We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Speech House Hotel

Expedia.comUS$73*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$89*
US$73*
US$89*
US$89*
US$73*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Speech House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

692 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Speech House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 692: English reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Stopped by after work for a cream tea with friends. Lovely relaxing end to a busy day. All the beverages were nice and hot and the cakes tasty as usual. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff on duty. Good experience and we will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frances P
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Frances P Thanks for leaving a review on your recent visit for your afternoon tea. I am delighted to read that you had a relaxing end to your day and enjoyed your afternoon tea and that you were well looked after by my team. I have passed on your very kind comments to them. We look forward to welcoming...

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

I wanted some American friends to experience scones with clotted cream and jam and Speech House was recommended. We weren't disappointed although I thought that the scones were a little on the small side.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cjwales1312
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cjwales1312 Many thanks for leaving feedback on your visit to the Speech House yesterday. I am glad that you enjoyed your cream tea and that you were not disappointed with your experience. I hope you all had a safe journey home and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes Peter Hands Director/Proprietor

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2016

We spend two nights here as part of a family wedding, it's set in a great location, and the staff are very helpful. We had a four poster bedroom, which was nice, but feel that the hotel now needs a make over. Our room was number 5, and I would not expect to see the marks and scratches on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mick1234567
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mick1234567, Thanks for leaving a review on your recent stay with us at the Speech House. I can assure you that the hotel has a rolling maintenance programme to repair scratches and marks caused by guests during their stays. We do try to ensure that these are monitored and that our rooms are kept up to a high standard....

Worcester
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Whilst attending an evening function elsewhere we booked a night at the Speech House. The accommodation was very good and comfortable. The breakfast was cooked to order and excellent. All the staff were polite and helpful. On our arrival we saw the afternoon tea being served. We will revisit if only for the afternoon tea. The daffodils were in full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dandgWorcester
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for leaving a review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased that everything was to your satisfaction and that you were well looked after by my team throughout your stay. We are a very popular destination for our afternoon teas and thank you for your observation on how good they looked. We all look forward...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2016

I am only writing this review because I feel that the management should be aware that their staff are really close to delivering something really nice to their visitors - but aren't. On arrival I asked for a Gin and Tonic which was served with a tiny amount of ice. I asked for more but by the time that was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adrian B
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adrian B, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit to the Speech House. Thank you for pointing out the issues that caused you to become frustrated and where we appeared to have fallen below our usual standards. I am afraid that the days of branded glassware being supplied by Gordons and other...

Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

Wonderful meal, a menu worthy of a mention in the Forest of Dean . The prices were competitive but the quality was amazing. Staff were so good, our tiny waitress was unobtrusive and so calm and helpful. The gentleman who was serving and generally attending was great suggesting meals for the men and got it spot on. Wine was good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nanasaeitch17
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nanasaeitch17, Thank you for leaving a review on your recent family meal at the Speech House. I am so glad you all enjoyed your meal and that my team looked after you well throughout. I would like to reassure you that our wines are extremely good value for money and very competitive within the Forest area. Thank you again...

bristol
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

We have made yet another visit to the Speechouse hotel. The ambient atmosphere and good quality food and during made for very relaxing couple of hours. Lauren , our waitress was professional with a most pleasant approach to service. No wonder we her returning .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kenhart
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kenhart Thanks for your review on your recent visit to The Speech House. I am delighted that you returned and that my team looked after you during your visit. It is always good to know our customers are happy, and I have passed on your very kind comments to Lauren and the rest of my team. We all look...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2016

We spent 2 nights at Speech House as part of a Great Glen Wildlife trip and were quite impressed. The room was small but cleverly furnished to make use of space and clean and comfortable. The food was very good and the staff on duty at dinner and breakfast were attentive and helpful without being over obtrusive. The location is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard A
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard A, Thanks for leaving a review on your recent stay with us as part of the Wildlife trip. I am so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you enjoyed your meals. I have passed on your very kind comments to all my team and I am glad they looked after you both throughout...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Nice hotel with great history in the beautiful settings of the Forest of Dean. Loads of activities in the area, lovely staff and very good food in both restaurants. Rooms are nice and very clean. All in all a very pleasant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aron7777
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aron7777, Many thanks for leaving feedback on your recent stay with us. Thank you for your very kind comments which I have passed on to my team. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals in both the Orangery and the Verderers Court. We are indeed fortunate to be at the very centre of the Royal Forest...

Hornsea, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2016

We took two rooms for three nights at The Speech House for our recent visit to Cheltenham Races. As per a previous stay many years earlier everything was perfect and well organised. The guys managing and working in the hotel really go out of their way to do everything possible. Rooms - Excellent, Food - Excellent for both Breakfast and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard K Thanks for leaving a review on your recent stay with us during the Cheltenham Festival. We were delighted to see you and your party again and hope that you had a successful festival. Thank you for your very kind comments which I have passed on to all my team and I am delighted was to your satisfaction....

564 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (459)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Bridal Suite (56)
Viewed
Cosy Main House Double Room (36)
Viewed
Cottage Double Room (24)
Viewed
Courtyard Double Room (27)
Viewed
Courtyard Four Poster Room (33)
Viewed
Courtyard Twin Room (34)
Viewed
Family Room (42)
Viewed
Master Four Poster Room (52)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Superior Main House Twin Room (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
6.2 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
626 reviews
4.3 km away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
12.5 km away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
529 reviews
21.0 km away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,413 reviews
13.6 km away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Formerly built in 1669, as a Hunting Lodge for Charles II the Speech House sits at the heart of the Royal Forest of Dean.The main house has 15 bedrooms including three antique four poster beds.The remainder of rooms are situated in the Courtyard and Cottage.The hotel is home to one of only two Verderers Courts in the UK and is used as the main restaurant for the hotel.The hotel offers a wide range of room type to suit all budgets, and is pet friendly in the Courtyard rooms, subject to availability.The Orangery is open to non residents for morning coffee,aftrernoon teas, and bar lunches and evening meals.Free Wi Fi is available to residents for 1 hour during their stay and then it is subject to a small charge.There are approximately 253 miles of walking and cycling trails on the doorstep of the hotel. Speechhouse is an ideal venue for touring the Wye Valley,Gloucestershire and the Southern Cotswolds and South Wales. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Speech House Hotel

Address: Speech House Road | Speech House, Coleford GL16 7EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Price Range: $145 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Speech House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Speech House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speech Hotel Coleford
The Speech House Hotel Forest Of Dean/Coleford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Speech House Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Bristol, United Kingdom
Wales
over a year ago
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Speech House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in the main hotel for best WiFi signal”
H2335LDmarkr, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at front of hotel do suffer from road noise”
dear17, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“court yard rooms very quite”
phillipwillis, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“do not choose a courtyard room”
Ebonytreasure, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Wide choice of room styles, with four poster bedded rooms on the first floor. No lift to second floor bedrooms, if you have mobility issues.”
BillH658, 5 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$73* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$89
TripAdvisorUS$73
Hotwire.comUS$89
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates