We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Craiglynne Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$74*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lowest price we found
US$74*
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Craiglynne Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

628 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Craiglynne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 592: English reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here in April. The building is impressive, beautiful to look at and the lobby and entrance is lovely. Our room was very small, the sink was in the bedroom as the bathroom was too small for it and the shower was absolutely rubbish. Breakfast was lovely but the village itself has little options to grab...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mouseworm
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were pleased to read your review and that you enjoyed your stay with us must apologise that the room size and the shower wasn’t to your liking, I have checked back out complaints and feedback log and I couldn’t find anything noted, I am...

Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel looks quite impressive from the road ,but the rooms could do with an update,squeaky floorboards very noisy toilet flushes sounds like furniture being dragged across the floor.My son and his partner had a poor room which looked into a light well ,not a pleasant outlook covered in pigeon droppings.Our room looked out the front of the hotel,bathroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark P
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and we have passed your kind comments to that staff here at the hotel and also to Manuel who is extremely pleased to read your comments. I must apologise that your son’s room...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We spent a short break in The Craiglynne Hotel and were very impressed all round: from the Front-of-House Reception to the Dining Room Staff, Bar Staff and Cleaning Staff - everybody made us feel 'looked after' and very welcome. We booked for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed all our meals: the menu choice was marvellous, the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read your review, I have passed your kind comments on to the team here at the hotel and also the individuals mentioned, Louise, the reception, housekeeping and waiting team were pleased at your lovely comments regarding them and also our chef...

Highlands
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I first saw the Craiglynne about 65 years ago, when, to me, it represented unattainable luxury. It is no longer at the top end of the market and now seems to aim at bus party groups and (like us) mature "short bargain breakers". The Victorian buildings are still impressive but have their limitations. Our room was adequate but not large,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scotty062
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are extremely grateful for the time our guests take to leave their feedback. We are delighted to read your comments about our hotel and I am extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Once again many thanks and we hope we...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here on the 8th and 9th of June, I wasn't sure what to expect after reading the various reviews on this site but kept an open mind and glad I did. The lady on reception when we arrived was lovely and made us feel very welcome from the start. Our room was lovely with a great view, it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NormaEvo
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us, I have pass your kind comments on to the team here at the hotel and our barman was extremely pleased to read your comments. Once again many thanks for your review and we...

Southampton
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had a wonderful 3 night stay at this hotel. Wonderful scenery. Large bedroom in the tower with magnificent views. Pleasant and attentive staff. The only downside is that being an old building the floors creak and groan. Sometimes a problem if people move about late at night.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank YaYaSouthampton
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are extremely grateful for the time our guests take to leave their feedback. We are delighted to read your comments about our hotel and I am extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Once again many thanks and we hope we...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2014

food good staff lovely but room dismal cracked sink in bathroom bathroom floor dirty.Our dining experience was mixed menu pricing not ex plained to us,coffee instead of tea at breakfast,my husband asked for bacon and egg and received literally that 1 egg 1 slice of bacon !The lady on the next table had a good laugh.My husband asked for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mary g
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their reviews, for it is vital to our business to take the feedback and work on it to improve our standards and service. Firstly please accept my sincerest apologies that your bathroom floor was...

Banchory
Reviewed 2 June 2014

ust returned from a lovely weekend at Craiglynne. The dinners and Breakfasts were excellent and staff all very pleasant and helpful. Unfortunately the experience was let down by room 131. This room was far too small for 2 friends to share, no room to move around had to take it in turns to vacate room so that other person could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mgscm
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we welcome all feedback from our guests and hope to work upon it to improve our standards and service. Firstly please accept my apologies that the room wasn’t to our usual standards, we have had our maintenance team look at the window and it does in fact need a new...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Booked this place on easy breaks for two nights for a bargain price but was a little apprehensive about going after reading some of the reviews on here. Have to say I needn't have worried as it was great. We had a nice quiet and spacious twin room on the second floor at the front of the hotel. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rebecca V
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their reviews, for it is vital to our business to take the feedback and work on it to improve our standards and service. I am terribly sorry your room wasn’t made up for your...

Bonnybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had a fantastic weekend at the Craiglynne Hotel. Staff were great, in particular the head waiter (restaurant manager) Ian. There was a party of French tourists who complained about everything, they were at the table next to us and they had nothing to complain about. Food was superb. We requested 3 rooms together and we were allocated 206,207 &...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carolmcalpine
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards Gemah

165 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
39.3 km away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
33.4 km away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
4.4 km away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
709 reviews
4.4 km away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
482 reviews
7.2 km away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: $95 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Craiglynne Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Craiglynne Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if you have a dog get room near an exit so you dont have to take the dog through the dining room and reception.”
scot-smiley, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front offer the best view”
S4993WUcatherineb, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a decent room with a front view”
ishbelcromore, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid Room 115 as too close to the kitchens”
martinrice1958, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“South side faces the road, and it is on the Malt Whisky trail - but quiet at night anyway.”
jimibob, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$74* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates