We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Balmer Lawn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,548 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,544: English reviews
Start your review of Balmer Lawn
 Click to rate
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Thank you all at the Balmer Lawn Hotel for all your hard work making our wedding day perfect. Every thing went like clock work, the venue was beautifuly prepared, the food exceptional and the attention to detail first class. A special thank you to Kate for all you help. We had a wonderful weekend. Would highly recommend this hotel for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stanley M
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A present from our sons..a night away staying at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. The food was good and the staff very polite and courteous but the room was awful! Very basic just look at my photos! Cracked tiles, dirty paint work and a terrible view out. The outside gardens were very unkept and the whole exterior needs a good facelift!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
Chris W, Owner at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Maureen C Thank you for commenting positively about the quality of our food and the friendliness of the staff. I am very sorry to read the rest of your review, we have 54 rooms to choose from and they are all individually photographed and visible on our website. I think the difficulty has arisen as your son's booked and...

New Forest, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My mother and I had booked a day in the spa with a three course lunch and a treatment to celebrate our birthdays and had been looking forward to the day. We were shown to the spa with towels and were not given robes, this meant that every time one of us needed the toilet of to go to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naomi M
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Naomi M I am sorry to read your review of your recent spa day with us. I can understand how not receiving the towels and robes at the outset has detracted from the initial welcome at the Spa. It seems the spa team were all in treatments when you arrived and the receptionist failed to see your garments all...

UK
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have reviewed this hotel before, it was last year for our anniversary and as promised we returned. It was just too good of an experience not to go again plus this area is very special to us as a couple and I couldn't recommend anywhere better to people to spend their time than the Balmer Lawn Hotel. We once...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Intel1980
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Intel1980 What a fantastic review, that surely is praise indeed returning year after year. Again I can only apologise for the disruption- you are right, it is not something that we can control but I am certainly glad that our team managed to move you to a quieter room and you really enjoyed your time with us. I will...

cambs
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at the Balmer Lawn Hotel over the Easter weekend for a relatives 70th birthday. It was fantastic!! The accommodation, staff, atmosphere & not least the food. We stayed on a half board basis and where so glad we did, the breakfast is great with a wide variety of breakfast dishes on offer. The dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenn93
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear jenn93 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the birthday celebrations with us along with the hotel and its facilities. I do hope that we might have the chance of welcoming you back in the future.

Cobham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visit the New Forest frequently, and the lovely, friendly, customer focused Balmer Lawn always make my partner and I and our two dogs feel completely welcome. I travel a fair bit, and this (I believe privately owned) hotel has always come across as very well managed - the staff all seem genuinely happy to help you (a feeling that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NAMBP
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear NAMBP What a really complementary review of our lovely hotel, staff and facilities. Yes you are right- the Hotel is privately owned by the Wilson family. They will have owned it for 20 years this October and it is very dear to their hearts. To hear that our guests love the hotel as much as they do is fantastic...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Gorgeous hotel, staff couldn't do enough to help. Rooms lovely with a really comfortable bed and great views. Bathrooms a little tired but very clean. Stayed for 2 nights for a special family birthday, had our own private room for the occasion. Food was delicious and were waited on hand and foot. Tried out the pool, sauna and jacuzzi. Pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cheryle735
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear cheryl735 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and you managed to use all our facilities. I hope we can welcome you back again very soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were there for a big birthday family get-together. There were 12 of us staying for two nights. We hired a private room for our dinners which was a perfect size and very welcoming. The staff were helpful, pleasant and efficient. Being a bank holiday and full, together with running weddings every day it was extremely busy. This did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janicer111
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear janicer111 Thank you for such a fantastic review. Yes the weekend was extremely busy so to hear that everything went as smoothly for you all is fantastic. Yes you are quite right- we are in the process of upgrading our rooms. This is a large job and will take some time but i hope if you return you will...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I wanted a nice pet friendly hotel to go to that was luxurious and friendly. This was absolutely perfect. The dog was made very welcome and the service was friendly and efficient. I also had a spa treatment. First time I have truly relaxed in a long time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Kathy B Thank you for your review. i am so glad you enjoyed your spa treatment- I will pass all your comments to the team. I hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The afternoon tea was booked as a surprise by my other half and I have to say it was the best I've had. As soon as we arrived we were welcomed and made to feel special by a lovely receptionist. Aternoon tea itself was so beautifully presented that I had to take a photo. The food was delicious and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny321985
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Jenny321985 Thank you so much for your glowing review and for giving Samantha a special mention. I was so pleased to read you enjoyed the afternoon tea- I will pass all your comments to the Kitchen team, they will be delighted. I hope we can welcome you back again very soon.

816 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (338)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (121)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (352)
Viewed
Amenities (86)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (13)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (24)
Viewed
Suite (42)
Viewed
Suite, Front Aspect (35)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (126)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (50)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
4.0 km away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,650 reviews
12.1 km away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,718 reviews
8.4 km away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
999 reviews
5.0 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.5 km away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Beresfords Restaurant
Beresfords Restaurant
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A good quality 4 Star Hotel & Spa set right in the heart of the beautiful New Forest National Park. We have extensive leisure facilities - indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, 6 Spa treatment rooms and relaxation area, tennis and squash courts and fully equipped gym. Beresford's our award winning restaurant with 2 AA Rosettes offers some of the finest locally sourced foods in the area. You can access the Forest directly from the hotel. We have 6 rooms suitable for private, wedding and conference/corporate use. The hotel is privately owned and managed and we pride ourselves on offering great service. Book directly with the hotel for the best rates and room allocations inclusive of a full English breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Balmer Lawn

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Price Range: $200 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmer Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Balmer Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer Lawn Hotel Brockenhurst
Balmer Lawn Brockenhurst, UK - New Forest
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Balmer Lawn staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Balmer Lawn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Views great from most rooms. Very spacious.”
cheryle735, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“1st floor saves the walk with the bags”
robertf378, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the pool are nice.”
solomona612, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“quieter rooms are at the rear of the hotel and don't face the road.”
657martinb, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You can view each room online which is helpful when making a choice. Balcony rooms are perfect for the summer”
542sallyb, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5