubbles hendy55, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 104 was absolutely tiny!”
 of 5 bubbles lydias633, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had room three with ground floor access and a good view out the front!!”
 of 5 bubbles Echt, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 115 has a very narrow door to the toilet”
 of 5 bubbles bigwellfan, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request rooms on the ground floor, 2,3, or 4 or the Macallan suite.”
 of 5 bubbles twoitalyfans, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay