We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Angel Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Angel Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

768 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 763: English reviews
Start your review of The Angel Inn
 Click to rate
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Awful experience. Owners are downright rude. Everything overpriced and poor quality. Toilets could do with a good clean. Will never visit again . Was looking forward to lovely lake district break in Bowness, hoping for a comfortable stay but utterly disappointed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suehomeopath
TheAngelInnBowness, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Normally we thank people for their reviews but on this occasion we believe that this is not a genuine review. We have no record of this person staying and as the owner I can say that I am not rude and have in fact been on holiday so have not even had the chance to be. Our quality is of...

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We came here for tea on a wet and windy Tuesday evening and were given a table straight away (the restaurant was probably quieter than normal due to the bad weather ). We sat in the main restaurant area as they provided table service here opposed to sitting in the bar area - it was decorated really nicely. We both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess H
Meols, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Set in a brilliant location just minutes from the lake and all restaurants and bars nearby. I've stayed in quite a few of the hotels in Windermere and this has to be the best in my opinion. Staff very friendly and make you feel very welcome. Rooms and furnishings finished to a very high standard. After walking all day you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alden50
TheAngelInnBowness, Front Office Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Hi Alden50, we are very happy you had such a great stay with us. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

North Yorkshire
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wanted to thank Becca and Glaslow for making our night so special. The food was amazing but the staff made the night more special. I explained that it did not seem right to have mushy peas smeared on the plate because 1 it was not appetising and 2 they went cold too quick and 3 they dried out and went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tolulla
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was the first time we had stayed here and it couldn't have been more central. The hotel room we stayed in was great , the bed was the best nights sleep i have ever had when we have been away . The only slight complaint was the size of the bathroom small but as we had booked the cheapest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
TheAngelInnBowness, Front Office Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Hi Graham, thank you for such a lovely review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Maidstone
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Angel Inn split the family vote. The choice of ale was good and the menu was equally varied. Unfortunately as described by the family the chips were slightly over-cooked and the produce not of the quality that the price would suggest. That all said it is a lovely spot in Bowness and the ambiance was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HonestGSC
TheAngelInnBowness, Front Office Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Hi HonestGSC, we are sorry you did not enjoy the chips on your recent visit although very happy you enjoyed the rest of your time with us. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fish & chips like never eat before , delicious 8oz Burger with bacon and cheese Unbelievable good Nice wine friendly staff too...definitely recommend it .... nice garden, great views of the lake 💯 👌🏻

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rafael R
TheAngelInnBowness, Front Office Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Hi Rafael, we are very happy you enjoyed the food and service on your recent visit. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited Feb 11th - early evening dinner after a long day walking. Staff were lovely and attentive, we chose where we wanted to sit as it wasn't too busy and had food recommended to us and specials read from the board. We had 3 courses and a couple of drinks and we were really happy with everything including the price,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George M
TheAngelInnBowness, Front Office Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Hi George, thank you for your lovely review. We are very happy you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights at Angel and it was wonderful. We stayed in room 12 which has a nice view across the town and lake.The breakfast was top class and you could tell only the best local produce was used.We had dinner 1 night and that was also lovely.The bar is well stocked and had a good choice of draught...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy O
TheAngelInnBowness, Front Office Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Hi Andy, thank you for such a lovely review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is lovely with friendly and courteous staff and a really good atmosphere an excellent watering hole if you've been out for a walk the food in the restaurant was excellent although its winter the hotel had many customers would stay again no problem

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
TheAngelInnBowness, Front Office Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Hi Steve, we are very happy you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

211 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (155)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,729 reviews
0.4 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
534 reviews
0.4 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
275 reviews
0.2 km away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
841 reviews
1.7 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $104 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
The Angel Inn Bowness-On-Windermere, England, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Angel Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try the Executive Suite - worth every penny!”
  • View from executive suite window
 of 5 bubbles DM262014, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don't let our "budget" rating put you off, the rates are low , particularly for the Lakes, but the quality is mid to high range”
 of 5 bubbles 866alanm, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 11, very quiet, nice view”
 of 5 bubbles elainef322, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“food only visit”
 of 5 bubbles lakes99, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“They are all individual and lovely. The website has photos of each one so you can choose the one you like.”
 of 5 bubbles nicolam304, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5