We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hartland Quay Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hartland Quay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

309 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hartland Quay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 298: English reviews
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2015

Just booked a last minute few days away to chill!! Wow we picked a goodun....! Staff very friendly and helpfull.nice clean comfortable room with views.Everything worked and the shower was hot and strong,with nice toiletries. The main attraction was the location of course,it was superb for coastal walks of which we did two very challenging routes ,so when we arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matron13
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2015 via mobile

We booked in to Hartland Quay Hotel for the last night of our trip to North Devon over the August Bank Holiday weekend. We had been staying at the wonderful Loveland Farm glamping pods, but wanted to stay somewhere slightly warmer. Shouldn't have bothered! Whilst warmer the room was basically decorated and quite disappointing. We had drinks in the bar,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt G
HartQuay, Manager at Hartland Quay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Hartland Quay. Apologies that you were not happy with your visit to Hartland Quay. Regarding the menu, we have worked very hard over the last few years to improve our menu and all the items on our summer evening are home-made on the premises. You admit that you didn't book ahead of your stay...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Couldn't fault anything about our stay here! Staff accommodation and food were all top notch and we cant wait to come again. Despite our late arrival we were given a warm welcome and were extremely pleased to find we had been placed in the annexe aka The Cottage which gave us our own large entrance hall with 2 bathrooms, a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank QueenTaft
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2015

We had the use of the cottage as we took our dog with us, we found it very comfortable, spacious and clean. The bathroom/shower room could do with a little updating though. The area is a fantastic base for walkers wanting to explore the Hartland area. The wreckers bar is a great place to unwind after a days walking and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David P
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2015

A Fantastic setting- Atlantic waves, rocks, tiny havens, etc. My wife saw warning signs, but I foolishly maintained that the pub must be OK in such a place. Wrong. We ordered beer battered fish & chips- we were yards from the sea, after all. It was not a quick process. The barman was dealing with a party of six who...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank merseadoc
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2015

We had two evenings here in the bar. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The food is of great quality and is very tasty. There is a good selection of ales and cider. Prices are good. A nice atmosphere. There is a very large car park. There is a steep windy road to the hotel but the view is great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlalexander
Reviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile

I have just stayed here for 4 nights with my parents. The location and views are amazing, the staff and locals are helpful and friendly and contrary to some of the comments below, we found the food to be delicious. I would most definitely come back here. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable- what you would expect from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nikki A
Underberg, South Africa
Reviewed 8 October 2015

Lovely spot. Someone said that the rooms were basic in comments below, but we stayed in Room 1 and were very happy.Spacious bathroom very clean. The bedroom had all you need, tea making facility, tv and a comfy bed. I think I understand what the comment meant by 'basic' but its an old old hotel, and anything modern in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
London
Reviewed 6 October 2015

The location of this hotel is just superb with wonderful unspoilt sea and coastal views. It is not particularly stylish but comfortable and cosy with friendly staff. The meals in the pub were good value and tasty. A very good base for exploring the Hartland area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonCyclops
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2015

Went to see Hartland Quay and all we were met with was signs, and some of them large ones at that saying no dogs allowed in the garden, no dogs allowed on the beach. Would have stayed for lunch but it's a case of love me love my dog. Won't be going back. Very short sighted.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CAROL T
HQuay, Manager at Hartland Quay Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your comments. We are not a dog unfriendly place at all. We have a sign at the top of our hill to warn guests that dogs are not allowed on the beach and one at the top of the path, as we don't want to disappoint people. There is plenty of outside seating where we do...

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
14.2 km away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
325 reviews
8.5 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clovelly
489 reviews
22.2 km away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#4 of 12 in Bideford
464 reviews
8.3 km away
New Inn
New Inn
#2 of 2 in Clovelly
171 reviews
21.9 km away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#7 of 12 in Bideford
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hartland Quay Hotel

Address: Stoke, Bideford EX39 6DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bideford
Price Range: $161 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hartland Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hartland Quay
Hartland Quay Hotel Bideford, England - Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hartland Quay Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Bournemouth, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hartland Quay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Cottage-separate to hotel sleeps 7”
 of 5 bubbles donnaheacham, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Just walk to the end of the grounds for the most amazing views”
 of 5 bubbles Alph, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“First floor is good, but above the bar can be noisy late in the evening.”
 of 5 bubbles Roy658, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view room”
 of 5 bubbles ruralgilbert, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get the bay window room above the pub.”
 of 5 bubbles E9457MTrichardb, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay