We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

415 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 415: English reviews
Start your review of Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
 Click to rate
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 4 nights on a Shearings break in room 101 on the 1st floor. The room was adequate but the mattress was not the comfiest and there was hardly any water coming out of the sink tap and what did was not even warm. This matter was reported on the day of arrival and again the next day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, having just returned from Holiday, I was this morning made aware of the problems you encountered during your stay and sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you and the other guests these plumbing issues affected. The problem has now thankfully been fully rectified and took the...

Reviewed 1 week ago

room 406 could feel every spring in the mattress a lot of noise from the room next door including banging in the night. which was occupied by a member of staff no towel rail in the bathroom rusty handle in the shower bath towel no bigger than a tea towel only one bedside lamp no cushions curtains at least 20...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Boomerang L
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback and for bringing these matters to my attention, you have my guarantee that every one of your points will be addressed with my team with a view to avoiding any similar situations in the future. Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing stay and I do hope this experience will...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have always wanted to stay in this hotel and my husband booked this as a surprise. He booked half board. He phoned ahead to find out what time dinner was. He was told 8pm. We arrived at 7.40pm to be told that there was no food left!! (By the receptionist who was clutching a plate of food whilst on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nurse_ginge
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing stay, I am sorry to read your review and hear of the problems you experienced during your stay with us. Having just returned from Holiday, today is the first I have been made aware of these issues. I wish to assure you however, that every one of your points has...

Yateley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Only popped in for a rest and drink on a surprisingly warm March day. Very nice and comfortable bar/lounge with views across the bay. Good service and normal pub prices. We will definitely visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bparkercars
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent visit, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed yourself and we very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Regards Steve Steve Stott General Manager

Orpington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel looks a little bit tired from the outside and inside the décor is very dated and gloomy. However on the plus side, the food was good, the entertainment was OK. The rooms again were also bit dated but the bed was comfortable and the shower was great. The staff were very helpful and all in all we had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank susan s
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and I'm pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay. Please do come back to see us again soon when hopefully the areas you mention will be spruced up a bit. Regards Steve. Steve Stott General Manager

Faversham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This lovely, elegant, stylishly retro, old-fashioned hotel is excellently located. The food - breakfast and evening dinner - were of good quality. Service was excellent throughout and serving staff plus reception just couldn't do enough for you. At times, especially breakfast, it felt slightly chaotic as the staff were so busy rushing around the hotel but it was never unpleasant....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Derek B
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, your comments are well and truly noted and will be used to make any improvements where we can. I hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Regards Steve. Steve Stott General Manager

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We paid to upgrade to a sea view room and were really pleased with it. The room was spacious and comfortable. Staff were friendly and efficient, they could have done with extra staff in the restaurant though. Food OK for the smaller appetite, breakfast fantastic.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue C
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback which is invaluable to us when looking to make any improvements that may be necessary in the future. I'm pleased to see that in general your stay was an enjoyable one and I hope to welcome you back again in the very near future. Regards Steve Steve Stott General Manager

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just spent a lovely long weekend in this lovely hotel with Shearings. We enjoyed it so much years ago when we went there that we just had to return, and I must say we are so glad we did. The food was really really nice, the restaurant staff were nice and friendly, bar staff enjoyed a laugh and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ches007
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the lovely feedback from your recent stay with us, I am so pleased to hear everything was to your liking and that the team helped make your stay an enjoyable one. We very much look forward to welcoming back very soon. Regards Steve. Steve Stott General Manager

NewMaldenLittlemiss
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Just spent a week here, for a Valentine break. The hotel invoked shades of bygone times, elegant lines, fireplaces in the foyer and columns in the dining room. Our first stay in a Bay hotel so not sure what to expect but wow! It was clean, friendly, warm and with great food. In fact, we ofrhen stay in another hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank sunbeanlady01
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am so pleased you enjoyed your Valentine's break with us here at the Royal Hotel and thank you for taking the time to share your views and give us your feedback. We are extremely fortunate to be in such a beautiful location in this grand old building and I am delighted to hear you appreciated everything about...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Went with Shearings for mid week back, hotel is dated, but a lot of these Victorian hotels are. Room was modern and clean, we had sea view room with balcony, tea and coffee provided in room. Food was adequate, not al la carte, but three choices for starters, mains, and desert, and was really good for the money we paid,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank gunzle
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, which is very much appreciated by all who work here and will be extremely beneficial in making improvements where necessary. I do apologise for the problems you experienced with the WiFi, occasionally some Mobiles/Tablets do take longer than others to connect but this is usually due to the device rather the network, especially...

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
0.5 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
443 reviews
2.3 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
0.4 km away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal is an impressive building of intricate architecture built in the ‘Free Renaissance’ style and boasting fantastic views over the beach and bay. Only a short stroll to the shops, seaside attractions and the famously beautiful harbour and marina, the location could not be better for exploring all that Weymouth has to offer. Despite its imposing structure, the Royal is enjoyed for its warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel benefits from a games room and comfortable lounges in which to enjoy the entertainment. During the day you also have the option to relax in the public bar whilst you admire the views overlooking the bay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Address: 90-91 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Price Range: $118 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question
rhyl north wales
over a year ago
9 days ago
Bristol, United Kingdom
16 days ago

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our rooms faced the rear of the hotel and were reasonably quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles chrishI5841BT, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“stay at home.”
 of 5 bubbles b00merangl, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check the room size before you go. The one we had at the back was very compact.”
 of 5 bubbles 231derekb, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pay to upgrade to seaview”
 of 5 bubbles SueC640, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you can afford it always choose a Sea View We were on the 2nd floor”
 of 5 bubbles Ches007, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5