Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel

Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel

More random photos of the stay in 226- see review
Traveller (834)
Take the family to see the sites of our UNESCO heritage city
Room & Suite (116)
Restaurant
Dining (69)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#3 of 21 hotels in Durham
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Classic
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

9 Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3HL England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 99 out of 100
99
Newcastle Airport
30.2 km
See all flights
Durham Tees Valley Airport
30.4 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles991 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel, is lauded for its prime location in the heart of the city, with convenient access to attractions and dining, along with ample parking. While its historic charm fused with contemporary comforts receives acclaim, some guests feel the hotel doesn't provide enough bang for their buck, pointing to pricey parking and underwhelming food quality. The service quality shows inconsistency, swinging from commendable to disorganized. Rooms are celebrated for their cleanliness and amenities, yet there are occasional grievances regarding lighting, noise, and disturbances.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Noise level
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
991Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 749
  • 161
  • 51
  • 15
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mark-Nor wrote a review Jun 2023
Gateshead, United Kingdom
+1
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This has to be the best hotel in Durham. It is in Durham centre so once parked up you can explore on foot. Car park is chargeable like most. The bedrooms are beautiful. Ours happened to be superior and it was stunning. We dined nearby at Zen which was great Thai food. Had breakfast at Indigo for which you pre-booked. Hot food cooked to order which next time we would say if we were in a hurry (or not). Beautiful rich yellow scrambled eggs and crispy back bacon. Real butter block to spread on toast - delicious.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from James Bird, Owner at Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jun 17, 2023
Hi Mark-Nor Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. Here at Hotel Indigo, Durham we really value our guests’ feedback, and we use this to improve our processes across all our hotel departments. I would like to thank you personally for your kind words about our hotel, facilities, and staff. We look forward to seeing you back in our beautiful city in the near future. Best Wishes James Bird, Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian B wrote a review Feb 2020
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited here Feb20. The hotel itself is an old university building modernised to a very good standard whitest still keeping it’s old grandeur status, the bedrooms are very modern which complements the university corridors to the bedrooms very well. The rooms are well equipped including fridge and bottled water left every day along with a good top up of tea, biscuits etc. We highly recommend hotel indigo, the staff are super friendly as are the people of Durham in general.
The only slight issue was the parking, I know it’s the county council that sets the tariffs etc but it’s as expensive to park on the street £16 as in the hotel car park for the day. If you’re out and about during the day in your car the street parking is better value. As it’s free after 6pm. However don’t let this put you off, this Hotel ranks among one of the best We’ve stayed in, in this country.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adan6287, Manager at Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Dear brianbH5708WO, Thank you Brian for your excellent review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Indigo Durham and that you appreciate the conversion of the Shire Hall into a modern, well equipped hotel. I regret that you had an issue with the parking. Unfortunately, there are very limited spaces in Durham, though the hotel does currently offer secure parking for an overnight charge of £16.00. Once again thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent review and I hope that we shall be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Andrew Adan Hotel Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Katie M wrote a review Aug 2020
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed with my partner at Hotel Indigo in Durham and our first impressions of the building exterior, followed by the hotel lobby, were "Wow". You can't deny how impressive the building is and how beautifully and sympathetically it's been adapted into a boutique hotel. It felt special staying in such a wonderful place. You're a short stroll from the city centre, Cathedral and river and far enough out not to be bothered by any noise.
We left the hotel saying to one another how polite, friendly and helpful each and everyone of the staff was that we encountered throughout our stay. The staff literally can't do enough to make your stay the best it can possibly be. Thank you so much to each and every one of you. First class service.
The bed was very comfortable, the shower was powerful and of large proportions. The rooms were very comfortable with everything you need included. Iron and ironing board in the wardrobe, along with a decent hairdryer and USB ports all over the room and most importantly on each side of the bed.
The breakfast which we took in the restaurant (which was the old council room) was delicious and again the staff were so attentive and nothing too much trouble. We could have had room service for breakfast but we're so glad we didn't as to miss out on dining in the old council room would have been missing out on an experience.
We loved our stay and if we ever return to Durham wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Adan, Owner at Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel
Responded Aug 3, 2020
Dear katiemZ7961BQ Thankyou for the amazing review and kind comments I'm so happy to hear that you were blown away by the design and décor of the hotel and also the design layout and comfort of our bedrooms. We always strive to be as helpful and welcoming to all our guest and it is always nice to hear that we have achieved this from our guests We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future Regards, Andrew Adan Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ditsydorah wrote a review Jan 2020
Durham, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My Husband and I stayed at this hotel for a New Year’s Eve treat and weren’t disappointed. The decor is fabulous, the old features of the original building are utilised beautifully. Lovely soft furnishings and the room was furnished to a high standard. The bathroom was fabulous. Huge with a bath, shower and loads of room to move around. It was also quiet - we couldn’t hear anyone in adjoining rooms or corridors. The staff were really friendly in all parts of the hotel, there was a very professional and hardworking barman on the bar and a member of staff called Andrew was very friendly throughout. Always acknowledging us and visibly working hard, we saw him in all parts of the hotel throughout the visit making sure things were running smoothly. Generally all staff were helpful and friendly and we received a good welcome at breakfast as well. Food wise I really enjoyed all of my evening meal, a couple of photos included, my Husband was disappointed with his main meal of fish and chips. There was nothing special about it that would differentiate from a normal fish and chips bought elsewhere. He enjoyed his scotch egg starter and his pud. We couldn’t get parked in the hotel car park but it worked out ok as there was plenty off parking on the street outside and it was free with it being a bank holiday. It is free on a Sunday normally it free after 6 on weeknights so if you stay at a weekend or week day evening then parking on the street would work. We will definitely stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adan6287, Manager at Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jan 6, 2020
Dear ditsydorah, Thank you for your fabulous review of our beautiful hotel. I was especially pleased to read your comments extolling the virtues of our wonderful members of staff. Your feedback has been passed on to all heads of department to share amongst staff members. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Andrew Adan Hotel Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
885nigelc wrote a review Aug 2021
Twickenham, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has amazing character: Located in a Baroque Revival building that used to house the local Council, the Indigo has beautiful high domes ceilings and textured marble throughout the public rooms

We were lucky enough to be upgraded to one of the “feature” rooms, and so got one of the two rooms with a bath, and what an amazing bath it was, in a bathroom large enough to be a bedroom in itself. We did see one of the other Superior Rooms, and that too was extremely well appointed. A lot of thought has gone into the furnishings

A few niggly details: no bars of soap, and no fitted sheets, so they come loose in the night and bundle up. And strangely for such an up market hotel, no robes. The free water in the mini-bar is a nice touch

The bar area is amazing, and we enjoyed a few cocktails in the splendid interior. Like much of the rest of the hotel catering, the service was friendly but very slow. No shortage of staff, just not a lot of attention to the actual guests

This continues to breakfast, which is served in the Marco Pierre White restaurant, another spectacular room, although rather spoiled by intrusive lampshades looming over the larger tables. Even though you are allocated a time slot to even out demand, service is slow, and a bit sloppy, with extras like hot milk forgotten.

The buffet is ok, although the croissants are at the low end of the frozen catering offerings, but the cooked breakfast is really not good at all. I started with the sausage, and had to stop, as it was soft and pasty. I am sure there are some terrific local butchers who could provide produce for the “Durham Breakfast”, but the whole thing felt like it had been ordered from the cheap end of the Brakes catalogue. A real shame given him great the rest of the experience was

I want to single out one member of staff, Katie, who went above and beyond to make sure we really enjoyed our stay. Having a friendly welcome and being looked after well when small issues came up makes all the difference!

Stay here if you come to Durham, although maybe find a cafe for breakfast
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from James Bird, Owner at Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel
Responded Aug 28, 2021
Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. Here at Hotel Indigo, Durham we really value our guests’ feedback, and we use this to improve our processes across all our hotel departments. Rest assured your feedback will be directed to the relevant department Manager, to make sure that this is not a problem for our future guests. We look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Indigo, Durham again soon. Regards James Bird, Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Geri M wrote a review Jul 2021
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Have just spent 4 nights at Hotel Indigo, Durham on our 2nd stay. The 1st was just an overnight stop but we liked the area so decided to return. The hotel is the old town hall I believe & has some beautiful architecture, stained glass & wood panelling but the rooms are modern & very comfortable.
We stayed in a large corner room above reception with a lobby area housing the wardrobe, fridge kettle etc. A king size bed - all Hotel Indigo beds are very high. I'm not short at 5' 8" but struggled a little! There was a large smart tv with NetFlix etc. The good size bathroom has an amazing walk in rainfall shower with plenty of toiletries & towels available. Very efficient double glazing so outside noise was never an issue.
We dined in the Rotunda restaurant a number of times (breakfast is also served here) & with the current situation, they are operating a reduced menu selection. Very good food but my only minor gripe is I would have liked more choice of vegetable sides, the only options being buttered peas or spinach. Our restaurant server James was an absolute star, the right combination of chatty, cheery & cheeky.
The staff are a delight, all so friendly & genuinely wanting you to enjoy your stay. They all wore masks & there are plenty of hand sanitising stations & floor markings visible. Guests are required to wear masks in public areas.
We would stay there again in a heartbeat & would not hesitate to recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from James Bird, Owner at Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel
Responded Sep 1, 2021
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete our online feedback form. Here at Hotel Indigo, Durham we really value our guests’ feedback, and we use this to improve our processes across all our hotel departments. I would like to thank you personally for your kind words about our hotel, facilities, and staff. We look forward to seeing you back in our beautiful city in the near future. Best Wishes James Bird, Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lewisjohnston wrote a review Sep 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We went here during the COVID pandemic (Sept 2020) so firstly things may have not been as they normally are.

The hotel is beautiful. The staff fantastic. If you like quirky hotels like the Principal Hayley (old palace in Manchester) or the Grand in York, you will like this place.

The bar is nice and the Marco Pierre White restaurant is fantastic quality and value.

Personally I felt the rooms were small and the WiFi (for the smart TV) was poor. We did have some minor issues but the staff offered to resolve. We booked one of the cheaper rooms which cost us £350 for 2 nights and we didn’t have a window that we could see out of (there were velux windows that did not open), but the room was very well appointed to a high standard. There was no house keeping due to COVID but upon request we were provided extra towels (felt the communication on this for this level of hotel was non-existent).

I would definitely recommend this hotel on its location (central to Durham), but do feel this hotel is overpriced based on my stay. Having paid similar or less at the hotels previously mentioned in York and Manchester I think the experience in those hotels is better (I caveat this with the challenge of COVID!)

Parking is £16/ 24h and limited (33 spaces). City centre is 5 min walk (beautiful). Once outside the hotel you can see the castle and cathedral.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Adan, Owner at Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel
Responded Sep 19, 2020
Dear Lewisjohnston Thankyou for your comments regarding the design and décor of the hotel as the building was not originally a hotel many of our rooms are quirky in design, shape and size. I am glad you enjoyed your time in the bar and the Marco Pierre White restaurant. Your constructive comments have been passed on to our management team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future regards Andrew Adan Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PhilKennedy wrote a review Jan 2020
Sutton, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Durham’s Hotel Indigo shows how beautiful these Victorian council buildings can be when refurbished and cared for. There are lots of details to enjoy: elaborate tiling, stained glass, wood panelling and a complicated floor plan with interesting corners. It makes for a very characterful hotel, but appropriate and without obvious compromises

The bar and restaurant in particular make good use of their elegant circular rooms. Both are lovely spaces. The bar is such a great place to sit that I finished the four days with a much higher bar bill than I’m used to.

The staff in the hotel are also a highlight. They are unfailingly friendly, but also polished and attentive. Everything’s done well and you never have to wait. Special mention goes to Daniel, who helped make dinner on New Year’s night so enjoyable. The wines tasted even better after his enthusiastic descriptions.

Breakfast was varied and tasty and the dining room makes an uplifting place to start the day. The last day’s full sized croissants were excellent, as was the bread. It was good to be able to order a latte without being charged extra.

The location is hard to fault: an attractive street within an easy walk of the sights and close to useful bus stops.

The room was attractive: high ceilings and tastefully furnished. We were disappointed to find single beds in the twin room, but still slept well. The shower was very good: a large cubicle, lots of water and a stable temperature. Room cleaning is a bit erratic - a dusty glass shelf and one day of sloppily made beds - but never really problematic.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adan6287, Manager at Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jan 6, 2020
Dear PhilKennedy, Thank you for your excellent review. We at the Indigo Durham are rightly proud of the hotel; it is a most attractive and unusual building that lends itself perfectly for conversion to a rather interesting and quirky hotel, well located within comfortable walking distance of Durham's main attractions. I hope that in the not too distant future you will renew your acquaintance with the Hotel Indigo Durham. Kind Regards Andrew Adan Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Midlandsmum63 wrote a review Sep 2020
Northampton, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has a good location, just a short distance from the city centre and lots of original features retained from its previous existence as university offices.
The room, although large was very dark and dreary. 2 bedside lamps and a desk lamp for the whole room??? Really!! I know it used to be a thing years ago but nowadays most hotels have updated the lighting situation!! Very depressing.
Everywhere seemed dusty. I know Covid means leaving rooms for a bit but surely they should be dusted and cups etc changed for new clients?
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Adan, Owner at Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel
Responded Oct 3, 2020
Dear Midlandsmum63 I hope your well , Apologies the room was not to your liking and you found it dusty nice to hear you enjoyed the hotels location , I do hope you consider staying again Kind Regards Andrew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LoveTravel800175 wrote a review Jul 2020
Athelhampton, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stay at the Hotel Indigo every time we visit Durham to drop off or pick up our daughter who is at university there. As IHG members we are automatically upgraded and for the first time had a room with a view of the cathedral which was very nice. I would have liked to have seen the staff wearing masks but I liked the Perspex screen at reception and the rooms were very clean. We ordered in room service and the food was poor, the nachos could have done with much more topping, the vegan pizza had a soggy bottom and the vegan cheese was awful but the worse was the red pepper and tomato soup which had no taste and had the watery consistency you would expect from a powdered soup. The pillows on the bed were quite thin and firm no luxury feel but what kept me awake for most of the night was the air con which rattled all the way through the night and kept me a wake. When I mentioned the above at check out we were given a £20 discount on the bill which was appreciated but I think should have been more due to the terrible night’s sleep I experienced. So if we stay again I will not eat in the hotel, I will take my own pillow and will listen out for the air con earlier in the evening and ask to move rooms if it super noisy before I go to bed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gavin Holmes, Owner at Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jul 24, 2020
Dear LoveTravel , Many thanks for your recent review , I am so sorry your stay did not match up to previous experiences I am very disappointed to hear about the poor food offering we have had to adapt to current situation and have adapted our food offering with normal facilities being gradually restored . again apologies about the issues in your room , I look forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the near future and we can provide the full Indigo experience you have received previously . Kind Regards Andrew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Norman B asked a question Aug 2022
Galashiels, United Kingdom11 contributions14 helpful votes
Hi. Is the Hotel dog friendly?
Answer from James Bird
Durham, United Kingdom2 helpful votes
Hi Norman B We are dog friendly in our coffeeshop but not our bedrooms, hope this helps James Operations Manager
Bethany D asked a question May 2021
38 contributions42 helpful votes
Are you able to bring back takeaway food to the hotel?
Answer from Bernadette F
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom38 contributions44 helpful votes
How is the parking in hotel ? If the hotel parking full , can you get a space elsewhere if hotel full
ian w asked a question Sep 2020
Doncaster, United Kingdom44 contributions71 helpful votes
have any rooms got a large bath and seperate shower in them
Answer from James Bird
Durham, United Kingdom2 helpful votes
Hello Yes we have two rooms with baths and separate showers the rest of the room have showers only . Kind Regards Andrew
Answer from James Bird
Durham, United Kingdom2 helpful votes
Yes Absolutely full options available
Naomi S asked a question Jan 2020
Emsworth, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
Does the hotel have a swimming pool and spa facilities eg jacuzzi?
Answer from ANDY K
Mirfield, United Kingdom2,214 contributions657 helpful votes
No they are not available!
Mariz wrote a tip Jul 9
United Kingdom286 contributions154 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the hotel restaurant, Marco Pierre, the food is horrible and the service is chaotic. It only has beauty, don't be fooled"
Read full review
EMSJ wrote a tip Jun 2024
Bath, United Kingdom546 contributions261 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking isn’t cheap at the hotel but you can park on the road next to the hotel, just have change with you."
Read full review
Travellingdoc wrote a tip Jun 2024
London, United Kingdom11,413 contributions717 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ensure there is no room above as floor boards creak"
Read full review
Neil T wrote a tip May 2024
Sheffield, United Kingdom91 contributions90 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"See if you can get a "window" room and maybe park away from the hotel."
Read full review
elizabeth w wrote a tip May 2024
6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"May seemed a good time to stay in Durham. Bluebells and wild garlic out on the riverside path and most students have left"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Durham area.
PRICE RANGE
C$182 - C$283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCounty DurhamDurham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Rooms Durham (0.3 km), Durham Cathedral (0.4 km), and Durham Castle (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Neighbourhood, Rudy's Pizza Napoletana - Durham, and The Boat Club & Tomahawk.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Durham.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Durham Cathedral (0.4 km), Crook Hall & Gardens (0.8 km), and Durham Castle (0.4 km).
All Durham HotelsDurham Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DurhamHotels near Hotel Indigo Durham, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars