We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Windermere Hydro Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Windermere Hydro Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

815 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 803: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Wonderful experience of afternoon tea at Hydro Hotel Windermere on Thurs 1st Dec 2016. After reading previous reviews saying it was tired , old fashioned hotel we were expecting the worst but were most pleasantly surprised. The staff were very welcoming, courteous and friendly , we were served our afternoon tea in the cosy sun lounge sitting on comfy leather... More 

Helpful?
Thank Goldikova
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

What a shame this hotel had been let to go into the condition it is currently in. Going to try and be constructive and cover the positives first, keeping it in perspective the things I paid £70 B&B. The hotel has a premium location as many hydro hotels have, overlooking the town, plenty of parking and large lounge areas. Staff... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott A

Travellers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. In a twin room . The beds looked like they had come out of a doss house and where nothing like the ones shown in the photos . The pillows where waver thin. We got extra pillows but this made no difference as they were so thin. No hot water to shower with on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank harryb13
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I am writing this because I just came back from a two day romantic break with the man I love...... It was something I had wanted to do for so long and wanted it to be perfect as it was my turn to surprise him for once . I certainly surprised him but in the wrong way. The room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank sherieculverwell
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great stay here for a weekend break. We found all the staff very friendly and efficient. Breakfast was buffet style and we found it more than substantial. Yes the plates are small but there was nothing stopping you from having more than one plate. Had an evening meal on one evening and again great value and very... More 

Helpful?
Thank KevinEmma
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KevinEmma Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your weekend stay and thank you for your detailed constructive feedback. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon. Best wishes Joe More 

uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The long trek to our room was littered with walls with wallpaper hanging off and it continued in the bedroom. A big room but unfortunately the old cube of a tv was so small and far away from the bed we could not see it. With some tlc it could be nice. Biggest let down was the restaurant. Food was... More 

Helpful?
Thank mariabr
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mariabr I am sorry that your recent stay was such a disappointment, as you are aware a full refurbishment of rooms and the front of house areas will be commencing soon. All the issues you mention will be resolved once the works have been completed. I am sorry that you did not enjoy dining in our restaurant, we pride... More 

manchester,uk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Reading other reviews we really didn't know what to expect. Yes the hotel is old and yes there is a full refurbishment planned. The rooms we had were balcony suites, split into 2 so a lounge and bedroom area with plenty of space. We occupied room 23 & 24. The views of lake Windermere were stunning. The staff were super... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank linda&co
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear I]Linda&co Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review of your recent stay. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and thank you for sharing your experience. Pleased to hear that you received a warm welcome from my team and that we were able to provide you with good food... More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall, a nice, comfy hotel that could be outstanding given a quite substantial makeover. The staff were friendly, with a particular mention to Peter in the bar. The sitting room was cosy and comfortable with a real fire and lovely comfy seating. Our room was quite spacious and clean with a very comfy bed and a lovely view over the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jackie S Thank you for posting a review. I was delighted to read that you had a lovely weekend stay and thank you for mentioning our friendly, hard working staff, I will share your review with Peter who you mentioned personally. I note your comments regarding the shower in your room and the television. As you are aware a... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and the wife booked a weekend at the Hydro through Red Letter Days. At checking in at the hotel we were allocated room 19. The room was damp all down one side and all down both sides of the window/patio door. The curtains were mouldy and the room was cold and the smell of damp was overpowering. After complaining... More 

Helpful?
Thank TonyonoMac
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TonyonoMac I am sorry that your recent stay was such a disappointment, as you are aware a full refurbishment of rooms and the front of house areas will be commencing soon. All the issues you mention will be resolved once the works have been completed. As you quite rightly say the hotel is in an excellent location with lovely... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I spent two nights. The room and bathroom were immaculate as was the bedding. The staff very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was very good with a good choice of food. The Hotel is in walking distance of both the town and lake.

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry C
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Terry C Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. I was delighted to read that you and your wife enjoyed your two night stay and thank you for sharing your experience. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Best wishes Joe More 

261 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (261)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (138)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.5 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,654 reviews
0.5 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
518 reviews
1.5 km away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,257 reviews
1.8 km away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
874 reviews
0.7 km away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $84 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England, UK
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Windermere Hydro Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Windermere Hydro Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the front of the hotel have the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles TonyonoMac, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one with hot water !!!!!!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Hotelnspector, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“As far as I am aware they is not any”
 of 5 bubbles 628peterm, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Good views”
 of 5 bubbles 728juliec, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pay the extra fr the Siute with Balcony and Lake views realy worth it”
 of 5 bubbles mummycuba, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay