Cranleigh Boutique

Cranleigh Boutique

Traveller (1617)
Panorama of the Luxury Room at the Cranleigh Boutique
360
Panoramas (1)
Room & Suite (608)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 boutique hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Luxury Boutique accommodation, Rooms Suites and Boutique Houses. All perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District.Each Individually designed with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International multi award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Taxi service
Adults only
Baggage storage
Private check-in / check-out
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, Polish, Romanian

Location

Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 99 out of 100
99
Carlisle Lake District Airport
64.4 km
See all flights
Newcastle Airport
109.3 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles2,298 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Cranleigh Boutique Hotel stands out for its immaculate cleanliness and luxurious atmosphere, with guests consistently applauding its spotless and well-appointed rooms featuring mood lighting and plush furnishings. The amenities, including spa baths and superior toiletries, add to the indulgent experience, complemented by the friendly and attentive service. Nestled close to Bowness centre, the hotel's location is perfect for exploring local attractions. While some mention room temperature and noise concerns, the overall value, with special offers and inclusive deals, makes for a memorable stay.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Luxurious
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Satisfying
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Lavish

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
2,298Reviews33Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,863
  • 290
  • 108
  • 28
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
A.Nurpetlian wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been subscribed to The Cranleighs emails for years and myself and my husband decided we needed a getaway that wasnt too far away so I thought it would be the perfect opportunity to stay.
I booked superior room 5 as that was the one I like most from the selection and within my price range.
Upon arriving to the hotel I was a little sceptical because the main entrance decor isn't as chic as the rooms look on the website.
The lady on reception was lovely and welcoming and told me where the overflow car park was as there was no space outside.
Again walking to out room i was still sceptical and the decoration isn't very modern however once we arrived to our room it was exactly as it was shown on the pictures and video on the website.
The carpet was so thick under your feet, the lighting was very calming and a nice large jetted bath with a TV in it too. The toiletries supplied smelt absolutely amazing!
When we were first in the room the people before must have had the heating on full blast as it was sweltering but we figured out the next day where the thermostat was on the radiator.
For breakfast the next morning my husband had the full English which was lovely and I had eggs Benedict - I opted for the ham instead of bacon however I wished I'd had the bacon as I was expecting a Wiltshire type ham rather than the Palma type ham it came with. My poached eggs were also very undercooked with the white still being very runny - I mentioned this to reception upon leaving and they seemed very keen to take the feedback.
This place is partnered with Burnside for you to use the spa facilities which is a good for when the weather isnt the best and it's only a 2 minute walk up the road.
The Cranleighs is just 3 minutes walk from the town which boasts a wide selection of places to eat. Being with the cranleigh also gives you the perks of 10% off The Lakeside, Baha and Fizzy Tarte - unfortunately we didn't get chance to visit any of these places however I really recommend Jacksons Bistro if you get chance.
Overall we had a lively stay and even the undercooked poached eggs didnt put me off giving a 5 star rating.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HEFamilyLtd, Manager at Cranleigh Boutique
Responded Feb 12, 2020
Many thanks for your review, We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and chose to express this within your review. It is always a pleasure to see and hear about your experience with us. If you’d like to stay with us again please contact us on 015394 43293
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Abi W wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wow, what an amazing house. Words can only begin to describe how incredible the Bon Vivant Smart Villa is. Stayed here with 2 other couples for a 30th birthday trip and we were just in love with it here.
Each room has its own insane decor, bedrooms were all huge with en-suites and super comfy beds- insane sound systems in every bedroom. Every room controlled individually with ipad control for the lights, mood lights, TV, movies, radios and Bluetooth compatibility upstairs. Its the small things like electric blinds, thick fluffy carpets and underfloor heating that just add to the magic of this house.
The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need to cook with. There is an hot tub on the decking lit at night with mood lights, an outside table and chairs set with a generous garden.
I think the best feature was definitely the cinema room, reclining leather chairs, a fridge and an incredible sound system.
We enjoyed the complimentary spa access into burnside hotel wich was nice and the smart villa is set opposite the marina which we walked past, along the lakeside and into the town.
Anyone who is considering it, dont look anywhere else because pictures and descriptions just dont do it justice!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from emeseg1920, General Manager at Cranleigh Boutique
Responded Feb 8, 2020
Many thanks for your review, We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and chose to express this within your review. It is always a pleasure to see and hear about your experience with us. If you’d like to stay with us again please contact us on 015394 43293
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Chris Sumner wrote a review Jan 2020
Leyland, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and my wife stayed here in a luxury room and were not disappointed. Our room was plush, modern coloured lighting, modern appliances, lovely & clean, tv in bathroom so you can enjoy a jacuzzi bath with a glass of wine. Staff couldn’t do enough for us. Breakfast was lovely, fresh fruit, continental or cooked brekkie. A short walk to shops, restaurants & Lake Windermere.

Only downside was we were hoping for a slight lie in & found we were above the room breakfast was served in & there was some chilled out trance music played at 8 in the morning, which could be clearly heard. This would not put us off coming back though.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from emeseg1920, General Manager at Cranleigh Boutique
Responded Jan 17, 2020
Many thanks for your review, We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and chose to express this within your review. It is always a pleasure to see and hear about your experience with us. If you’d like to stay with us again please contact us on 015394 43293.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
helenora85 wrote a review Aug 2020
Durham, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
No major complaints but I was certainly expecting more from this hotel. Rooms do not look much like they are presented on pictures- I think the pictures may have been taken some time ago. Reception and stairways are very tired and dated and our room (6) was certainly in need of a little renovation. However the bed was large and comfortable and we liked the fact there was a smart tv and tv in the bathroom. Toiletries were nice, robes were good quality and everything was very clean but the shower was small and awkward and the floor tiles in the bathroom could do with regrouting. Breakfast was fine but I had to go searching for someone when I needed salt for my avocado and eggs on toast (it had not been seasoned at all). Location is great and we liked that you get 10% discount at the fizzy Tarte and Baha (which was very nice) but probably wouldn’t stay again as it’s a bit overpriced for tired rooms and average service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Hampshaw, Other at Cranleigh Boutique
Responded Aug 28, 2020
Many thanks for your review, as company policy we do not respond to reviews publicly but instead prefer a more personal approach should you wish to expand on your experience in our hotel So feel free to contact our operations director by email at david.h@hargreavesenterprises.com, leave us your contact details and number and we will give you a call at a convenient time to you Another company policy we are now extremely passionate about is to try and protect the mental well being of our staff, negative reviews on websites have a huge mental impact on the wellbeing of our staff, especially when staff members are described in the reviews. Covid 19 has brought about many operational changes as we adapt to a new normal and welcome guests back to our accommodation offer. Staff may be in training or new both in the kitchen/ front of house or reception. Mistakes do happen occasionally and we believe in asking our customers to communicate any issues at the time, giving the team chance to rectify any issues rather than our staff reading about them after the event. Positive feedback is proven to boost staff morale which encourages personal growth, happiness and less stress in their lives. Constructive feedback we need to improve and iron out any re occurring issues that help us become better for our guests and we encourage this from our guests. Please think about the impact your words have on people and be kind and together help us address mental health and personal growth Statistics now show that we are 10-12 times more likely to write a negative review over a positive review. I feel it is now extremely important to vocalise the impact these reviews are having on the industry and the welfare of hospitality employees. I thank you for reading this and hope it brings awareness and change in the words we all use to communicate moving forward.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
surrealus wrote a review Oct 2021
New York, NY
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms were clean. The staff very nice. Breakfast was good and it's served (no buffet!). Room included tea, hot cocoa, biscuits, plush robes, soap, conditioner, shampoo and moisturizer, but oddly no slippers. Overall, a comfortable, pleasant place to stay.

Rooms are on the small side. There’s nothing elegant about the place. The rooms are too glitzy with mood lighting and faux fur or velvet throws. This is the first time I've seen velvet covered nightstands and closet doors and closets with mood lighting! The rooms look like a tacky honeymoon getaway. We were shown 4 rooms before finding one with a safe - “secured” with a key. Despite being a rainy hiking destination, they have no maps nor umbrellas!

Not sure why they call themselves a boutique hotel; it's a bed and breakfast. While not the least bit elegant, the reception staff serve many functions and are very helpful.

Note: After 11pm, they have no staff, just security.

COVID-19: Hand sanitizer widely available; very few of the staff and guests wore masks. There was no evidence of improved room air exchange or filtration
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Florentina Ciufu, General Manager at Cranleigh Boutique
Responded Nov 1, 2021
Thank you for spreading some kindness and we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Cranleigh. We are a small family firm and as company policy we decided to not respond to reviews publicly but instead prefer a more personal approach should you wish to expand on your experience in our venue, we have all missed that personal touch right? So feel free to contact the operations director by email at david.h@hargreavesenterprises.com, leave your contact details and number and David will give you a call at a convenient time to you The ongoing pandemic has forced and brought about many operational changes as we adapt to a new normal including a mass shortage of hospitality workers throughout the UK as many left the industry leaving most venues you visit short-staffed. A company policy we are extremely passionate about is to try and protect the mental well being of our staff, negative reviews on websites have a huge mental impact on the wellbeing of our staff, especially when staff members are described in the reviews, this is why we started the #bekind to hospitality movement Many of our staff may be in training or new to the industry. Mistakes do happen occasionally and we believe in asking our customers to communicate any issues at the time, giving the team a chance to rectify any issues rather than our staff reading about them after the event. Positive feedback is proven to boost staff morale which encourages personal growth, happiness and less stress in their lives. Constructive feedback we need to improve and iron out any recurring issues that help us improve your stay with us Please think about the impact your words have on people and be kind and together help us address mental health and personal growth. We thank you again for your review and your stay and hope to see you again someday at the Cranleigh Hargreaves family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NCTravel9 wrote a review Aug 2020
Peterborough, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here with my partner for one night last week and found it to be a very average experience. Positivities of the stay were the staff, they were very helpful and welcoming. Also the breakfast that has been adapted due to Covid restrictions was also good quality.

However we paid £170 for one night due to the category of room we choose and I honestly do not know how they can charge that much. The room was just ok nothing hugely special and a lot smaller than the photos look. The shower was tiny for the size of the room and needed re-grouting / deep clean. The room was also very very hot even with all the windows open.

Expected a lot more for the price and not the luxury stay advertised.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Hampshaw, Other at Cranleigh Boutique
Responded Aug 28, 2020
Many thanks for your review, as company policy we do not respond to reviews publicly but instead prefer a more personal approach should you wish to expand on your experience in our hotel So feel free to contact our operations director by email at david.h@hargreavesenterprises.com, leave us your contact details and number and we will give you a call at a convenient time to you Another company policy we are now extremely passionate about is to try and protect the mental well being of our staff, negative reviews on websites have a huge mental impact on the wellbeing of our staff, especially when staff members are described in the reviews. Covid 19 has brought about many operational changes as we adapt to a new normal and welcome guests back to our accommodation offer. Staff may be in training or new both in the kitchen/ front of house or reception. Mistakes do happen occasionally and we believe in asking our customers to communicate any issues at the time, giving the team chance to rectify any issues rather than our staff reading about them after the event. Positive feedback is proven to boost staff morale which encourages personal growth, happiness and less stress in their lives. Constructive feedback we need to improve and iron out any re occurring issues that help us become better for our guests and we encourage this from our guests. Please think about the impact your words have on people and be kind and together help us address mental health and personal growth Statistics now show that we are 10-12 times more likely to write a negative review over a positive review. I feel it is now extremely important to vocalise the impact these reviews are having on the industry and the welfare of hospitality employees. I thank you for reading this and hope it brings awareness and change in the words we all use to communicate moving forward.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeanettenpau wrote a review Nov 2020
Rossendale, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a lovely hotel, we stayed in suite 10 for 3 nights and everything was perfect from the moment we got there, reception staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The room was beautiful, classy and attention to detail from the lighting to the fabrics.
Comfy extra large bed, slippers,robes, chocolate and bubbly all good quality.
The bathroom had a T.V above a double sized jacuzzi bath with mood lighting and underfloor heating.
We bought the wintermacy offer which gave us the chocolates, bubbly, afternoon tea for 2 and a lake cruise, fantastic price and worth every penny.
We went for my 50th birthday because I have always wanted to try this boutique hotel and while there my partner proposed so this hotel will now alway be special to us.
The afternoon tea was at the fizzy Tarté and was tasty and was lovely to be included in the price.
My bestie and her husband came to stay in the hotel one of the nights and they said there room was really nice.
Breakfast was include, good choices and staff very helpful.
We made use of the spa just 5 minutes away which was included in the price.
Everywhere within the hotel was covid safe and clean.
Anyone staying must buy a huggie teddy bear and on of the Cranleigh robes, they were good quality and value for money, the huggie would be lovely if it had a Cranleigh robe on.
We will come to this hotel again for a special occasion and would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mickeala Nattrass, Other at Cranleigh Boutique
Responded Dec 4, 2020
Many thanks for your review, We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and chose to express this within your review. It is always a pleasure to see and hear about your experience with us. If you’d like to stay with us again please contact us on 015394 43293
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mark_embery wrote a review Nov 2022
Meols, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I had a very enjoyable return visit to the Cranleigh for a Saturday night in late November.
We were booked into The Passion Suite - an interesting room where you can pimp your room to whatever lighting style takes you fancy: chill, fun or romantic.
The room was warm, tidy and well laid out and even had a TV at the foot of the en suite, jacuzzi bath.
The bed was large and very comfortable.
The room has a fridge, complete with complimentary cocktails, still water and sticks of dairy and oat milk.
A wide selection of teas and coffee are supplied too.
The bathroom has a large shower head above the bath together with a hand attachment too.
Plentiful premium body wash, shampoo and conditioner are supplied as are complimentary slippers and sumptuous dressing gowns.
The two over the sink is pumped as well - as you turn it to the left for hotter water a red light comes on!
There was a table set in the window alcove where you could work, relax or eat a meal - room service is provided though evening meals are not prepared on the premises.
The breakfast menu is generous and we can recommend the Full Cumbrian Breakfast and the scrambled eggs on toast.
The staff are very friendly and the hotel is only a few minutes walking into Bowness where there are many pubs, coffee shops and restaurants.
We are at nearby Jacksons and the food was excellent.

The Cranleigh is well worth a visit.
It was voted the UK’s most romantic hotel on Trip Advisor and 3rd most romantic in the world so they are doing something right.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The hotel gets very busy at weekends so book ahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Florentina Ciufu, General Manager at Cranleigh Boutique
Responded Nov 29, 2022
Hi Mark, Thank you for taking time to review the Cranleigh Boutique Hotel! We welcome all comments & reviews be they negative or positive, we just ask that they are constructive. We try to take on board and learn from all our customers' experience, your reviews are taken very seriously by our General Manager Florentina and are investigated and acted upon. . We are a small family firm and we do prefer a more personal approach Should you wish to expand on your experience in our hotel or off site accommodation, feel free to contact the operations director by email at david.h@hargreavesenterprises.com, leave your contact details and number and he will give you a call at a convenient time to you. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you in the wonderful lake district again someday! Hargreaves Family x
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pools wrote a review Aug 2020
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived at the hotel at 245pm as we had an email saying check in was 3pm to be told that the room is not ready and check in is 4pm. I showed the receptionist the booking as she said I must have booked with booking.com, I explained I had booked it direct with them, she just shrugged her shoulders and said it’s 4 so don’t know why we got that. We had left home in the rain and we timed it so we could get changed into cooler clothes as we knew the forecast said it was going to be very hot.
We went back after 4 and got the keys to our room, no 2. It is very clean and the bed is so comfortable, however it is on the main road and the rooms have no air conditioning so you have to have all the windows wide open, but then you don’t get any sleep.
The website states that the room has recently been refurbished, the carpet is very worn, the blind in the bathroom, has a lot of bent slats which you can see thru whilst in there.
You can download the app and you get discount in their other venues and bars, which is great.
Breakfast the next morning was gorgeous and very well organised, we felt in safe hands.
I definitely wouldn’t stay here again in hot weather, I was glad to get home for some sleep
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Hampshaw, Other at Cranleigh Boutique
Responded Aug 28, 2020
Many thanks for your review, as company policy we do not respond to reviews publicly but instead prefer a more personal approach should you wish to expand on your experience in our hotel So feel free to contact our operations director by email at david.h@hargreavesenterprises.com, leave us your contact details and number and we will give you a call at a convenient time to you Another company policy we are now extremely passionate about is to try and protect the mental well being of our staff, negative reviews on websites have a huge mental impact on the wellbeing of our staff, especially when staff members are described in the reviews. Covid 19 has brought about many operational changes as we adapt to a new normal and welcome guests back to our accommodation offer. Staff may be in training or new both in the kitchen/ front of house or reception. Mistakes do happen occasionally and we believe in asking our customers to communicate any issues at the time, giving the team chance to rectify any issues rather than our staff reading about them after the event. Positive feedback is proven to boost staff morale which encourages personal growth, happiness and less stress in their lives. Constructive feedback we need to improve and iron out any re occurring issues that help us become better for our guests and we encourage this from our guests. Please think about the impact your words have on people and be kind and together help us address mental health and personal growth Statistics now show that we are 10-12 times more likely to write a negative review over a positive review. I feel it is now extremely important to vocalise the impact these reviews are having on the industry and the welfare of hospitality employees. I thank you for reading this and hope it brings awareness and change in the words we all use to communicate moving forward.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Philippa M B wrote a review Aug 2020
Longridge, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here as a belated anniversary trip and it was fantastic. We stayed in one of the superior rooms (no. 8) and it was lovely. The bed was so comfy!

The hotel itself is nicely decorated and the room had everything we needed, it was quite hot when we stayed so we requested a fan and it was in our room when we got back.

The breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and everything was fresh and well cooked.

Biggest positive for this hotel is the staff, from checkout to added extras in our room, nothing was too much trouble. Really polite and friendly they’re a credit to the hotel!

Another bonus was the 10% discounts at Baha and Lake View which we used and the use of Burnside spa which was a perfect end to the weekend.

All in all we loved our stay and would definitely return!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Hampshaw, Other at Cranleigh Boutique
Responded Aug 28, 2020
Many thanks for your review, as company policy we do not respond to reviews publicly but instead prefer a more personal approach should you wish to expand on your experience in our hotel So feel free to contact our operations director by email at david.h@hargreavesenterprises.com, leave us your contact details and number and we will give you a call at a convenient time to you Another company policy we are now extremely passionate about is to try and protect the mental well being of our staff, negative reviews on websites have a huge mental impact on the wellbeing of our staff, especially when staff members are described in the reviews. Covid 19 has brought about many operational changes as we adapt to a new normal and welcome guests back to our accommodation offer. Staff may be in training or new both in the kitchen/ front of house or reception. Mistakes do happen occasionally and we believe in asking our customers to communicate any issues at the time, giving the team chance to rectify any issues rather than our staff reading about them after the event. Positive feedback is proven to boost staff morale which encourages personal growth, happiness and less stress in their lives. Constructive feedback we need to improve and iron out any re occurring issues that help us become better for our guests and we encourage this from our guests. Please think about the impact your words have on people and be kind and together help us address mental health and personal growth Statistics now show that we are 10-12 times more likely to write a negative review over a positive review. I feel it is now extremely important to vocalise the impact these reviews are having on the industry and the welfare of hospitality employees. I thank you for reading this and hope it brings awareness and change in the words we all use to communicate moving forward.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
amandajay882018 asked a question Jun 2023
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Hi, is there parking at the hotel?
Answer from Florentina C
Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
hello! yes we do have parking!
geordie1969 asked a question Mar 2021
Blackpool, United Kingdom72 contributions70 helpful votes
If you book a church suite, where is the parking for your car?
Emma84Merseyside asked a question Sep 2020
Merseyside6 contributions5 helpful votes
What is the room /bath like in the escape suite plz
Answer from KDEEJAY2017
Carlisle, United Kingdom20 contributions11 helpful votes
It's really lovely - it's spacious with a bedroom / lounge area , table and couch . It has an outdoor patio too . The bath is a sunken spa jet one as well as double shower . Hope that helps !
rhodie wrote a tip Jul 10
Rugeley, United Kingdom1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 2"
Read full review
John Asquith wrote a tip Jul 7
Barnsley, United Kingdom6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely go on the 10 lakes tour with Mountain Goat Tim the tour guide & driver was perfect & very knowledgeable"
Read full review
Claire S wrote a tip Jun 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get dinner early in town, many restaurants close at 9pm, and get booked up early in peak season. "
Read full review
Slund88 wrote a tip Jun 2024
Blackburn53 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The suites allow you breakfast served to your room however the dining area for breakfast was lovely "
Read full review
elliemay22 wrote a tip Jun 2024
UK107 contributions74 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking limited at the front of hotel Room 6 was very hot"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bowness-on-Windermere area.
PRICE RANGE
C$253 - C$290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cranleigh guesthouse hotel bowness-on-windermere
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictBowness-on-Windermere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Cranleigh Boutique - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Cranleigh Boutique
Which popular attractions are close to Cranleigh Boutique?
Nearby attractions include Lake Windermere (0.4 km), The World of Beatrix Potter Attraction (0.4 km), and The Lakes Gallery (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cranleigh Boutique?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Cranleigh Boutique?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Cranleigh Boutique?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cranleigh Boutique?
Conveniently located restaurants include Graze, Boardwalk Bar & Grill, and Jackson's Bistro.
Is Cranleigh Boutique located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Bowness-on-Windermere.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Cranleigh Boutique?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Polish, and Romanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Cranleigh Boutique?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Townend (5.6 km), Blackwell - The Arts & Crafts house (2.1 km), and Hill Top, Beatrix Potter's House (3.4 km).
All Bowness-on-Windermere HotelsBowness-on-Windermere Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Bowness-on-WindermereHotels near Cranleigh Boutique
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars