Premier Inn Durham City Centre (Walkergate) hotel

Premier Inn Durham City Centre (Walkergate) hotel

cathedral view advantages of being a student at the Castle
Traveller (160)
Panorama of the Accessible Room at the Premier Inn Durham City Centre
360
Panoramas (8)
Premier Inn Durham City Centre (Walkergate) Hotel
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#5 of 21 hotels in Durham
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Thanks to our city centre location next to the Pennyferry Bridge over the River Wear, Durham's best attractions are within walking distance of our central Durham Premier Inn. There's plenty to explore throughout your stay - Durham Castle and Durham Cathedral share UNESCO World Heritage Site status, and these historic landmarks are unmissable on Durham city breaks. Cross Milburngate Bridge from our Premier Inn Durham hotel and visit Crook Hall Gardens before taking the kids to Adventure Valley, or why not tour the popular Oriental Museum? Fuel up before sightseeing in Durham at our on-site Thyme restaurant, where we'll also be serving up some delicious dishes in the evening too! Best of all, you'll have a stylish room with free Wi-Fi and a super-comfy bed waiting for you after fun days out in Durham.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Budget
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Freemans Place Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SW England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 99 out of 100
99
Newcastle Airport
29.7 km
See all flights
Durham Tees Valley Airport
Oval
19 minUnderground
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles2,589 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Premier Inn Durham City Centre (Walkergate) Hotel is celebrated for its fresh and modern ambiance, with guests frequently praising the newly renovated, clean, and well-appointed rooms. Nestled in a prime location, the hotel is a favorite among travelers eager to explore Durham's attractions, dining, and nightlife. While the hotel's staff garners compliments for their friendliness and helpfulness, there are occasional calls for better responsiveness. Cleanliness is a standout feature, though opinions on value and amenities like Wi-Fi and parking vary. Some guests note issues with air conditioning and noise but overall, the hotel's comfort and central position make it a popular choice.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Refreshing
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Variable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
2,589Reviews35Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,452
  • 794
  • 195
  • 74
  • 74
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Nidge M wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Could not fault this place, four of us stayed on the 12th of March as we were attending a family funeral nearby. The staff couldn't do enough for us, we was having problems with the card access to our room, they went above and beyond to sort the problem out.

The breakfast was spot on with a wide range of cereals and cooked food on a buffet style basis.

This hotel is right in the mix of things, you've only got to walk 100 yards maximum then, take a lift up two floors to be among loads of eating houses like Lloyds No1 bar, Nandos and the rest.

The rooms were spotless and the beds were comfy, if I could have rolled the mattress up and bought it home I would have done, someone who's had several operations on his spine and struggles to sleep these beds were a godsend.

If you are visiting Durham this is the place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stuart C wrote a review Jul 2022
139 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This review is based on room 402 which is a premier plus room.
The room was large with some extra touches such as a nespreso coffee machine, fridge with complimentary still and sparkling water and iron and ironing board. The bed was really comfortable and there was a choice of pillows.
The bathroom had a good rainfall shower and I really liked that the mirror above the sink was slightly heated so it didn’t steam up after a shower.
Breakfast was the usual buffet affair but quite OK.
It is true that one side of the hotel faces some bars and during term time and at weekends it would probably be noisy but our room was blissfully quiet for the whole 4 days of our stay.
We would recommend staying at this Premier Inn and it is worth paying the extra for a premier plus room.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room on hotels quieter side.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
liveandletlive wrote a review Aug 2020
Oxford, United Kingdom168 contributions50 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
All in all a good experience. Great location to explore Durham. As other reviewers have said, currently only two thin pillows are provided. But the beds are King Size so that is good. Don't miss the Archimedes screw round the corner on the river! It could do with some dusting behind the telly and the cable to the desk light. We were called and asked if we wanted to book breakfast 3 days beforehand and this was wise. Sadly breakfast meant queueing even on a Monday morning. The cooked breakfast took 25 mins to arrive, which is fine they were obviously busy. Then to be told after another 10 minutes that the table was needed meant you'd have to wolf it down! Bear in mind the discounted parking is for a full 24 hour period, so it might be cheaper to pay by the hour on your last day.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chloe W wrote a review Aug 2020
Cambridge, United Kingdom41 contributions35 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of the hotel is great, you can go up flights of stairs outside the hotel and you're in the city centre.

Check-in was fine, employee was behind a screen to check us in which was good. Validated our parking for the car park adjacent to the back of the hotel for a discount. Room card was sanitised before handed to us. The room was OK, comfortable bed but only one pillow each with no extras in the room.

The bathroom was cosy but looked like it had seen better days. No soap in the provided container, but luckily due to COVID we have been using our own anyway.

The biggest issue was the heat. It wasn't terribly hot in Durham at the time, 23 degrees on average, but the room was so HOT. Premier Inn put a plastic latch on the window due to us being one floor up, which is for safety, but this meant that no circulation was available in the room. This made for a very uncomfortable night's sleep. There was a fan in the room which did nothing but blow hot air onto us. There was an AC device on the wall which did not work.

We tried to complain about the heat in the morning as we checked out, but due to reduced staff being on shift they were all serving breakfast to other guests, so we decided it wasn't worth the bother.

Contactless check-out, we simply put the card in a check-out box as we left.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: 110 has no air circulation, avoid at all costs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nat R wrote a review Jun 2021
62 contributions27 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked 3 nights to stay here in a premier plus room 2 weeks ago. Due to a big family issue just 1 hour before we were due to travel from London, we decided to postpone our trip for 2 weeks later.
Train tickets are not refundable but we managed to get a full refund and rebooking and I paid £30 extra from the previous booking which is acceptable.
I changed the hotel booking which was also non refundable but you can amend the date until 1 pm on the day of the check in.
I changed the date and paid £25 extra without realising my premier plus room was long gone.
We arrived at the hotel, checking in was smooth and efficient but to find out that we were given the accessibility room.
Everything was low down from the sink to the bed.
The bathroom smelt badly of urine. The bathroom door had to be shut at all time.
I raised the complaint with the reception but nothing could be done.
We were there for 3 nights hospitality tray is not replaced, every time you need something you have to go down and ask at the reception.
I could understand due to covid the maid is not allowed to change the bed and towel but we were there for 3 nights. The maid should at least come and empty the bin and replenish the tray and change the cups. We were using the same cup for the whole trip.
If I haven’t had booked 2 trips with premier inn in a few weeks. I will not staying with premier inn again in the future. No way.
I am so upset and disappointed with the service. I expect better on behalf of premier inn, the room did not fit the description and it is unacceptable!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Durham City Centre (Walkergate) hotel
Responded Jul 28, 2021
Hi there, Thank you for your review. We're really sorry to hear about the issues you had with your recent stay. This isn't what we expect at all and can appreciate your concerns. We wouldn't expect the room or bathroom to have any kind of odours, and that you were not happy with how the room was serviced. It's also disappointing that you were not happy with the type of room that you had. We would like to assure you we have made sure that all your feedback and comments have been passed on to the relevant teams. This also includes the manager of the hotel who will be able to chase this up with the hotel team to help prevent any similar issues from happening again. Once again we are very sorry for any disappointment on this occasion, but we are confident on your next experience you will have a much more enjoyable stay! Kind regards, Danny
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
IanAberdeen wrote a review Nov 2021
Westhill, United Kingdom436 contributions221 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It’s many years since I last stayed in a Premier Inn. This reminded me why that was the case and why I shall not be rushing to visit another of this chain.

I chose it as its location suited my needs and I didn’t want to pay a lot because I wasn’t expecting much from my visit to Durham.

You get what you pay for. A clean room and a comfortable bed. Adequate breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff.

BUT
No heating or ventilation in the bathroom. No mid-height hand-rail to assist anyone to get in and out of the bath/shower safely.
The TV reported receiving a weak signal on some major Freeview channels – so weak that programmes were blacked out!

Covid safeguards mean that there was NO bed-making or room servicing during your stay. If you want fresh towels, or more tea and coffee ingredients, you can fetch them from Reception.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon L wrote a review Jul 2021
Leicestershire, United Kingdom174 contributions45 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Breaking up our journey to Edinburgh we decided to stop off in Durham.

The Premier Inn Walkergate is ideally situated for walking around the city. Within 10 mins you can be in the centre of town or in the gardens of the Cathedral.

Parking is next door and a discounted day rate can be obtained from the Reception.

We chose to book one of the new Premier Plus rooms which are situated in the 4th floor which are a little larger, plusher and come with complimentary Wi-fi and luxury toiletries, rain shower and mood lighting.

Unfortunately our room was only preferred for 1 occupant and the luxury toiletries were all empty aside from the hair conditioner.

That said the room was comfortable and very quiet, which was great given the proximity of the hotel to Ask, Slug & Lettuce, Nando’s, The Champagne Bar and others.

The staff were excellent, friendly and polite.

Would recommend this hotel if visiting Durham or dropping family off at Uni.

As at Jul-21 there were roadworks at a local bridge (closed) and a new camera enforced Bus Route so be careful if following Sat Nav instructions
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Watch for the road closures and the new camera enforced bus routes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlie Thomas wrote a review Feb 2020
St. Albans, United Kingdom16 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Despite being in the older style, this was one of the nicest premier inns i have been in. Form the helpful staff who helped when we failed to be able turn our TV on to the lovely lounge area. Unfortunately, one of the lifts were broken when we visited meaning they were very busy. However, it was always worth the wait, since our 4th floor room had a great view, would definitely recommend. The lime and soda was nice from the bar, although a little expensive at 90p. At that price i've tasted better! The Tea and coffee in the room was good as usual, although who did the cleaner think she was, only putting 3 milks with 3 tea bags and 3 coffee sachets and to top it off over 20 sugars - she clearly likes her tea and coffee VERY black and VERY sugary! Otherwise, another great stay at the premier inn!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John B wrote a review Jan 2020
26 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for a couple of nights for a graduation and the location was very good for accessing the town and university. There are a number of restaurants and bars close by, and it is only about 10 minutes walk from the station (lots of steps though).
Service at the hotel was friendly and helpful, and the rooms were of the normal standard for Premier Inn, although the bed was a bit soft. Breakfast was good, and we were able to keep our room until midday.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louise0012233 wrote a review Oct 2021
Bath, United Kingdom68 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel location is fabulous - close to everything —> 10 mins to the beautiful Durham Cathedral, 10 mins to shops, 10 mins to train station etc. However, the downside to this is that the hotel hears the noise from outside . Next to a Pitcher & Piano, Champagne Bar, Cinema, Leisure Centre etc. This means that groups of drunk people gather outside and younger people congregate under the car park area and drink. I know this is not the hotels fault but you should be aware.

Small groans —> on first floor so could hear the kids jumping about upstairs, every step could be heard. Baby crying, kids fighting … it was half term and a weekend but other PI hotels have been sound proofed.

Only one pillow per person with no pillow protector. Asked at reception but nothing done.

No room service due to Covid but none of the cleaning staff wore any protective PPE so I think this is just a ploy to save them money and keep this long term.

No heated towel rail so damp towels in a damp room as no extractor fan in bathroom.

It is a basic and cheap hotel so I probably shouldn’t complain but for and extra £17 a night I stayed in another well known hotel, breakfast included, leisure centre etc.

I do now feel that Premier Inn is charging too much for its hotels which are actually basic, tired, cheaply built a d cheaply run. For us, not value for money anymore.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Durham area.
PRICE RANGE
C$92 - C$218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn durham city centre hotel durham, durham premier inn
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCounty DurhamDurham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
103
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Premier Inn Durham City Centre (Walkergate) hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Durham City Centre (Walkergate) Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Durham City Centre (Walkergate) Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Rooms Durham (0.4 km), Crook Hall & Gardens (0.3 km), and Durham Castle (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Durham City Centre (Walkergate) Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Durham City Centre (Walkergate) Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Durham City Centre (Walkergate) Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Durham City Centre (Walkergate) Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Durham City Centre (Walkergate) Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rio Brazilian Steakhouse - Durham, Coarse, and Rudy's Pizza Napoletana - Durham.
Is Premier Inn Durham City Centre (Walkergate) Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Durham.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Durham City Centre (Walkergate) Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Durham Cathedral (0.8 km), Crook Hall & Gardens (0.3 km), and Durham Castle (0.4 km).
Is Premier Inn Durham City Centre (Walkergate) Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Durham HotelsDurham Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DurhamHotels near Premier Inn Durham City Centre (Walkergate) Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars