We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

West Country Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
West Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for West Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 122: English reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed three nights as travelled 400 miles for a family funeral.We were welcomed by Laura who was fantastic and so helpful.Our room was lovely with a huge bed and great views also very clean.The food was gorgeous and very good value as was the entire stay here.Will definitely be going back for a happier circumstances break.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy R
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are always here to help in what ever way we are able. It was lovely to read that you liked the cleanliness of our room with great views and lovely huge bed and that the food was 'gorgeous'. This is everything we could ever wish for. I do hope that...

Reviewed 21 September 2016

I enjoyed a holiday recently in Clovelly with my sisters and brother and three little dogs, we were welcomed into the Inn with open arms to enjoy an evening meal with my pooches in tow; We all had different meals and I have to say my family are very hard to please, but the food was fabulous My sister and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Irene W
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review Irene. I will pass your comments on to the Staff. I do hope we will have the opportunity to look after your party again. Best wishes, Laura.

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016

The inn is right on the main road so there is traffic noise, especially if you are in a room at the front. Lots of character and reputedly haunted! The inn has been recently recarpeted and new curtains. Also has a well equipped gym and a jacuzzi, both of which are a bit incongruous really and do not appear to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anonK7060AR
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback. With reference to the gym & spa, it is constantly in use by residents who elect to use it and certainly not 'incongruous'. There is a huge poster outside the building advertising and showing the facilities and it is displayed on our website. One family booked the Inn exclusively for the use of...

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

I was really surprised to see the negative reviews on here after a lovely break in the Inn. The rooms were homely and clean and the staff and management were all very chatty and helpful. Breakfast was just right - good sized full English without overdoing things. Access was great to local places being just off the A39 - heard...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave B
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Dave, What a lovely review, thank you! I am so happy that you liked our staff, management and the Inn. I will look forward to meet you when ever you decide to visit again, I would be most delighted to serve you. Kind regards, Laura.

Monza, Lombardia, Italy
Reviewed 31 August 2016

I've made a reservation through booking, in the reservation i've informed them of my dog's presence and their answer was a charge of 12,5 pounds each, so i've canceled the reservation in less than 24 our, and they took the entire payment in any case, and now after 2 months I'm still struggling to have my money back, cancellation was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manuela B
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Manuela, Our reservation policy states that cancellations must be made 48 hours prior to arrival and is very clearly stated on your paperwork terms and conditions. You had only elected to cancel your booking after you discovered (also stated on your paperwork) that we do implement a pet charge of £12.00 which is quite reasonable considering that other local...

Staffordshire
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Staff very rude, room shabby and unclean. Whiskers in sink. Kettle broken in room. Could be lovely with some TLC and staff with people skills. Problems high lighted but not listened to as staff too dismissive and kept saying that management were on holiday ! Not informed of any facilities, breakfast time etc on check in

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynn H
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lynn, I have consulted our staff and the Designated Premises Supervisor who was actually on site with you. She has worked here over 6 years and I do trust her management tasking. However, there were actually complaints received from other guests regarding your abrasive attitude toward staff and extreme demanding behaviour. Further, you neglected to fully pay what was...

Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Thank you for a lovely two days, I stayed with my daughter Friday and Saturday and I wanted to say how lovely the place is and full of character. I could just imagine the number of people who have stayed there before us. Apparently it is from the 1620s and the landlady has continued to preserve the heritage. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Church12
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Churcher, Thank you for your lovely review. We all appreciated having you here at our lovely old Inn and I sincerely hope that we may be able to look after you again one day. I am grateful to read such positive comments and will share them with the Staff. We all wish you the very best. Kind Regards,...

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We are from the West Country and enjoyed our one night stay at The West Country Inn. The room was spacious and the bed was massive and very comfortable, The people were very welcoming and friendly and the food, especially the home made curry were much enjoyed, and also like the chef delivering the food to our table and ensuring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
Dorset
Reviewed 7 August 2016

This pub is conveniently situated, albeit on a busy road, and could be a useful stopping place. However it is rather shabby and needs upgrading. Having said that the room we had was clean and neat but was let down by the lack of lighting make it difficult to read. It was very small but the price was wasn't. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank crosscountryrush
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you felt disappointed by our personalised service. The Chef does like to present his food as he is a people person, I believe the personalised touch is an asset, not a hindrance and I think it is nice to see who took pride in cooking the food for you. I...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Our room was directly over what sounded like a very noisy generator that kept us awake all night. In the morning we were told it was the cellar cooler and we could have asked for it to be turned off! How could we have known that? If they had any consideration for their guests it would have been turned off...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank birchhay
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We do not "scam"ever. I am very disgusted and appalled at the accusation. If you booked through Booking.com, it will be shown on your paper work. You need to read your copy. If you provide evidence to us via a Booking.com representative, we will gladly refund your breakfast. We retain all of our paperwork from that very good...

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bideford hotels
4.4 km away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 12 in Bideford
27 reviews
9.7 km away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
345 reviews
3.3 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bideford
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 12 in Bideford
677 reviews
1.4 km away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
489 reviews
4.2 km away
Treyhill Farm
Treyhill Farm
#7 of 36 in Bideford
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about West Country Inn

Address: Bursdon Moor | Nr. Hartland, Bideford EX39 6HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Price Range: $108 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your West Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bideford Country Inn
West Country Inn Bideford, England - Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from West Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Away from the road!”
 of 5 bubbles anonK7060AR, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Can't think of any”
 of 5 bubbles LynnH52, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“we had a super king room”
 of 5 bubbles melaniemT775FX, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else. Rooms at the back would avoid some traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles crosscountryrush, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms (at a guess) will have views over the rolling hills. Beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles lynneb683, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5