We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,774 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,747: English reviews
Start your review of Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
 Click to rate
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The food was lovely and the outside area looking onto the lake was breath taking. The service was a little disappointing, we felt we were a burden and the last round of drinks didn't arrive, however they didn't appear on the bill.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank avfoja
Marco F, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear avfoja, Appreciate your kind comments with referenc to our food and have taken on board your comment regarding the service which we will address this accordingly.

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just returned from a one night visit on Friday 21st April . We arrived Friday about 11.30 and the room was ready at about 2pm. Room was spotless and luxurious. Dressing gowns and slippers available for spa users. Swimming pool , saunas , steam rooms and gym were all included. Staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Des271081
Marco F, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Des271081, It was a pleasure to read your comments with reference to your recent stay at the hotel and we are happy that you had such a great time in Windermere. Wish we could take credit for the nice weather as well.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is a great hotel set on the lake with lovely rooms and lots of character and we use it a lot for business. However they never seem to manage to get the breakfast right and this time was the worst yet. Bacon burnt to a crisp alongside of everything else that was either screaming hot or stone cold. Also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ianandmax
Marco F, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear ianandmax, Although I highly appreciate your support and business slightly dissapointed offcourse to read your feedback on breakfast, which I have shared with our Head Chef for immediate follow up.

kidderminster
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Lovely old hotel. We were in room 212, although no view of the Lake, we didn't mind as we didn't spend much time in the room. The bar is very grand and if you are lucky enough to get a window seat, the views over Lake Windermere are spectacular. Our room although old, was spacious and well equipped. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne-Marie1978176
Marco F, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Anne-Marie1978176, We would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to share your latest stay experience with us. While I am delighted to read that you enjoyed in general your stay I am offcourse rather concerned with your comments regarding especially the bar staff, with I would like to re-iterate this is not a true reflection...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just returned from a 3 night stay - we had 2 rooms and are aged between 10 and 78! The hotel is perfectly placed for the less mobile in our party, with amazing lake views. We could walk to any restaurant or shop we wanted to in town. Also perfectly placed for the Beatrix Potter world. The rooms we had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dragonsden001
Marco F, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Dragonsden001, It was a pleasere to hear and read you enjoyed your recent 3 nights family stay at the hotel and we appreciate your kind comments about staff, services and location.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel is in a fantastic location overlooking the Lakes. The staff were very attentive and happy to help. Would highly recommend to any other travelers going to the Lakes. I will definitely visit this hotel again!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom_Leeds_91
Marco F, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Tom_Leeds_91, We appreciate your kind comments regarding our location and staff and e are looking forward already to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

7 of us stayed here over the Easter period, the hotel is in a fantastic location overlooking the bay with lovely gardens to walk round. The staff were lovely, extremely helpful, especially the lovely lady on breakfast reception, I don't know her name but she was really polite and helpful. Our rooms were large & spacious with a fridge, TV,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen N
Marco F, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Helen N, Thank you for your kind comments on the hotel and it's staff members, especially breakfast staff, we will certainly share these comments with them. I have taken on board your comments regarding the Leisure Club members. We are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

London Uk
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel itself is in the best possible location in Bowness - near to the boats, buses and only a short walk to the ferry over the lake. We stayed in recently refurbished room/suite 203 - its an expensive treat and the room did not disappoint. The bed is huge. The room has a birds eye view of the quayside....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mrswalkerLondonUK
Marco F, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear mrswalkerLondonUK, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your recent stay experience with us, especially as you were one of the first guests staying in the refurbished suites. We have taken you comments on board and will pass them over to the design company accordingly. I would also like to thank you for your kind comments regarding staff...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband an I stayed here 2 nights ago for a nearby wedding and were disappointed in our tired and dated room (16), and the cooked breakfast featured a grey and barely cooked hash brown. However, we would gladly have that room back now having come back today with our 2 children (booked before our first trip the other day)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Halifax
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed in this hotel in 2014 we were really looking forward to returning. In 2014 we were given a luxurious room (Room 19) and had a fabulous time. On Friday 14th April we arrived and we were allocated Room 116 and there begins The Tale of Two Hotels! We were handed the keys - yes keys, not a keycard!...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tenerifemadHalifax
Marco F, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear tenerifemadHalifax, Thank you for your in depth feedback on your recent stay amd |I tjought I share with you that all rooms in the main (original) building can only be opened by a normal key, the staff are not "using" this to say your are allocated a "substandard" room, bathrobes and slippers are allocated to all guests booking a...

879 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (556)
Viewed
Room/Suite (104)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Other (254)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (292)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Classic Room (42)
Viewed
Executive Room (45)
Viewed
Indoor Swimming Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Suite (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,329 reviews
1.9 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.9 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Burnside Hotel & Spa
Burnside Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
310 reviews
4.9 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
321 reviews
1.4 km away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $265 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, UK
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room overlooking the Quay”
mrswalkerLondonUK, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for Room 19”
  • Lovely
  • First class (sub) standard room
  • View to the right
  • Lovely view looking to the left from room
  • Double bed???
  • Spacious bathroom area - no bath!
  • Plenty leg room
  • clearly NOT safe
tenerifemadHalifax, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Just don't”
peisuz, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a lake view room”
  • Room with a lake view
  • Room with a lake view
kenL007, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The hotel is located on the lake so would advise paying the extra for a feature room with a lake view.”
  • View from feature room
AndrewTourist, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5