Lumley Castle Hotel

Lumley Castle Hotel

Halibut with crayfish & cous cous.
Traveller (2385)
Panorama at the Lumley Castle Hotel
360
Panoramas (108)
Room & Suite (654)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#7 of 21 hotels in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Within easy driving distance of Newcastle, Durham and Sunderland, the magnificent spectacle of Lumley Castle has dominated the County Durham landscape for 630 years. Surrounded by beautiful parklands overlooking the River Wear and Durham County Cricket Ground, the castle is a magnificent monument to a bygone age of chivalry and honour. The hotel boasts 74 luxurious en suite rooms, with complimentary Wi-Fi internet. Dine in the splendour of the Black Knight restaurant, offering varied cuisine and a 3-course table d’hôte menu (table reservations are essential). Lumley Castle is the first and only historic site in the UK to have it's own Escape room - Lily of Lumley - a truly immersive and thrilling Escape experience. The hotel is ideally situated to explore the North East of England and more, being just 10.9 miles south of Newcastle, 8.1 miles north of Durham and 11.8 miles west of Sunderland. This hotel is one of the best-rated locations in Chester-le-Street.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles3,227 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Lumley Castle Hotel captivates visitors with its historical allure and picturesque setting, ideal for those seeking a tranquil retreat or a storybook wedding venue. The hotel's amenities are generally well-received, especially the comprehensive breakfast options and the enchanting, quirky rooms, although some guests suggest there's room for enhancement. While the service garners applause for its attentiveness, inefficiencies have marred the experience for some. Opinions on the rooms are divided, with praise for their charm but criticism regarding size and maintenance. Despite concerns over value, the cleanliness and unique atmosphere earn high marks from many travelers.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Cramped
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveler reviews and learn more about how the site works.
3,227Reviews33Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,676
  • 778
  • 444
  • 205
  • 124
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Rachel R wrote a review Aug 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and my partner decided at the last minute to dine at the castle last night. We were unsure whether they would be able to accommodate us with increased demand everywhere, but were very pleasantly surprised when we were greeted by a lovely young blonde lady who showed us to a cosy little table in the bar area. The service we received from both the blonde lady, I believe her name was Abbie, and her colleague behind the bar, Olivia was outstanding. Nothing was too much for them despite being incredibly busy the entire time we were there! Abbie was very attentive, checking everything was alright with our food, drinks and even the location of our table. She made sure the table was deep cleaned before seating us, we constantly had fresh and delicious drinks (frozen cocktails were THE BEST, thanks Olivia!) The food was absolutely divine! The price point was more than fair for both food and drinks. Normally in similar establishments, they are overpriced and very underwhelming, however I'd happily pay twice the price for the service we received. Thank you so much to everybody who made our experience so amazing, we already can't wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Guest Experience Team, Other at Lumley Castle Hotel
Responded Aug 30, 2020
Dear rachelrC6078NB Many thanks for your wonderful review which if we're unabashedly honest pretty sums up Abbie and her wonderful team in the bar. Abbie and her team are super experienced both in terms of skills and knowledge whilst their guest care often drives great reviews such as yours. Our frozen cocktails have been incredibly popular this year and we're thrilled you enjoyed them - they might have even extended the sense of summertime in the North East! We very much hope to see you again. The Lumley Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ploutarchou wrote a review Jan 2020
Thirsk, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I will start with the good points.
Lovely location, comfy bed, very nice staff, breakfast good with just a couple of niggles.
BUT the bathroom is not a bathroom/shower room.
This weekend was a birthday surprise for me from the family. Yes they booked it on a "deal" but even so a certain standard of facilities are expected.
The room in the castle keep was a good size, dark and made darker by the decor but this was pretty much expected. Luckily in the evenings I do not use much make up as the lighting was dire for application. The bed was very comfortable and storage was good for clothes. Now we get to that bathroom. Leading off the room is a passageway, having stepped down a high step you are now standing in the shower tray. You then carry on to get to the toilet. The passageway is 2ft 6" all the way down. Between the passageway and the bedroom are 2 nylon shower curtains so anyone using the toilet has no privacy - I do not like being listened to when "going" - also there is no opening window or fan (yes I understand listed building) but we resorted to using deodorant as air freshener! No matter how long we have been together there are certain things that are done privately.

Once we had showered which was difficult and we were dressed if we needed the toilet before leaving we had to wear shoes through the shower of get wet socks. Non slip mat provided and towelling mat but with such a high step up/down still a safety issue.

There is a separate sink in the bedroom in an alcove and management should look into the possibility of making that the shower area. Having seen pictures on the website after arrival, as I say this was a surprise weekend, I was disappointed in the facilities we had. On check out I mentioned that I did not like what we had had and was told yes that room is quirky, not a word I would use. I did not kick up a fuss as I did not want the family to know I was unhappy.

Breakfast very tasty, very nice buffet maybe a few more preventative measures for people coughing and sneezing over the cereals etc, plus communal jam pots for large numbers of guests not a favourite of mine.

On the table there are sugar cubes and nothing to pick the cubes up with. Ok to use teaspoon on first cup but do not want to use wet spoon for second cup - but watched most people put their fingers in the pots to pick up/over the cubes this is a hygiene issue. What is wrong with granulated sugar and a spoon? My other gripe with breakfast was you had to ask for toast, it wasn't offered.

Don't get me wrong this is a beautiful castle in beautiful grounds with pleasant staff and if I stay again I will make sure I have a different room and will take my own sugar.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Sarah wrote a review Aug 2020
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed here a few times with my now husband and always has wonderful experiences, however this stay was slightly disappointing. Stayed here with my husband and his parents for our joined anniversaries. We first completed an escape room which was really good, I would recommend this if you are visiting Lumley! When it came to check in, however, the lady on the desk was quite brusque and unfriendly - I understand COVID measures are in place but thought these could have been communicated in a more friendly manner. We checked in at 4:15, check in is available from 3. While my mine and my husbands room was ready, my in laws had to wait until 4:50 to be let into their room as it was still being cleaned. My
Mother in law went to seek assistance but was met by the same lady on reception who again was quite unhelpful. I appreciate the extra COVID measures and cleaning that are in place but surely you shouldn’t be given keys to a room that is still being cleaned?? It did state in the pack we were given that my husband opened in our room that there may be delays with rooms (not explained at check in) and that complimentary beverages would be given in the bar (they were not offered to us) but again I don’t believe that the room should be given out until ready.
When we were in our rooms they were pleasant and clean, 44 was more old/castle themed which suited me well and 48 was lighter and brighter, which pleased my mother in law.

Eventually we settled and went into the library bar for drinks and cards, which was a lovely cosy atmosphere. We had dinner at the Black Knight Restaurant which was lovely food, but when the bill came there was a discrepancy between the menu prices and what we were charged. The server dealt with this and amended the bill to what we believed we were to be paying going by the menu, but be aware of this and check your bill at the end of your meal!

Slept well though the water pipes are quite noisy, though you expect this with an older hotel. Breakfast this morning was nice and quick service.

Overall, an enjoyable stay but mainly due to the company and nice rooms. Front of house should have been more courteous and friendly, explaining things more fully (I.e the room situation) and the menu/bill situation maybe should be rectified before more people get caught out?
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tony Gill, Other at Lumley Castle Hotel
Responded Aug 19, 2020
Dear Sarah Many thanks for your detailed and helpful feedback. Some good points that we appreciate but some others that we need to focus on during unprecedented times. It's heartening to hear that you're regular guest and we hope that the disappointment's of this stay won't put you off visiting us again in the future. If you do decide to book again please contact Gordon Cartwright the General manager who will personally oversee your stay. Very best wishes. The Lumley Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janet W wrote a review Aug 2020
Wakefield, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was a little worried taking two elderly ladies out so soon after lockdown but I had been given vouchers that needed using. Booking couldn’t have been easier and when I asked if there was somewhere outside that was covered in case of rain I was immediately offered the inner courtyard which had tables with a parasol over.
On arrival we were welcomed in a warm friendly manner and shown immediately to a delightful area of grass inside the castle. The tea came quickly and shortly after the food served on fine china.
The tea was plentiful and we all agreed was the best afternoon tea we’d had. All home produced, the scones were warm crumbly and fabulous. There were four decent sized sandwiches each and also four cakes each. Our waitress Imogen was friendly and so helpful too.
We were lucky with the weather which really helped make the day but overall I can really recommend trying afternoon tea here which we thought well worth the money.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tony Gill, Other at Lumley Castle Hotel
Responded Aug 19, 2020
Dear Geordiefarmer (great name!) Thanks so much for your feedback. We're delighted that you enjoyed yourself and hope that you return soon. Our very best wishes. The Lumley Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Margaret J wrote a review May 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked 2 castle superior double rooms £340 each for two rooms in February, we were looking forward to finally getting away for our two night stay in May.
We arrived at 14.10, our rooms weren’t ready so we had a drink in the bar. We went back to check in and we’re told the only breakfast slot was 07.45! We were told we had the option of breakfast in our room at any time, however we had no table and only one chair in the room and we had travelled with family. After saying how disappointed we were and we had been there to check in early, they said we could have 08.15, we weren’t happy but took it anyway.
We met with our family in the bar before dinner which I’d luckily booked weeks before our trip. We went to the Knights restaurant at 8 and came away at 10.30 after a very slow service, the time sitting before we even ordered was half an hour, I asked a passing waiter “ could we order please” and it still took another 5 minutes for someone to come. The meal was lovely (eventually).

Our family members could not close the curtains in their room and had asked reception to have someone look at it. When they got back to their room, the curtain was the same, they clipped them together with hair grips, and tried to sleep. The following day they asked again and spoke to a man who did indeed check the curtain and promptly moved them to another room. I offered to come down and help them move their things and admired the room. This turned out to be the room they were moving FROM! this room was far superior to our dark attic like room and I was shocked at the different standards of superior rooms. The ones on the web site looked nothing like the room we were in, in fact, I couldn’t find a photo of our room, I wonder why?

I tossed and turned all night and in the morning I spoke to the receptionist who listened and passed me to a Mr Ed Stephenson, Director of Operations. I told him I was not happy paying £340 for two nights for the room we were in, after seeing the difference in size and standard of our family’s room. He said, he would upgrade us on our next stay, knowing full well that was never going to happen. I enclose a photo of both the rooms we stayed on and the photos of the superior rooms we thought we’d booked. They speak for themselves. We were so disappointed
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Guest Experience Team, Other at Lumley Castle Hotel
Responded May 26, 2021
Dear margaretjA6799FB Thank you for taking the time to review Lumley Castle. Sadly, due to strict Covid-19 restrictions we do currently have to take reservations for breakfast to ensure the safety of guests and staff. Social distancing remains a key feature of all hotels currently. Regarding your feedback around room size discrepancy, we pride ourselves in being a very unique property and as such no Castle rooms at Lumley are identical. With this mind we classify bedrooms based on quality, facilities and accessories to ensure added value over classic rooms. Regarding being upgraded during your next stay please do contact the General Manager 0191 389 1111 who will not only ensure a complimentary upgrade but will also oversee the success of your visit personally. Kind regards. The Lumley Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ashovercouple wrote a review Jun 2021
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Like many old married couples, my wife and I don’t always agree on certain matters – especially food! So it quite surprised me when we discussed our Afternoon Tea experience at Lumley Castle as guests of two family friends. To sum úp our joint opinion – Superb! The entire menu was a real delight. So where was the admittedly slight disagreement? Well, the good lady was not too taken with the Swiss Meringue (which was one of my favourites – though I had trouble getting my spoon to the bottom of the shot glass container - or the carrot cake (which I graded A*). My sole reservation was the Northumberland cheese savoury finger sandwich –and only then because I’m terribly allergic to cheese. If that’s all a couple find to comment on, not a lot can be wrong. Believe me! The setting of the castle and the restaurant area are a delight and the staff were superb. Full marks, too, to whoever made the decision to supply guests with one-use disposable menus at this challenging time. One key thing on which the two of us did agree without reservation . . .We shall be back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Afternoon Tea is Wonderful - Try it!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chocolate_Girl8 wrote a review Jul 2021
Billingham, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had never stayed here before or even visited but family and friends had and said it was lovely. We decided to book a birthday treat between our birthdays and we were not disappointed.

The hotel mixes modern decor and comfort with the traditional and does not detract from the age of the castle or spoil its charm. The staff are very friendly and helpful with a professional manner.

We stayed in Room 59 at the top most reaches of the hotel or so it seemed when looking for our room. The room layout was unusual but really nice and comfortable. WiFi was a bit intermittent up there however this is understandable considering the age of the building and the location of the room.

We had booked the Date night package which include chocolate dipped strawberries & Prosecco in our room and luxury bubble bath (which we didn’t find). It also included canapés in the bar before our meal and food up to £30/person. The meal was delicious. Breakfast was also included and was very tasty. The restaurant staff for our evening meal & breakfast were pleasant and accommodating.

We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: WiFi is sketchy at the top of the castle so if you need this to be reliable ask for a room on the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacky wrote a review Oct 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We took advantage of their autumn offer, and started our stay with afternoon tea. The service and food was amazing, delicate freshly made finger sandwiches, warm scones and a good selection of other sweet treats. Bear in mind the hotel is operating under covid guidance, the staff were incredibly efficient, friendly and ensured our experience was paramount. They wore masks, sanitized regularly and thoroughly cleaned tables/chairs as guests left. Alex was very consciencious & kindly asked/reminded guest to check in on the Track&Trace App.

Our room was just outstanding (we did upgrade to the King James Suite), we certainly felt like royalty with the large reception room, jacuzzi bath and 4 poster bed. We had a bottle of prosecco waiting for us along with a lovely fresh fruit platter. The room was incredibly clean, and lovely crisp white sheets on the bed. The whole hotel is very regal and we loved the grandeur and history that makes this castle so special.

We had pre-dinner drinks in the library bar, then proceeded to our table for dinner. The food was amazing and they had a good selection of wines to accompany our meal. The drinks were also very reasonably priced for a luxury hotel.

Breakfast in the morning was wonderful, they had a good selection of cold and hot food that was freshly cooked with quality ingredients. We asked for some extra orange juice as it was delicious, and extra toast as we ate breakfast, both were served promptly with a smile.

The staff were very friendly and efficient whilst working under the new "norm" of covid. particular thanks go to Alex, Kim, (restaurant) Kate and Sarah (Library bar) and Dean & Lorraine at Breakfast. You are doing amazing and made our stay incredibly enjoyable, we look forward to coming back very soon.

PS the Sticky toffee pudding is to die for :)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If you can afford it upgrade to the King James Suit, could always try and make an offer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve M wrote a review Feb 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Husband & I stayed here on a overnight bed & breakfast Travelzoo deal (including 15% off food if dining in the restaurant.. I have written a separate review on the Black Knight restaurant page) We had a Classic Castle room (no 43) which was fabulous.. so much space with high ceilings and a step up to the large bay window and dressing table area. The room was all very clean & fresh. Bathroom was plenty big enough with a bath and overhead shower, powerful and hot enough too. The bed was very comfortable and room was warm (little too warm at times, but we just turned the radiator dial down a touch) The grounds and the castle are amazing to explore, and we got lost a couple of times when we first checked in, which made it all the more fun. So many lounges/hallways to relax and wander around in. The hotel is very clean and tidy/fresh throughout, not like some older establishments that can be a bit ‘tired’. Lots of history to read about, including Lily of Lumley (the resident ghost... we didn’t see her!!) but you can look down the well as you enter off the courtyard to the rooms and check if you can see her! Staff on arrival and checkout were all very efficient and friendly,. All in all, a fabulous stay in a magnificent 14th Century castle, and we would very highly recommend you try it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TonyGillLCH, Guest Relations Manager at Lumley Castle Hotel
Responded Mar 1, 2020
Dear A1372NSstevem Thank you so much for your generous feedback and review. I think you've captured the historic charm and character of our hotel in a nutshell, it's exactly what we seek to portray. We do try and roll out the Ghost on cue but sadly Lily doesn't always get into the 'spirit' of things. Thanks again for a great review and we hope to see you soon. The Lumley team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chas wrote a review Sep 2021
Stenhousemuir, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Really nice premises, good rooms although questionable decor which is in accordance with the style of the hotel. Perhaps the courtyard rooms would benefit from modernisation. Ground floor room suffers from creaking floor when guests in upstairs room are moving about. In addition on the second day our room had not been serviced.

First night we had dinner in the Knight’s restaurant. Staff were very attentive, wine topped up on a regular basis, plates cleared quickly and asked if everything was satisfactory. Impeccable service.

Breakfast next morning was excellent, good choice of food and served piping hot, staff very attentive.

Dinner on 6/9/21 nothing short of appalling. No complaints regarding the food but the service was non existent.
Had to ask for water and although the wine was at the table there was no wine glasses. Wine glasses were brought as the starter was served but unfortunately the waitress was unable to open the wine. Subsequently the bottle was taken away and not returned until the starter was finished.

No issues with food but when the starter plates were removed we were offered a top up of wine and that was the last we were offered. Drinks glasses that we had brought with us were not removed and the main course was served. Salt mill was empty but there were no complaints regarding the food. Main course finished we sat for 25 minutes with empty plates in front of us. Despite serving the adjacent table neither the waitress nor the female who appeared to be in charge of the restaurant came near us.

Eventually we indicated to the waitress that the plates were required to be removed and declined a sweet or the offer of more drinks. By this time we had topped up the wine ourselves and again we sat and waited and waited. Everyone else was being attended to and the female in charge appeared intent on doing everything herself, taking plates back and forward from the kitchen to tables. Perhaps she should have taken a greater overview of what was actually going on.

No one came near us to sign the bill so we eventually walked out without signing, but fortunately met the female in charge. We told her we were very unhappy with the service and outlined the key points the service lacked. All she could do was apologise and ask “ What do you want me to do?” Seriously, if you do not know what to do then there is something seriously wrong.

In 45 years of dining out I can honestly say that this is the worst service that I have ever received.

An excellent break, to celebrate a special occasion marred by the incompetence on display in this instance.

Do you recommend this hotel to others now?
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Guest Experience Team, Other at Lumley Castle Hotel
Responded Sep 9, 2021
Dear Pioneer06904206656 Thank you kindly for your review. Whilst we appreciate the 4 star review we do note your comments on there being a lack of finesse in our service. This in part due to our current Covid restrictions within the Castle where we continue to minimise close contact with the guest to protect both guests and young unvaccinated staff from virus transmission. The pouring of wine quite often includes very close contact at times. We can't apologise enough if we didn't deliver pre-pandemic levels of service. However, the safety of both the guest and the Lumley colleague take precedence during the pandemic. Regarding your billing issue, we present bills at the table whilst also allowing guests to sign/pay as they leave the restaurant. This ultimately is the decision of the guest as we seek not to rush the conclusion of the meal. Our apologies if this wasn't made clear to you. Not withstanding your disappointments we do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back to Lumley again at some point in the future. The Lumley experience Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Sue B
Louth, United Kingdom44 contributions19 helpful votes
I got no answer to a refund query, however I have negotiated (over about 3 months) a complimentary stay and dinner. You just have to persist. I dealt with a man Shaun by email. Keep nagging!!
Ge H asked a question May 2023
Quebec, Canada42 contributions11 helpful votes
Hello, are there any pubs and restaurants nearby ?
Answer from Gavin P
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom198 contributions142 helpful votes
Yes, you have Great Lumley which is only a couple of minutes by car or Chester le street which is a town with a high street with a full variety of food and drinks options. Hope this helps. Best regards.
Lealarcounty asked a question Mar 2022
Stockport, United Kingdom71 contributions15 helpful votes
Hi can anybody tell me if any Superior Rooms are medieval looking, not modern.
Answer from pfc302
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom365 contributions203 helpful votes
Pretty sure that they've had a make over but best to ring reception but be prepared for a horrible corporate phone intro that is mind numbingly boring
Answer from Eggman66
Portree, United Kingdom40 contributions9 helpful votes
Our table of 20 were dressed up and a few more on around were
Glenn J asked a question Jul 2021
Durham, United Kingdom48 contributions49 helpful votes
Do the castle classic rooms have a mini fridge.
Answer from Nomad65835007085
Hamilton, United Kingdom1 contribution
No.
KatemadeinSheffield wrote a tip Jun 17
Sheffield, United Kingdom42 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ample but not enough parking bay's for all the rooms plus wedding guests and diners not staying overnight. Taxi to Beamish £15 either way "
Read full review
Helen A wrote a tip Jun 16
Northampton, United Kingdom127 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book restaurant early to get times you want"
Read full review
Danny G wrote a tip Jun 16
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom22 contributions23 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay, find somewhere else"
Read full review
LKAli78 wrote a tip Jun 16
Durham, United Kingdom2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book your breakfast slot in advance as we missed out. "
Read full review
Julie L wrote a tip Jun 11
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It is a bit dark inside but it is a castle with thick walls so to be expected "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Durham area.
PRICE RANGE
C$125 - C$212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lumley castle durham, hotel lumley castle, castle hotel lumley, castle lumley
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCounty DurhamDurham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
74
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Lumley Castle Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Lumley Castle Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Lumley Castle Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Board Inn (7.4 km), Holmside Park (6.9 km), and WWT Washington Wetland Centre (6.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lumley Castle Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Lumley Castle Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Lumley Castle Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lumley Castle Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Guiseppe's Italian Bistro, Sunarga Indian Restaurant, and Il Cancello Italian Restaurant.
Does Lumley Castle Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Lumley Castle Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Washington Old Hall (5.9 km), Houghton Hillside Cemetery (5.5 km), and Lanchester Roman Fort (4.5 km).
Does Lumley Castle Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Lumley Castle Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Durham HotelsDurham Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DurhamHotels near Lumley Castle Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars