We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Imperial Hotel

Traveller (113)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (14)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The elegant Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple, North Devon, is part of the prestigious Brend chain of West Country hotels. Overlooking the River Taw at the heart of the market town of Barnstaple, this exceptional four-star hotel combines old-style charm with the highest standards of comfort and service. Whether you're looking for a family holiday or a peaceful break, the Imperial is the place for superb service. The hotel is also a popular venue for conferences, banquets and weddings.
Read more
Property amenities
Room service
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Business
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
94Great for walkers
Grade: 94 out of 100
70Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
16Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1,988Reviews
148Photos
8Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,490
  • 378
  • 89
  • 21
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The hotel is excellent in every way. The initial reception is welcoming and efficient. Bedroom very comfortable with provision for tea/coffee making, mini bar. Bathroom with excellent shower unit. Beds very comfortable. Television great size. Staff throughout the hotel very
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
On arrival the hotel looks great, the room is lovely and clean however my stay was far from pleasant. The walls are so thin you can hear other guests snoring! The toilet flush stopped working during the night! On arriving for breakfast, I was informed by the waiter that I
Read more
After visiting both the brend hotels in sidmouth we decided to try one of the barnstable ones. The imperial was our second choice as we couldnt get into more modern one along the road called the Park. Our room was on the front overlooking the river which was a nice view. The
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
I found the hotel to be totally not organised and the rooms are very dirty and outdated with very shabby old beds and furniture and the bathroom was very small with no mixer taps or walk-in showers and the staff in general were pretty incompetent especially at reception as I had
Read more
Response from BrendHotels, Hotel Manager at The Imperial Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of The Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple. I am however most disappointed that on this occasion we were not able to satisfy you during your stay. The vast majority of our feedback is positive so to hear of negative feedback is obviously rare. From reading your review, we are unable to ascertain who or when you might have stayed with us as no guest has raised any such strong issues with us. I can assure you nothing is more important to us than our customers and they are our first priority over anything else. If you would like to discuss aspects of your stay or I can help in welcoming you back to The Imperial in the future, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly. William Sherwin Hotel Manager
Read more
I first went to the Imperial Hotel in 2000. Since that time, my wife and I have revisited the Hotel at least once a year. We are always fully satisfied with the service and food that we receive. We thoroughly recommend The Imperial because not only for the service but because of
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Nighttime view from the Riverside
Room 112- other side
A twin bedded river view room
PreviousNext
1234569
Do you have accessable rooms with wet room.
What is the dress code
Smart causal
0 votes
Show all answers
My room did not have a balcony, was a no smoking room, but did look out over a tidal effected river!
0 votes
There is ample parking here at the Imperial Hotel. We have two car parks, one at the front and one at the back of the hotel. The front car park spaces are generally the preferred parking. I would advise an early arrival to ensure parking at the front of the hotel.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is there a separate suite where i can stay with a dog?
There are rooms in our River Court (an annex to the main hotel), which are pet friendly rooms. Cats and dogs are charged at £10 per pet per night.
1 vote
PreviousNext
12
"High up as possible "
"All the rooms are very clean and the beds and room facilities are very hard to beat."
"Need to keep secret so available for my next visit!!!"
"We stayed in the imperial room in the river court. Very spacious and elegantly furnishings."
"Not the best of Imperial rooms a the side of the hotel -204 Lighting in room poor for reading "
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$84 - US$186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
imperial hotel barnstaple
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBarnstaple
NUMBER OF ROOMS
63
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing