We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Angel Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Angel Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 80: English reviews
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We regularly visit. Always find the staff polite and friendly. We sometimes eat here and have never found fault with the food Though the building and general decor is dated. And in need of a good clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martinhF9576RD
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a very warm welcome . Came hear for a rave . To be presently suprised at our fantastic room. We have a very enjoyable stay will be back very soon room perfect . Staff perfect breakfast perfect. Only let down was the rude people in the bar telling us how awfull we looked and to go get changed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Princess L
shropshire
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Spent a great three day break in the Forest of Dean - enjoying the autumn colours. Made even better with our choice of accommodation at the Angel. Great value for money, staff very friendly and helpful, standard of accommodation was great with comfort level plus on the beds. Food in restaurant very good and our waiter Jordan(big!) was a delight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamshropshire
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review, we work hard to try and make every guests visit a special one and we have pasted on your comments to the team including big Jordan W e hope to see you next time your in the forest area. Kind regards Sam & Richard

Swindon
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I've seen variable reviews before our visit but overall we had a very good experience. Not perfect but almost perfect. We stayed on a Saturday night. There is a large-ish no nonsense bar with a lot of locals and a separate door leading to the hotel reception area. There is also a nice dining room separate to the bar and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Splodge_8
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments about your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time and we have shared it with the team. Your tip about the parking is very useful and I hope future guests get to read this review. Kind regards Richard & Sam

London
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Room and bathroom wasn't very clean, drain in the shower was blocked and shower also made terrible loud noise. Visible blood stain on the bathroom door. Mould around windows. Not great for the money we paid.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zuzu_22London
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your frank review, we are obviously disappointed that you felt you did not get value for your money. We have spoken to housekeeping about the issues you have mentioned but have to say no visible signs of blood where found. Unfortunately the slow shower drains are an on going issue due to the age of the plumbing....

Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

It's currently 1am and all I can here whilst laid in bed is the thump, thump, thump of music. I suppose that it is a Friday night but I never expected it to be this bad! On top of that I've been placed in a room at the front of the hotel over looking the main entrance and also the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HMF20120915
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Mrs Farmer,we very much would like to apologize for your stay at The Angel.Unfortunately being in the town centre,however convenient, for the shops,cinema etc we will always experience traffic and footfall through Coleford. We are glad that your room and evening meal was a plus point,as this is something within our control,unlike the outside noise. You mentioned to our assistant...

Reviewed 11 October 2016

Lovely clean hotel, room and lovely meal on the Saturday night and friends came to join us and they joined us for breakfast that morning too. Had the best sleep in the two nights we stayed there ( the bed was so comfy)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
Angel H, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again. Regards Sam & Richard

Northants, UK
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Overall disappointed but I guess for £74 a night we shouldn't have expected anymore. It was great the reviews on both this website and another that made me book it. I could pick faults in lots of things but the only thing we did mention was the fact the heating in our room was not working after the first night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissLBNorthants_UK
Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

This was my first time in the forest of dean and although the surrounding areas are good we found coleford quiet. The angel inn is in the town centre and has a small carpark although there is a free carpark within 5 minutes walking from the hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfast on the first morning was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mazmoore
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed last night as we had a wedding in the area. Hotel staff were very helpful in allowing us to check in early so we could get to the wedding in time. Check in was quick and easy, the staff were very kind and helpful. We had a twin room for £79 for the night. The room was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chantelleandmel
Angel H, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope if you are in the area again we will be able to help you again Regards Sam & Richard

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
4.7 km away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
630 reviews
2.7 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
562 reviews
0.3 km away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Forest House
Forest House
#5 of 10 in Coleford
30 reviews
1.7 km away
Stowfield Barn
Stowfield Barn
#1 of 2 in Newland
54 reviews
5.5 km away
Ferndale House
Ferndale House
#1 of 3 in Lydbrook
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: Market Place, Coleford GL16 8AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Price Range: $97 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Angel Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Hotel.de so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Forest Of Dean/Coleford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Angel Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Angel Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 104 - four poster bed and large room size”
 of 5 bubbles jamshropshire, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 101 for quiet rear-facing windows but occasional muffled noise from heating.”
 of 5 bubbles Splodge_8, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not a place where I would go back”
 of 5 bubbles zuzu_22London, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Think every room on every floor was exceptional, will definitely go back”
 of 5 bubbles , 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“no preference”
 of 5 bubbles PeterRubbish, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay