We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Abbotsford Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Abbotsford Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Abbotsford Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 174: English reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely and comfortable stay at this b&b. Hosts are lovely people and very helpful. Breakfast is amazing. The location of this b&b is very good in term of nearby restaurants, pubs , tourist attractions ect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pooooj
Dave M, Owner at Abbotsford Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad you enjoyed the stay and the breakfast. Best regards to your mum and dad and hope they have a safe journey home. Dave & Dina

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

This place is a must for anyone wanting to stay in Callander & only a 5 minute walk into town. The hosts are very helpful & provided us with safe parking for our motorcycles, we were also upgraded on our arrival which was a lovely surprise, we stayed in room 4 which was a huge suite with a first class...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The H
Dave M, Owner at Abbotsford Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, So glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope you had a great time in Applecross. I wish I'd had more time to swap some bike stories. Perhaps next time. All the best Dave & Dina

PEVENSEY
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We had a great nights stay as a family of five as rooms were comfortable and spacious. Owners were very friendly and happy to help. Good quality local restaurants too. Would highly recommend to others.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rnelson221
Dave M, Owner at Abbotsford Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for the review and the recommendation. We hope to see you again in future. Kind regards Dave & Dina

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 August 2016

The staff were great but uncaring, noisy neighbours spoilt our stay. Walls are a bit thin so we could hear everything going on next door...nothing sounded too healthy! Nice dinner at the Italian 5 minutes walk down the road.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank funlover77
Dave M, Owner at Abbotsford Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for the review and so sorry your stay was disturbed by a noisy neighbour. If you ever return, I'll make sure you are in a room where you cannot be disturbed in this way. Kind regards Dave & Dina

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

The hosts clearly valued all their visitors and while sitting at breakfast (which was delicious). It was good to witness a level of customer service and "genuine" friendly chat with each table, that can be missing from other 4-5 star establishments. I had a good sleep and the room was great. Lastly the quality of the wifi was excellent something...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank damnesia79
Dave M, Owner at Abbotsford Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for taking to time to submit a review. I'm so glad you enjoyed the visit and it's great to see that you noticed our wifi!! :-) We have recently installed a new system which guarantees complete coverage throughout the guest house. Hope to see you again in future. Kind regards Dave & Dina

Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night whilst touring Scotland. The room allocated to us was a double (room number 10) which had a shared bathroom. This wasn't as bad as I had thought and we never saw who we were sharing with. The room was beautifully decorated, however my husband and I had a terrible nights sleep - hence the rating....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sab530
Dave M, Owner at Abbotsford Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the review. I was expecting it although for a different reason. Your complete displeasure at having a room with a shared bathroom was evident as soon as you entered the building and clearly set the tone for your stay. The fact that you had BOOKED a room with a shared bathroom seemed to have escaped your attention....

durham
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We stayed one night in a lovely room that was welcoming and spotlessly clean and decorated to a very high standard with a welcoming touch of a small box of chocolates. The welcome was lovely and when we return from an evening walk we were welcomed with a whisky from a great host. But without any doubt the breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathlene s
Dave M, Owner at Abbotsford Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Kathleen, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and glad you enjoyed your wee dram. We look forward to meeting you again soon. Kind regards Dave & Dina

Lund, Sweden
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Great location, fabulous hosts. One of the best breakfasts I have ever had ( and that includes 5 Star hotels). Would absolutely stay there again. Lots to see in and around Callander - the Kelpies in Falkirk, Doune Castle, The Trossachs.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NormaAndersson
Dave M, Owner at Abbotsford Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for the kind review and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in the area. We very much look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Dave & Dina

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at Abbotsford, it was one of the best we have had during our three weeks trip throughout Scotland. The friendliness of the staff and the high quality of the service is particularly worth to be noted.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mjs60
Witham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We spent one night in Callander and are so pleased we booked this guest house. Received a great Scottish welcome when we arrived which made us feel at home immediately. Beautifully decorated with lots of typically Scottish accessories - loved it. We had an en-suite bedroom which had everything you might need - all very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 33Genie33

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.4 km away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
383 reviews
1.4 km away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
1.0 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 6 in Callander
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Coppice House
Coppice House
#1 of 35 in Callander
300 reviews
0.7 km away
Annfield Guest House
Annfield Guest House
#2 of 35 in Callander
447 reviews
0.4 km away
Glengarry Guest House
Glengarry Guest House
#6 of 35 in Callander
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Abbotsford Lodge is under new management. Dave and Dina very much look forward to welcoming you to the Lodge. Our aim is to make your stay memorable and to provide you with an accommodation and culinary experience you will want to repeat. We are located within the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park and in an enviable position whereby it is within walking distance of the bustling town and local amenities, yet a short ride away from Doune Castle, Stirling, Glasgow and Edinburgh. We have off street hard standing parking to the front of the property, 3 electric vehicle charging points (2 Tesla, one universal), parking at the rear for motorcycles and secure storage for bicycles. A drying room is available for wet weather clothes. Whatever kind of break you have in mind, whether walking the Rob Roy Way, or taking in the scenery from around the Trossachs area, we think we can oblige. You can enjoy beautiful walks, fabulous cycling and hill climbing with Ben Ledi on your doorstep or if you prefer, just staying local and switching off; Abbotsford Lodge is perfectly located. We have a comfortable guest lounge where you can sit, relax and enjoy. All our rooms have recently been upgraded with the addition of flat screen HD television and USB charging points. We have broadband wireless Internet available throughout the building. As well as our beautiful en-suite double, twin and family rooms, we can also offer two spectacular superior double rooms, featuring super king size beds, seating areas, 40” flat screen televisions, robes, slippers, tea and fresh coffee, complimentary mineral waters and chocolates. For guests wishing to leave early, or do not want to be restricted, we offer room only prices for our rooms. A continental style buffet breakfast, can be ordered at the time of booking, or why not try a traditional cooked Scottish breakfast or our chefs special Scottish smoked salmon on a toasted croissant or fresh buttermilk pancakes and maple syrup…the choice is yours. We guarantee your stay will exceed all your expectations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abbotsford Lodge

Address: Stirling Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8DA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Price Range: $126 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbotsford Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbotsford Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbotsford Lodge Callander, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Abbotsford Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room with a regular (not electric) shower”
nb100002013, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our standard double was a bit cramped but had a spacious en suite and a comfy bed.”
C7452VVannec, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms were brilliant when we visited in October with an elderly relative.”
richardcC2874FJ, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All appeared exceptional - you won't be disappointed”
654kathrync, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for rooms at front with en suite bathroom”
979nikkis, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5