We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Angel Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Angel Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 85: English reviews
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were trying to find somewhere to eat a roast dinner with our 2 dogs on New Year's Day, after 4 unsuccessful attempts at various establishments around Coleford and surrounding area our last attempt was The Angel Hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, the food was good and we thought quite reasonably priced and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarolPExmouth
east sussex
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It has a good reputation and does have a buzz about about it. However, on the occasion visited several days ago at lunch time foe a snack and coffee. The service was very slow and the prices for luncheon items is high. Four coffees and four lunches would be £50. Over priced in my mind. We left before ordering food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gsxrEastSussex
Bristol
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Six of us stayed, we had a warm welcome and the rooms were lovely, we had dinner which was very good and also enjoyed a wonderful night with great people in the packed bar with spot on entertainment. Breakfast was as expected, large and of good quality, would we stay again? Too bloody right we will......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerrian
Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my partner staying over night for New Years Eve and the night was fabulous! Room was immaculate and stunning, food was beautiful and the service was friendly and welcoming. Will defiantly return again for a longer stay!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jessbutler7
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

...Worth a visit just for a glimpse of Layla :) ... The Forest of Dean area is brill for exploring with lots to do, Littledean prison museum is a must see & the local pubs a very quant... would recommend !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mick T
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

We regularly visit. Always find the staff polite and friendly. We sometimes eat here and have never found fault with the food Though the building and general decor is dated. And in need of a good clean.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank martinhF9576RD
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

We had a very warm welcome . Came hear for a rave . To be presently suprised at our fantastic room. We have a very enjoyable stay will be back very soon room perfect . Staff perfect breakfast perfect. Only let down was the rude people in the bar telling us how awfull we looked and to go get changed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Princess L
shropshire
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Spent a great three day break in the Forest of Dean - enjoying the autumn colours. Made even better with our choice of accommodation at the Angel. Great value for money, staff very friendly and helpful, standard of accommodation was great with comfort level plus on the beds. Food in restaurant very good and our waiter Jordan(big!) was a delight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamshropshire
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review, we work hard to try and make every guests visit a special one and we have pasted on your comments to the team including big Jordan W e hope to see you next time your in the forest area. Kind regards Sam & Richard

Swindon
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I've seen variable reviews before our visit but overall we had a very good experience. Not perfect but almost perfect. We stayed on a Saturday night. There is a large-ish no nonsense bar with a lot of locals and a separate door leading to the hotel reception area. There is also a nice dining room separate to the bar and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Splodge_8
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments about your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time and we have shared it with the team. Your tip about the parking is very useful and I hope future guests get to read this review. Kind regards Richard & Sam

London
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Room and bathroom wasn't very clean, drain in the shower was blocked and shower also made terrible loud noise. Visible blood stain on the bathroom door. Mould around windows. Not great for the money we paid.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zuzu_22London
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your frank review, we are obviously disappointed that you felt you did not get value for your money. We have spoken to housekeeping about the issues you have mentioned but have to say no visible signs of blood where found. Unfortunately the slow shower drains are an on going issue due to the age of the plumbing....

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
4.7 km away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
637 reviews
2.7 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
575 reviews
0.4 km away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Forest House
Forest House
#5 of 10 in Coleford
31 reviews
1.7 km away
Stowfield Barn
Stowfield Barn
#1 of 2 in Newland
55 reviews
5.5 km away
Ferndale House
Ferndale House
#1 of 3 in Lydbrook
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: Market Place, Coleford GL16 8AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Price Range: $98 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Angel Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Forest Of Dean/Coleford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Angel Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Angel Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They are all good”
 of 5 bubbles Gerrian, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 104 - four poster bed and large room size”
 of 5 bubbles jamshropshire, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 101 for quiet rear-facing windows but occasional muffled noise from heating.”
 of 5 bubbles Splodge_8, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not a place where I would go back”
 of 5 bubbles zuzu_22London, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Think every room on every floor was exceptional, will definitely go back”
 of 5 bubbles , 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay