We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-12-31 2018-01-01
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Victorian Town House

    2 Victoria Terrace | Lower end of Princes Streer, Durham DH1 4RW, England
    Lowest prices for your stay
    2017-12-31 2018-01-01
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in DurhamSee available hotels in Durham
    Traveller (56)
    Room & Suite (28)
    Dining (8)
    • Excellent96%
    • Very good3%
    • Average1%
    • Poor0%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    “beaumont room” (45 reviews)
    “flambard room” (32 reviews)
    “b b” (165 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Room Service
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (406)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year

    1 - 5 of 394 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    I stayed at the Victorian Townhouse over the (very snowy) weekend of Durham Christmas Markets where I was working. Everything was spot on-the welcome, the hospitality, the cleanliness, the facilities and the breakfast. It is a delightful, quiet and cosy B&B within very easy reach...More

    Thank Clary H
    Response from TheVictorian, Owner at The Victorian Town HouseResponded 1 week ago

    Thank you for posting such a positive review. We are both delighted you enjoyed your stay with us despite the wintry weather. The Christmas market has always gone down well and we are glad it was so successful for you. We look forward to meeting...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    After a short stay at the Victorian, We were more than happy with the accommodation, the Flambard Room was very homley and clean and comfortable. Andy & Jill laid on a scrumptious breakfast with a faultless service. The location was close to the town centre...More

    Thank paul m
    Response from TheVictorian, Owner at The Victorian Town HouseResponded 2 weeks ago

    Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll visit again- there is lots more to see - especially in thr warmer weather! With all best wishes!

    Reviewed 6 November 2017

    We stayed for four nights and were looked after superbly by Andy and Jill. A cuppa on arrival (early as agreed) was a welcome surprise. The use of a computer to print return check-in tickets for flights home was very welcome too. The food was...More

    Thank Trooper1941
    Response from TheVictorian, Owner at The Victorian Town HouseResponded 6 November 2017

    Thank you very much for such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to look after you all and are so glad all aspects of your stay were so positive. We look forward to meeting you again before too long. With all best wishes from...More

    Reviewed 30 October 2017

    We had a disappointing start here. Arriving around 4pm after a long rainy drive we were looking forward to being greeted with the tea and cakes that other reviewers raved about. Sadly, we weren’t offered these – even the hint about finding a place for...More

    Thank BOWUK
    Response from TheVictorian, Owner at The Victorian Town HouseResponded 31 October 2017

    Thank you for your review. We were disappointed that you weren't totally happy with your stay as guest satisfaction is very important to us. We are somewhat at a loss to account for the lack of tea and cakes on arrival as this is something...More

    Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

    Luckily I telephoned as full on all sites but room free when called. Excellent room , hosts & breakfast. Can honestly say not one negative comment. We would definitely stay again. Great find just 5 minutes walk to cathedral and city centre.

    Thank J888R
    Response from TheVictorian, Owner at The Victorian Town HouseResponded 31 October 2017

    Many thanks for your kind review. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and that we were able to find a room for you at the last minute. We look forward to you staying with us again.

    Seaham Hall
    1,506 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Seaham
    17.1 km
    Eslington Villa
    372 reviews
    #1 of 20 hotels in Gateshead
    17.5 km
    Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
    776 reviews
    #1 of 6 hotels in Washington
    12.1 km
    Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
    395 reviews
    #1 of 10 hotels in Sunderland
    18.8 km
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Top amenities
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Breakfast included
    • Price range
    • US$80 - US$127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 3
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Durham >
    • Durham
    • Also Known As
    • The Victorian Town House Hotel Durham
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (56)
    Room & Suite (28)
    Dining (8)
    Hotel & Grounds (18)
    Bathroom (3)
    Sponsored by:
    Nearby Restaurants
    Finbarr’s Restaurant
    917 reviews
    .15 km away
    The Head of Steam Durham
    263 reviews
    .43 km away
    328 reviews
    .27 km away
    Jumping Bean Cafe
    146 reviews
    .37 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Durham Cathedral
    5,347 reviews
    .84 km away
    Crook Hall & Gardens
    784 reviews
    .76 km away
    Durham Castle
    956 reviews
    .72 km away
    Gala Theatre Durham
    262 reviews
    .69 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    16 January 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from TheVictorian | Property representative |
    Thank you for your enquiry. We can do a single room for you but ONLY on 26th June 2017. We are totally booked out on the other dates.
    16 January 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from fdbenke | Reviewed this property |
    I'm sure they can provide a suitable smaller type room so suggest you enquire. We've only ever travelled as a couple.7
    23 November 2016|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from TheVictorian | Property representative |
    Hi. We couldn't do this is in one room but could do the dates. We would suggest the Flambard Room ( double en suite) at £100 per night inc breakfast and the Langley Room ( twin en suite) at £95 per night inc breakfast. We... More
    Room Tips
    "I stayed in the single room which has a separate, private bathroom - a robe was provided - lovely shower and..."
    Read review
    "The Flambard is a double room with a view of the withdrawal. The Langley twin is ground floor - so good for..."
    Read review
    "Flambard room is lovely"
    Read review
    "Very quiet with a comfy bed even though our room was by the front door."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing