We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Captain's Club Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Captain\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

641 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 639: English reviews
Start your review of Captain's Club Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We loved this hotel when we stayed recently for a night. We had a suite with two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a lounge/diner with kitchenette. All topped off with a beautiful river view. The bar restaurant was excellent and we had a super meal. Breakfast in the morning set us up for the day and was the best hotel breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizally47
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were really thrilled with our stay at the Captain's Club. the staff were welcoming and friendly. The room was comfortable and we were afforded a lovely view of the river. The hotel is really well placed and a very short walk into Christchurch. The only thing that I would have changed was the extrernal metal canopy above our window...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather_May_Stanley
TimothyLloyd, Hotel Director at Captain's Club Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your birthday weekend stay. I will pass on your feedback to the crew about them all being friendly and welcoming, that is so good to hear. We are very lucky in terms of our location as we have the riverside setting and yet such a...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Everything from start to finish was perfect from the reception to the bar to the restaurant to the spa. Wow is all I can say greeted and welcomed with such kindness and happiness. Value for money 5/5, can not fault this amazing hotel in the slightest, beautiful views over the river from your room, food in the restaurant and service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Young727
TimothyLloyd, Hotel Director at Captain's Club Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other readers and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. We always aim to go beyond expectations so when this happens it is lovely to have such positive feedback. Like you we are very much looking forward to your return at the end of March.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

There was no coordination between waitress and bar staff. We received our pastries from the waitress 15 minutes before bar staff arrived with the tea and coffee. Disappointing as it's given 4 star rating!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thistledae
TimothyLloyd, Hotel Director at Captain's Club Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept my apology for this unfortunate situation. Fortunately this is not a regular occurrence, as you will see from other reviews, so I do hope that you will give us a further chance in order that we can show you we are worthy of our four star rating. We do, however, accept all feedback whether good or bad in...

Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here with our two daughters. We had a two bedroom suite overlooking the river which was lovely and very spacious. It even had a fully fitted kitchen which was a great bonus. Very friendly staff. We had dinner in our room, they laid the table beautifully and made it a special occasion with their attention...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Foodfire
TimothyLloyd, Hotel Director at Captain's Club Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us and so pleased that you enjoyed all the special touches. We very much look forward to your next visit.

Bournemouth
Reviewed 5 February 2017

As the numbers grew for a post Memorial Service reception , we looked around for a larger venue than our home . The Starboard Suite was available and with only 3 days notice the staff organised and catered the event . The room itself was uplifting ,warm , beautifully laid out and overlooking the river. Staff were on hand to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SallyWin
TimothyLloyd, Hotel Director at Captain's Club Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review Sally and I am truly delighted that our team at the Captain's Club Hotel were able to make your memorial afternoon, a pleasant and relaxed occasion. We very much look forward to welcoming you again soon for happier reasons. With our best wishes for 2017....

Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights. Check in was smooth and easy -Nicci on reception was great very friendly and professional. We were shown to our room and wow! Lovely and clean with floor to ceiling windows and a fab view of the river. Had dinner in the restaurant very nice , service was very pleasant and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Farmps
TimothyLloyd, Hotel Director at Captain's Club Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive critique of your recent stay at the Captain's Club Hotel. As a privately owned and managed hotel, we very much welcome guest feedback in order to constantly improve and as such I was delighted to read that you loved our rooms and the service offered throughout the club. We are sorry that you were disappointed...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Mum and I had a voucher as a gift. The spa although small was lovely and the staff were fantastic. Sadly when we arrived early we decided to have coffee in the bar. Juliet gave us menus and then disappeared. She didn't return for our order before we went to the spa some 25 min later. After the spa we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tine1971
TimothyLloyd, Hotel Director at Captain's Club Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review Martine following your recent visit to the Captain's Club Hotel. I was delighted to read that you felt our spa was lovely and that our team in there was fantastic. I was sorry to read however that you didn't receive our usual high level of service in the lounge. Juliet, our Guest Relations...

New Milton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Went there with a friend and his daughter for a light late lunch. I ordered the club sandwich that was recommended by my friend. It was really nice. The bread was nicely grilled with smoky taste, nice egg mayonnaise sauce, bacon, grilled chicken, tomato and lettuce. Served with a bag of crisps. It was so nice that I went there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frenchy28Chartres
TimothyLloyd, Hotel Director at Captain's Club Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your glowing review about your Captain's Club Sandwich experiences! We are delighted that you enjoyed it so much that you came back for more and that Will looked after you so well. Hope to see you again very soon...

Neath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2017

The room was large, comfortable and overlooking the river. Well equipped and clean and the bed was very very comfortable. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. The location was perfect for a relaxing weekend with gentle walks. I would certainly stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 746diane
TimothyLloyd, Hotel Director at Captain's Club Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Diane...it was fantastic to read that you had such an enjoyable and relaxing weekend with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you again very soon. With our best wishes for 2017...

184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (150)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
2.6 km away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
695 reviews
7.3 km away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#1 of 11 in Christchurch
358 reviews
3.9 km away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
313 reviews
6.2 km away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Captain's Club Hotel & Spa
Captain's Club Hotel & Spa
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modern four silver star hotel located on the banks of the river Stour close to the historic market town of Christchurch in rural Dorset. Hotel comprises of 12 lifestyle suites, each with a separate lounge/living area and either two or three bedrooms sleeping from 1 to 6 people. The hotel boasts a cocktail bar with award winning bar-tenders and a 2 AA rosette restaurant. Event facilities for up to 100 and a bijou spa complete with hydro-therapy pool, sauna and four treatment rooms. The suites have air-conditioning to the lounge/living area and the hotel bedrooms are air conditioned throughout. The alfresco dining terrace is open all summer and provides a perfect location to soak up the atmosphere of life on a busy river. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Captain's Club Hotel

Address: Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Price Range: $257 - $597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Captain's Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Christchurch
The Captains Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel Christchurch, UK - Dorset
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Captain's Club Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Dubai, United Arab Emirates

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Captain's Club Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms not used for this event .”
 of 5 bubbles SallyWin, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All are river facing, but if you can book an apartment it is worth the extra cost.”
 of 5 bubbles Rufus237, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms face the river and are all beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles 3tracy123, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Every room is special with brilliant river views.”
 of 5 bubbles Brian083, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we only had lunch and some tables are out of the wind look for them great river views.”
 of 5 bubbles cb512016, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5