We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Windermere Hydro Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Windermere Hydro Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

822 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 810: English reviews
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a few nights at Halloween.The 1st room we were given was very dismal, with a view of a wall and claustrophobic.I rang reception to see if there were any alternative rooms and we were swapped straight away for a room with a lake view. This room was much better. The room was clean and the bedding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamara P
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I agree it is dated but there looked to be a lot of work being done in the other side of the hotel. Everything was clean and everyone was helpful and polite. Breakfast was pretty awesome! They had a problem with the heating in our roons... which admittedly was beyond their control.... but they did knock money off the bill...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David H Thank you for taking time to post a review. I was delighted to read that you found our staff helpful and polite, the breakfast awesome and the location great. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back once our refurbishment works have been completed. Best wishes Joe

Edinburgh, Scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed her for 2 nights for another excellent Murder Mystery Weekend by the fabulous Murder Mystery Productions. We noticed small improvements in some areas since last year and the food quality was definitely better. However, we are looking forward to the long-awaited refurbishments. Service in the bar and restaurant was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Macrihanish
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Macrihanish Thank you for posting a review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the murder mystery weekend and was pleased to hear that you found the service in the bar and restaurant very good. I look forward to welcoming you back once the refurbishments works have been completed. Best wishes Joe

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

having stayed in Bowness many times, this was the first time at this hotel. Unless we were assured that a really major refurbishment had taken place, it will be the last. As seen on other reviews the location, staff and food were good. But, oh dear, what a disappointment the building was. Every area of the hotel, both public and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miffy1953
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear miffy1953 Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was delighted to read that the location, food and staff were good. I note your comments regarding the decor and can confirm that a full refurbishment of the bedrooms and the front of house areas will be commencing very soon. This is an exciting time for the...

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Its a hotel... You know, rooms, beds, showers.. its clean and central with a large car park. What else do you need for a night? A bit dated but does the job. Oh, the tv is from the 1980's but who sits in a hotel room watching tv??

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank StevenWigan
lakes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Yesterday we had our annual Chapel Christmas Lunch at the Hydro. From the start all the staff were attentive and very courteous. The tables were laid with balloons, crackers etc. The service was excellent and the food surpassed my expectations, especially the duck terrine. The portions were just right and an excellent time was held by all. Special thanks to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rosieposielakes
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rosieposielakes Thank you so much for posting a positive review of your visit for Christmas lunch. I was delighted to read that you found our staff attentive and courteous, the service excellent and that the food surpassed your expectations. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon. Best wishes Joe

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location was excellent with being in town centre.Met 4 members of staff.1st one on reception when I booked in and made to feel welcome straight away.Had a quick drink in the bar then went up to my room and was so disappointed.Torn bed base and a portable tv with very poor reception and from the ark.In the bar met another...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael T
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael Thank you for taking time to post a review. I was delighted to read that you found our staff excellent and the food delicious. I note your comments regarding your room and can confirm a full refurbishment of the bedrooms and the front of house areas will be commencing very soon. This is an exciting time for the...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful experience of afternoon tea at Hydro Hotel Windermere on Thurs 1st Dec 2016. After reading previous reviews saying it was tired , old fashioned hotel we were expecting the worst but were most pleasantly surprised. The staff were very welcoming, courteous and friendly , we were served our afternoon tea in the cosy sun lounge sitting on comfy leather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goldikova
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Goldikova Thank you for posting a review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit for afternoon tea and I was pleased to hear that Thomas ensured that you had everything that you needed to ensure that you felt pampered and relaxed during your visit. I do hope that we will have the pleasure...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a shame this hotel had been let to go into the condition it is currently in. Going to try and be constructive and cover the positives first, keeping it in perspective the things I paid £70 B&B. The hotel has a premium location as many hydro hotels have, overlooking the town, plenty of parking and large lounge areas. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Scott A
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Scott A Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you found our staff friendly and that you enjoyed spending time in Bowness. Please rest assured all your comments regarding the decor and furnishings have been noted. I can confirm that a full refurbishment of the bedrooms and the front of...

england
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. In a twin room . The beds looked like they had come out of a doss house and where nothing like the ones shown in the photos . The pillows where waver thin. We got extra pillows but this made no difference as they were so thin. No hot water to shower with on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank harryb13
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear harryb13 I am sorry that your recent stay was such a disappointment, as you are aware a full refurbishment of rooms and the front of house areas will be commencing soon. All the issues you mention will be resolved once the works have been completed. I was surprised to read that you did not enjoy the food served at...

262 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (262)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (138)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.5 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,660 reviews
0.5 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
520 reviews
1.5 km away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,259 reviews
1.8 km away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
887 reviews
0.7 km away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $82 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England, UK
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Windermere Hydro Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Windermere Hydro Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lake view rooms are worth booking, lovely views to wake up to.”
 of 5 bubbles tamparky71, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front of the hotel have the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles TonyonoMac, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one with hot water !!!!!!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Hotelnspector, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“As far as I am aware they is not any”
 of 5 bubbles 628peterm, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Good views”
 of 5 bubbles 728juliec, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay