We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Commercial Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Commercial Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Commercial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 107: English reviews
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Out for a drive on bank holiday and stopped of in tarland, went into this hotel for lunch, nobody else in the place apart from us and the barmaid. This didn't put us off as the whole place had a homely feel about it. We both had the chicken fillets and chips, obviously made to order as we had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine M
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We stayed as a group of 3 cyclists touring the area. TA doesn't list as a hotel in Tarland - which it is. Rooms are very good and a decent size. 3 we had were all recently refurbished to a good standard. Whole hotel very clean and well decorated. Staff are all very helpful. Restaurant simple but very good standard... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colin L
Glasgow
Level Contributor
299 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2016

We visited Tarland as part of a day trip around the area. did not stay in the hotel just visited for lunch. Excellent lunch for four and pint for me as not driving. My steak pie was perfect. Recommended place to eat and we would happily come back here.

Helpful?
Thank alexmaclennan
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Room clean and comfortable, food fantastic, beer tickety boo to excellent, a warm and welcoming reception, location is perfect on the border of one of the most picturesque national parks the Cairngorms!

Helpful?
Thank Julian S
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2016

We went to this hotel on New Years eve and had a fantastic time, the room we had was great ,very clean and the decor of the the room was brilliant also the breakfast was spot on would certainly stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank MLambert1941
edinburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2015

Set in the centre of Tarland, a lovely village just 30 miles from Aberdeen, the Commercial Hotel offers an excellent centre for exploring Deeside and Donside. Bedrooms and bathrooms are very clean, modern and well equipped. The food menu and bar selections are extensive and free wi-fi is a bonus - not to mention the kindly hospitality of the owners... More 

Helpful?
Thank elinis
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2015

Stayed here for our ruby wedding celebration and couldn't have asked for more. Bev was an absolute star in helping me to arrange everything. Rooms are excellent and would put a lot of supposed 5* hotels to shame. Food beautifully prepared and served. Our guests all said what a great place it is. Thanks Bev.

Helpful?
Thank Graham S
cookiebev, Owner at The Commercial Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much Graham, we are delighted that you both had a wonderful evening with your family and friends and we hope to see ypu all again soon/ More 

Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2015

We met family for dinner in the bar, since we had our dog with us (good point, allowing dogs in the bar!) Bar service a bit iffy! Evening, so bar menu not available, ahd to order from restauarant menu. Food good enough, well-cooked, but far too much! Could serve less at lower prices! Presentation not wonderful - a guest had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank maceng-chattan
cookiebev, Owner at The Commercial Hotel, responded to this review

As always we are happy to receive our customers personal opinion and we are pleased that your dog enjoyed the visit. We don't have a restaurant menu as such, we have a main menu, available in all areas from 12 til 9, and a snack menu, also available in all areas from 12 til 6. Our portion sizes are based... More 

Earlston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2015

We stayed here for 1 night in a premium room. It was immaculate. Modern decor...a bit like a photo from a Next furnishings brochure. Very comfy bed. Quiet and peaceful. We had dinner in the restaurant which was fine. Nice friendly staff. The whole hotel is very nicely decorated. There are wood burning stoves that will be very nice when... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marlelc
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2015

It wasn't busy, and It took roughly an hour for our food to arrive (a couple of paninis, a couple of all day breakfasts and a chicken burger) When the food arrived the chicken burger was basically just chicken in a bun- no relish etc. like on the menu, and the chicken texture was horrible and I'm guessed re-heated, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank emfacewajjkid
cookiebev, Owner at The Commercial Hotel, responded to this review

We regret that your experience was not as you would have wished on Sunday lunch. Although you stated that we were not busy, you were seated in the lounge bar where most of the tables were full and we were unable to offer you a table for 5 which you requested and you advised you would manage on a table... More 

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aboyne
7.5 km away
Huntly Arms
Huntly Arms
#1 of 1 in Aboyne
49 reviews
6.1 km away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
337 reviews
23.2 km away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 4 in Banchory
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
22.4 km away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#3 of 4 in Banchory
325 reviews
7.3 km away
Struan Hall
Struan Hall
#2 of 6 in Aboyne
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestling between the rivers Dee and Don in the 'Howe of Cromar' on the edge of the Cairngorms National Park. The award winning Commercial Hotel offers a spectacular setting for a relaxing and peaceful break on Royal Deeside surrounded by some of Scotland's most breathtaking scenery,whilst providing an excellent base for visitors to the Grampian Highlands and beyond This 18th Century Granite Coaching Inn has been lovingly restored to contemporary chic without losing its original charm. We promise you warm hospitality,courteous staff and a 'can do' service as you want it - if your not satisfied we're not satisfied Each of our 9 En-Suite rooms have been individually designed and styled with every room ensuring a good nights sleep,with comfy beds and crisp white linen "Enjoy the Highland Air" - where a good nights sleep is waiting for you. New for 2016 our Serviced Apartment The apartment has 3 bedrooms comprising of 1 x Double (king size bed) 1 x Twin room and 1 x single sleeping up to a maximum of 5 persons. It has a fully equipped kitchen including electric hob oven/grill fridgefreezer Kettle toaster microwave and kitchenware Lounge/dining area sofa,flat screen TV & table and chairs. A Newly fitted bathroom with complimentary toiletries. Additional features include free off road parking welcome pack free daily maid service iron ironing board & hairdryer. Guest controlled heating & Free WIFI. Breakfast is available in the main hotel (chargable) ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Commercial Hotel

Address: 19 The Square, Aboyne AB34 4TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aboyne
Price Range: $96 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commercial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Commercial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commercial Hotel Aboyne, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Commercial Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Commercial Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The ones at the back are away from the main square which actually isn't that noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles elvas, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from the street is a good option”
 of 5 bubbles Juergen_A_1952, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All our rooms were great. Rooms at the back may be quieter but whole place is very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles ColinL860, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“Room 5...no one passes the door.”
 of 5 bubbles Marlelc, 12 Oct 2015 | Read review
“ask for a quiet room our s was above the bar and there was a wedding”
 of 5 bubbles StephenT912, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay